Ideas in the Wild: Dr. Glen N. Robison On How to Live a Long, Healthy Life

Zach Obront
Authority Magazine
Published in
4 min readJun 25, 2021

Far too many people retire needing to take five to twenty medications a day for health conditions that could easily have been prevented. They retire to their recliner and don’t take full advantage of the opportunities that retirement offers because they’re dependent upon oxygen from the oxygen tank or because they’re just too stiff and sore to get out and enjoy life.

It doesn’t have to be that way — in nature, when things are in balance, there is no disease!

In Healthy Dad, Sick Dad, Dr. Glen N. Robison shares his personal journey with two very similar fathers who ended up in drastically different retirements. Determined to understand why, Dr. Robison studied his healthy father’s lifestyle and emulated it for fifteen years with dramatic improvements to his own health. Now, he shares the secrets of living a long, healthy life.

I recently caught up with Dr. Robinson to learn more about Healthy Dad, Sick Dad.

What happened that made you decide to write the book? What was the exact moment when you realized these ideas needed to get out there?

It was not what happened, it was all about the timing of when I could write the book. After seeing my daughter healed within minutes was my turning point. It caused me to ask that one question: “Can you teach me what you just did?” The answer was yes, but it was not a quick answer. Rather, it was a journey that I am still on. I was told it would take seven years to get me to the basic understanding. When seven years came and went, I continued my training. The more I asked, the more I received. All this knowledge started at the foundation of nutrition.

If I was not willing to learn what was good and bad for the body, how was I going to learn the other 80% that I so much wanted to learn? If I was not going to get my body nutritionally in shape, then how was I going to learn the other 80% that I needed and wanted to learn?

About 13 years into training and feeling more comfortable, I approached my mentor, my Healthy Dad, and said, “This needs to be shared with the world. When can I put it in a book?” Once I got the green light to move forward with a book, this is the beginning of what’s to come.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned going through the journey you share in the book?

Every great discovery or accomplishment starts with a question. I learned that unless you start asking the question, your answers will silently be placed on hold. If you want something so bad, you will open your mouth and then listen to what is about to be said. This is why I say I will always be a student because I will always have a question to ask. If someone reads this book and they did not formulate a single question, then either I failed to deliver a thought-provoking statement or the person is just not ready for their personal journey in health.

How will you apply this lesson in your life moving forward? How do you hope others apply the lessons in your book?

I have been applying this for 15 years and now it is time to share! This is why I don’t DIE “it” but LIVE it. I have also been offering it to my patients over the years, but now with a book, it may give me more authority and people may take me more seriously.

There is one thing that I would hope happens with this book and that is to get that one person to ask a question. What question is that? The great thing is it will be different for everyone, but when someone asks a question, I can now participate in their journey. I have found in my medical practice that those patients you ask questions participate in the treatment plan.

--

--