“I’d like to inspire a greater sense of community within Black America” With Kevin Ford, Jr., CEO of Uplift Maryland

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readJan 13, 2019

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Kevin Ford, Jr., CEO of Uplift Maryland, a one-stop shop for Maryland residents to receive information on the Maryland Medical Cannabis Industry. Kevin recently won a $45,000 grant from the State of Maryland to develop and implement an education and training program for disadvantaged entrepreneurs. Kevin is also the inventory manager at Mary & Main, the first 100% Black-owned medical cannabis dispensary in Maryland.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”? How did you first get into this business or get interested in the business?

I grew up in a medical family. My parents are both alumni of Howard University College of Medicine (HUCM), and my younger sister is currently a 2nd year following their legacy. Per usual, I’m the odd man out. I graduated from Morehouse College in 2011 with a Business — Marketing degree. Throughout college, I took an interest in the medical markets in California and Colorado. After moving home to Prince George’s County, I watched the start of the medical cannabis industry in D.C., in hopes that I’d have an opportunity to mix my entrepreneurial spirit with cannabis in a legal, medical market in Maryland. Once the opportunity presented…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator