I Survived An Eating Disorder and So Can You: With Limor Weinstein & Sylvia Nasser, Fitness Guru

Limor Weinstein
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readJun 27, 2019

Always lead with a listening ear. People who suffer don’t want advice or to feel reprimanded. They should never be shamed for how they view themselves or treated like they have a problem. Just listen. No judgements.

As a part of my interview series with public figures who struggled with and coped with an eating disorder, I had the pleasure to interview Sylvia Nasser. A full-time Equinox Group Fitness Instructor, Sylvia currently teaches boxing, cycling, strength and conditioning, and is certified in Pilates and Yoga. From an extreme dieter and over-exerciser to a powerhouse of positivity, Sylvia’s past relationship with fitness serves as a cautionary tale to women everywhere in their own journey to self-love. A boxing enthusiast, influencer, mother and self-proclaimed badass, Sylvia strives to empower women to face their fears, let go of judgements, and celebrate every step of their personal fitness journey.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell our readers a little bit about yourself and what you do professionally?

I am a 13-year fitness professional, certified personal trainer, and creator of the national #irockthesportsbra body positive campaign. As a full-time Group Fitness Instructor, I currently teach boxing, cycling, strength and conditioning, etc. I also created a body social campaign and am working on an empowering fitness program that is all about being “badass” and loving your body.

Thank you for your bravery and strength in being so open with us. I personally understand how hard this is. Are you able to tell our readers the story of how you struggled with an eating disorder?

I didn’t have the traditional eating disorder. Clinically I was never diagnosed with Anorexia or Bulimia, but I suffered from EDNOS — obsessively tracking my calories through minimal eating, over exercising, and diet pill/ fat burner/ laxative supplement binging. I was a chubby girl and teen growing up, so I always had an insecurity with my body. When I became a full-time fitness professional, my obsessions with getting “skinny” took on a life of its own. If I ate food, I felt guilt and had to rectify my “bad” eating with endless calorie burning exercising and taking many supplements that would get me to lose weight. I saw myself as fat all the time regardless of what the scale said.

What was the final straw that made you decide that you were going to do all you can to get better?

Once I started getting crazy physiological symptoms caused by the stress of “feeling fat”, I knew something had to give. I began to see unexplainable rashes on my skin, mouth ulcers, joint stiffness, pain on my body, hair loss, and extreme fatigue. I hopped from doctor to doctor to try and understand what was going on. My symptoms got worse and worse- my white blood cell count was so low that I had to get a bone marrow test done to eliminate Leukemia. That was the scariest experience. I felt so afraid, so guilty, and so much shame. About 5 months later I got diagnosed with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, just 2 month before my wedding.

I realized in that moment that I was responsible for my own pain and I had to muster up the courage to change my life. I vowed never to hate my body again and I found meaning in teaching fitness. It was no longer about being skinny or sexy, it was about stepping into my power and taking control of my health and strength.

And how are things going for you today?

Today I live medication free. I manage my Lupus through healthy living & mindfulness. I learned how to be a strong woman, to never play by anyone’s rules but mine, and to always express positivity, optimism and gratitude. My thoughts manifest into things. If I think I am strong, then I am strong. If I think I am fit, then I am fit. If I think I am healthy, then I am healthy.

Based on your own experience are you able to share 5 things with our readers about how to support a loved one who is struggling with an eating disorder? If you can, can you share an example from your own experience?

  1. Always lead with a listening ear. People who suffer don’t want advice or to feel reprimanded. They should never be shamed for how they view themselves or treated like they have a problem. Just listen. No judgements.
  2. Watch your language. If you say “ I feel fat today” those words can stick like glue to the negativity around us. Stay away from language that is toxic and has anything to do with body judgement.
  3. Be a role model. Live a healthy life, one that you’d like your loved one to emulate. Those behaviors will be recognized by your loved one, consistently and over time.
  4. Do activities that don’t involve eating or anything that will trigger “feelings of not feeling good” — shopping can do that, for example.
  5. If they relapse, be understanding. And help them with practical everyday things when they need it, like laundry, or any other errands. They’ll need to be distracted with other things to get passes through any anxieties that are triggered.

Is there a message you would like to tell someone who may be reading this, who is currently struggling with an eating disorder?

