Iman Zekri of Henderson, Franklin, Starnes & Holt: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Attorney

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
11 min readMay 5, 2022

--

There is never enough time in the day to accomplish what is needed, so do not be too hard on yourself. I cannot tell you how many times I walked into my office with my to-do list in hand, and chaos ensues and I leave the office having put out a hundred fires, but not having done a single thing on my task list. That is why you need to be flexible, plan weeks and months ahead of time, schedule time on your calendar to focus without interruptions, and hire reliable staff who will help your law practice succeed.

As a part of my series about “5 things I wish someone told me when I first became an attorney” I had the pleasure of interviewing Florida divorce, marital and family law attorney Iman Zekri.

Iman Zekri is an attorney with Henderson, Franklin, Starnes & Holt, P.A. in Fort Myers, Florida. She represents clients involved in all aspects of family law, including divorce, appeals, prenuptial and postnuptial agreements, child custody and support, and more. Iman serves on The Florida Bar’s Student Education & Admissions to the Bar Committee, which determines whether Florida law schools are adequately preparing their students for the practice of law and makes specific recommendations to The Florida Bar’s Board of Governors and Florida law school deans. Iman is also the recipient of the 2020 Florida Bar Journal Excellence in Writing Award for her article, “Respectfully Dissenting: How Dissenting Opinions Shape the Law and Impact Collegiality Among Judges.” Iman graduated from Florida Gulf Coast University (B.A., summa cum laude) and the University of Florida Levin College of Law (J.D., cum laude). Iman may be reached at iman.zekri@henlaw.com

Thank you so much for joining us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit more. What is the “backstory” that brought you to this particular career path in Law?

I love arguing. My parents would tell you that I turned everything into an argument as a child, but can you really blame me for trying to negotiate a higher allowance and later bedtime? In all seriousness, my path to the law was incredibly organic. My love for words has always been my most defining characteristic, and after excelling in a debate class during my freshman year of high school, I decided I would become an attorney.

Fast forward five years, and while my dream of becoming an attorney was still very much alive, I knew law school would be a major commitment. I did not know a single attorney, and frankly, my knowledge of law school was limited to my familiarity with “Legally Blonde.” Wanting to be certain that a career in law was the right path for me, I stumbled upon an opportunity to intern at the Lee County Public Defender’s Office for community service hours. I remember thinking, “Two birds with one stone.” I could earn the volunteer hours I needed to graduate from Florida Gulf Coast University, and I could also find out how much of a spin Hollywood put on Elle Woods’ law school experience. By the time I finished my internship with the Public Defender’s Office, I knew law school was the right path for me.

It was remarkable to see the level of trust in attorney-client relations, thrilling to see an attorney powerfully deliver her opening statement, and inspiring to see the challenge and rigor the attorneys faced on a daily basis. Their career pushed them to be faster, smarter, clearer, articulate, and persuasive. That was when I knew I wanted a career in the law. Plus, my distaste for math and science made applying to law school a no-brainer.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your law career?

Unfortunately, the most interesting stories in family law tend to be less on the “funny” side and more on the “horrifying” side. The stakes are always high in family law cases. Think about it. The two things people would do anything for are: money and their children.

Family law cases usually involve both of these elements in an emotionally charged environment fueled by anger and resentment. I once had a client who was convinced his wife was trying to kill him. Strange things were happening to his vehicle, someone tampered with his home security cameras, and a firearm disappeared from his home. He also suspected his wife’s new boyfriend was acting as an accomplice. Paranoia or reality — I do not know — but I do recall worrying that something happened to my client when two weeks passed before I heard back from him. Thankfully, the parties resolved their divorce case fairly amicably, and nothing lethal happened to my client while the case was pending.

For me, the “funny” moments are whenever I get over a big hurdle in a divorce case, and the most trivial detail holds up a final settlement. For instance, I have had couples fighting over who gets to keep the air fryer, the baby crib, and family pictures.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Prenups, prenups, and more prenups! Wedding season always presents a whirlwind of couples searching for an attorney to draft their prenuptial agreement. Fortunately, prenups are my favorite. There is something exciting about meeting people from all walks of life who are ready to solemnize their relationship in marriage. Of course, it can also be challenging to play the delicate role of an attorney in a prenuptial agreement matter.

You have to strike a careful balance between negotiating contractual terms that are in your client’s best interest while also making sure to keep matters as trouble-free as possible before the couple’s big day. Needless to say, my prenuptial agreement cases are usually a welcome break from the acrimony that riddles divorce and post-judgment matters.

What are some of the most interesting cases you have been involved in? Without sharing anything confidential can you share any stories?

One of the most interesting cases I worked on was a pro bono child support enforcement case. In a nutshell, the former husband was evading his child support obligation for his severely disabled child. He did everything possible to divest himself of property from which he could pay support. By the time I was brought on the case, thousands of dollars were owed in past due child support. My team and I turned into investigators — conducting online research, digging through social media profiles, and trying to find anything we could to help our impoverished client. In the end, we prevailed in having the former husband held in contempt, and we obtained a money judgment in favor of our client.

Other interesting cases include those where I handled a client’s divorce and then handled the preparation of a prenuptial agreement for the same client re-marrying their ex-spouse. Also, the most exhilarating cases are the high net worth divorce cases. The higher the stakes, the more preparation, research, and motion practice needed, and those are all areas where I thrive.

Which people in history inspire you the most? Why?

Muhammed Ali and Ruth Bader Ginsburg are the people in history who inspire me the most. For starters, Muhammed Ali’s confidence and work ethic made him a legend. He never allowed other people’s animosity or jealousy to control his own happiness or success. He was the greatest in the world, and he made sure everyone knew it.

When it comes to being unapologetic for your beliefs, the infamous RBG also comes to mind. Ginsburg’s perseverance in the male-dominated legal profession paved the way for women like me. She was intelligent, strong, and a tireless champion of gender equality. While there is still much work to be done, she proved that women deserve a seat at the table.

What advice would you give to a young person considering a career in law?

First, find great mentors. Before going to law school, I knew no lawyers or judges, and I knew absolutely nothing about being an attorney. Fortunately, I was lucky to have unbelievably supportive undergraduate professors and academic counselors who helped me navigate the law school application process. Now, as an attorney, my mentors are the partners at my law firm, the judges I appear before, and the attorneys in my community.

Second, you have to be resilient. Law school, bar preparation, and the practice of law are exhausting endeavors that will push you to the edge, but you have to persevere and believe in your abilities. Third, you should strive to do your best in everything you do. All of your work product — academically and professionally — speaks volumes about who you are and where you want to be. If you strive for excellence and put your best foot forward in all of your endeavors, people will notice.

If you had the ability to make three reforms in our judicial/legal system, which three would you start with? Why?

  1. I would start by implementing restorative justice practices in our criminal justice system to help reduce recidivism rates. At its core, restorative justice aims to repair the harm caused by an offense by involving victims, offenders, and the community in the response to a crime. Instead of promoting traditional criminal justice goals of punishment, incarceration, and retribution, restorative justice fosters accountability, restitution, and community participation.
  2. Along the same lines, I would improve access to mental health care in prisons. Too many inmates struggle with mental illness, and they are not getting the treatment they need. For the sake of public safety and reducing incarceration rates, access to adequate mental health treatment is a must.
  3. Lastly, I would increase pay for public defenders. It is no secret that public defenders are overworked and underpaid. Defending the least privileged members of our community is no easy feat, and I know first-rate attorneys who have been driven away from that noble endeavor because of insufficient pay.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I believe giving back to the community is the most important thing one can do as an attorney. Knowledge is power, and most people know very little about the legal system, so I use my legal education to help the less fortunate through pro bono work as much as possible. I also recognize that I would not be where I am today without the incredible mentors I have come across during my journey. I try to pay it forward by mentoring students every chance I get. I frequently judge first-year law students’ appellate arguments, law school trial team competitions, and high school mock trial rounds.

I love sharing my knowledge and experience with students who are trying to make their mark in the legal world. Lucky for me, every summer, I get to impart my [sometimes unsolicited] advice upon my law firm’s summer associate class, which is comprised of law students who have the opportunity to supplement their law school experience by performing actual legal work in a law firm environment.

I know this is not an easy job. What drives you?

Being an attorney is equal parts stressful, rewarding, and challenging. My number one motivator is my family. I do what I do to help my community and make my family proud. As the youngest of three girls, I also love a good challenge, and I thrive on the sense of competition that is inherent in our adversarial system of justice.

Another big driving force is my deep-rooted belief that education is a lifelong endeavor. The law is always evolving, and as an attorney, I take such joy in reading about the latest appellate decisions, tracking pending legislation, and learning about how to be a better lawyer.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or an example for each.

  1. I wish someone told me that you are a lawyer 24/7. Being an attorney means taking your work home with you, needing to deal with client emergencies at any time of day (or night), and working late hours when trial preparation requires it. I have come to learn that the work of a lawyer never ends, and that is something nobody shared with me in law school. That said, it is simply the price that comes with being part of such a rewarding and noble profession. I have learned that the best way to cope with the demanding job is to prioritize mental wellness. Everyone has to find something that helps them recharge. For me, unwinding includes spending time with my family, baking, and watching a good action movie. You have to do something that makes you happy every single day to succeed in this profession and avoid burning out.
  2. Business development is crucial. As a family law attorney, most of my business comes from referrals and by word-of-mouth. The word “networking” tends to evoke social anxiety, but as an attorney, you have to market your brand. Whether you are a solo practitioner or an attorney at a large law firm, making time for business development is essential.
  3. Clients expect you to know everything. As a family law attorney, I have to be familiar with different areas of the law. Needless to say, real estate issues, corporate matters, tax concerns, and estate planning questions arise in divorce cases with high frequency. Over time, I have learned not to shy away from acknowledging when I do not have the answer to a question. There is no shame in telling a client that you first need to research an issue or consult with another attorney with expertise in a particular area before giving them legal advice.
  4. You cannot be a litigator and be afraid of failure. As a perfectionist, this lesson was a hard one for me to accept. However, I have learned that while you cannot control outcomes, you can control your preparation. I have gone into hearings ultra-prepared, and the judge does not rule how I expected, but I have also gone into hearings thinking my client has a losing position, and somehow I prevailed. The highs of a win are remarkable, but during the lows, it is important to remind yourself that it is part of the job and the intrigue of the law.
  5. There is never enough time in the day to accomplish what is needed, so do not be too hard on yourself. I cannot tell you how many times I walked into my office with my to-do list in hand, and chaos ensues and I leave the office having put out a hundred fires, but not having done a single thing on my task list. That is why you need to be flexible, plan weeks and months ahead of time, schedule time on your calendar to focus without interruptions, and hire reliable staff who will help your law practice succeed.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

Tim Tebow. I am a Florida Gators fan through and through. My dad graduated from the University of Florida in 1987, my sister graduated from UF in 2011, and I have no shame in admitting that when I received my acceptance package from UF, there was tons of squealing, jumping, and tears of joy. I bleed orange and blue. My sister studied at UF during the Tebow-era of Gator football, and I always wondered how exciting it must have been to be on campus at that time. Of course, the atmosphere in Gainesville on game days was electric even during my term at UF, but I still wish that I got to experience the Tebow days at the Swamp.

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for the time you spent with this. We wish you continued success and good health!

--

--