“If You’re Early, You’re On Time, If You’re On Time, You’re Late” 5 Insider Tips with Actress Otmara Marrero

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readMar 16, 2018

--

I had the pleasure to interview Otmara Marrero. Otmara stars as ‘Izzy Morales’, a tough talking Cuban hacker, in Crackle’s thriller, “StartUp”, opposite Martin Freeman, Adam Brody and Edie Gathegi. “StartUp” returns for season two on Thursday, September 28th. She will next be seen as ‘Sofia ‘Silk’ Campos’ in Vandal alongside Beau Knapp and Richard Schiff. The Cuban actress hails from Miami, and enjoys dancing. You can view her Instagram here.

What is your “back story”?

Hmmm, how can I make a backstory fun, simple and short? Pretty impossible, but I’ll try! I started ballet when I was three and did that for 16 years. I acted in a couple of plays in middle school, but the fact that I was so shy strayed me away from the theater. To me, dancing was a form of expressing myself without having to say anything, and after two years of dancing professionally for the FL Marlins, my coach Jose Guerrero inspired me to get out there! Unfortunately, I was in a somewhat mentally abusive relationship with a man I intended to spend the rest of my life with… five years later, I grew some balls and started from zero! I moved back home with my parents, went back to school and found myself a theatrical agent in Miami. A couple of commercials later, I found my…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator