Ideas in the Wild: Susan Combs is Helping Us Slay Our Dragons By Offering Quick, Straightforward Life Lessons

Zach Obront
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readMar 9, 2022

In a world that can feel shaky and uncertain at times, one fact holds true: nobody gets anywhere alone. Susan L. Combs has learned that lesson many times over, and she’s held onto the advice that has guided her on her journey — one that’s taken her from a tiny town in Missouri to the hustle of New York City. She’s faced immense grief and fostered immense growth personally and professionally. Through it all, she has leaned on guidance from mentors in her life.

One of those key mentors was her late father, Roger, who passed away in 2018. He wore many hats: as a judge, a veteran and Two-Star Major General, a leader in his community, a loving husband . . . and one hell of a dad. The lessons from her father than Susan offers in her new book, Pancakes for Roger, can be used by anyone setting out to slay their own dragons. I recently caught up with Susan to learn more about why she wrote the book.

Why did you write this book?

People have been after me to write a book for a while because I so often share my “dadisms,” so I thought there was no better way to honor my late dad, Roger Combs, than by writing Pancakes for Roger. My dad was an amazing man, and my greatest accomplishment is that I’m a mini-Roger Combs.

I’ve been blessed with so many meaningful and important mentors in this life, and they’ve helped me slay a hell of a lot of dragons. From them, I’ve gained perspective and motivation. After all, we all need advice at times — myself most certainly included.

That’s not to say that every vignette in this book is for everyone, and not all advice will speak to you. That’s okay. When my brother was born, my uncle Joe told my mom, “You’re going to get a lot of advice. Take what you want, and throw out the rest.”

That’s such great advice. I’ve been around the block, and I know that what you need to do next depends on where you are in your life and what you see coming next.

Do you need to remember to have stretch in your life? Do you need to stay humble as you’re climbing? Do you need to have some hard conversations? Do you need to find a peer-to-peer mentor? These are all lessons I’ve learned and will share with you here, if you are willing to come on the journey with me.

Not everyone has a mentor in their life just yet. I wrote this book to be that mentor, at least until you find someone — and maybe even after.

What’s an idea you share that really excites you?

Have you ever heard the saying, “Don’t let your alligator mouth overload your tadpole behind”? I love that expression, and the idea behind it is so valuable.

I always had a big personality, even as a kid. I’m outspoken and say what I think, which can get me into trouble sometimes. My mom told us as kids not to let our alligator mouths overload our tadpole behinds. Similarly, my dad said, “Be aware of the toes you step on today, because they could be connected to the ass you have to kiss tomorrow.”

All these sayings point to the same wisdom: know your audience, and be appropriate. That advice can be hard for someone like me who’s always been outspoken, but it’s also important.

Even if I don’t say what I’m thinking, you’ll see it on my face. If I think you’re full of crap, you know it. If I don’t like you, you know it, just by how my face looks. That means that from a young age, these sayings have been good reminders for me from time to time whenever I start to get a little bit too big for my britches.

As you move through the world, stay humble and true. Remember your roots and where you’re from. Humility is important even as you tap into your own capability. You can be strong and not rude. It’s about the delivery.

Wonder Woman is a strong, badass woman. She also has the lasso of truth, so her focus stays on doing what’s right. You can be strong and fierce while also maintaining credibility and humility.

How will following your advice improve your readers’ lives?

Everyone will go through loss and strife and challenges in their life. However, after reading this book, I think people will feel encouraged to share their story with others. If you do that, not only will it serve as catharsis for you, but it will also make a difference for other people going through a difficult time.

Even more than that, though, I think the stories in this book will spark memories in my readers of other advice they’ve learned along the way. In that way, the book will help readers gain some perspective and motivation, which is so important to living a happy life.

Readers will be inspired to reflect and ask questions: what do you have to share with someone else? What do you wish you’d known when you were younger? Who could use that knowledge now? Who can you pass this book to? Who needs lifting up? These questions will help people see where they might need to put a little more focus in order to be the best version of themselves possible.

Ultimately, if you take the advice in this book, and you start thinking in this way, then you’ll be modeling my dad, Roger Combs. You’ll be good when nobody is looking. And you just might be surprised by how uplifted you feel in the process.

--

--