Yes! Surround yourself with people who are positive, are mindful, who are strong minded with strong characters, and who truly love themselves as they are.

According to this study cited by the National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders, at least 30 million people in the U.S. of all ages and genders suffer from an eating disorder. Can you suggest 3–5 reasons why this has become such a critical issue recently?

I can only imagine that language & behaviors in our households, and social environments as children have subconsciously programmed our belief systems as adults.

Based on your insight, what can concrete steps can a) individuals, b) corporations, c) communities and d) leaders do to address the core issues that are leading to this problem?

In addition to traditional therapies and treatments, I believe others need to incorporate mindfulness and personal development practices and rituals. Things like journaling, meditation, expressing gratitude, studying thought leaders on personal development and growth will all shape the language and the behaviors that we express on a day to day basis. I do believe we have the power to heal when we believe we can.

As you know, one of the challenges of an eating disorder is the harmful,and dismissive sentiment of “why can’t you just control yourself”. What do you think needs to be done to make it apparent that an eating disorder is an illness just like heart disease or schizophrenia?

I’m not a medical doctor but as a human who experienced body image dysmorphia, I believe that people should express a bit more sympathy, understanding, and love to those who suffer. Reprimanding or shaming will do no good.

What are your favorite books, podcasts, or resources that have helped you with your struggle? Can you explain why you like them?

Lately I’ve been listening to Jake Ducey’s podcast, because even though it’s been quite the journey and I’m on the other side of “recovery” it helps to fill my mind with positive & empowering messages of healing and changing my thoughts about myself

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Your body loves you, love it back” — unknown .

Not sure where I heard this but it has stuck with me. My body loves me enough to function to keep me alive. Why am I not returning the favor? Why have I abused it so much? I’m reminded that my relationship with my body is like any other relationship with my life. Love that is given should be received in an equal exchange. That’s why the term Body Love isn’t just a fad term. It’s real!

Are you working on any exciting new projects now? How do you think that will help people?

I’ve been working on #irockthesportsbra social campaign — a body positive movement, about releasing fear around what the body looks like in a sports bra, letting go of judgements around others who are body confident, and focusing on performance and feeling good no matter where they are in their journey.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the largest amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Definitely the #irockthesportsbra movement !

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Instagram — @thefitfem

Thank you so much for these insights! This was so inspiring!

About the Author:

Originally from Israel, Limor Weinstein has been anorexic and bulimic, a “nanny spy” to the rich and famous and a Commander in the Israeli Army. Her personal recovery from an eating disorder led her to commit herself to a life of helping others, and along the way she picked up two Master’s Degrees in Psychology from Columbia University and City College as well as a Post-Graduate Certificate in Eating Disorder Treatment from the Institute for Contemporary Psychotherapy.

Upon settling in New York, Limor quickly became known as the “go to” person for families struggling with mental health issues, in part because her openness about her own mental health challenges paved the way for open exchanges. She understood the difficulties many have in finding the right treatment, as well as the stigma that remains so prevalent towards those who are struggling with mental health issues. She realized that most families are quietly struggling with a problem they’re not comfortable talking about, and that discomfort makes it much less likely that they will get the help they need for their loved ones. She discovered that being open and honest about her own mental health challenges took the fear out of the conversations. Her mission became to research and guide those families to the highest-quality treatment available. Helping others became part of her DNA, as has a commitment to supporting and assisting organizations that perform research and treatment in the mental health arena.

After years of helping families by helping connect them to the right treatment and wellness services, Limor realized that the only way to ensure that they are receiving appropriate, coordinated and evidence-based care would be to stay in control of the entire treatment process. That realization led her to create Bespoke Wellness Partners, which employs over 100 of the best clinicians and wellness providers in New York and provides confidential treatment and wellness services throughout the city. Bespoke has built its reputation on strong relationships, personalized, confidential service and a commitment to ensuring that all clients find the right treatment for their particular issues.

In addition to her role at Bespoke Wellness Partners, Limor is the Co-Chair of the Academy of Eating Disorders. She lives with her husband, three daughters and their dog Rex in Manhattan.

To sign up for our newsletter, or learn more about custom mental health, click here.

--

--

Limor Weinstein
Authority Magazine

Psychotherapist & Co-founder of Bespoke Wellness Partners. An expert in treatment for eating disorders and passionate about promoting mental wellness