Impactful Communication: Anna Taylor of Taylor Consulting On 5 Essential Techniques for Becoming an Effective Communicator

An Interview With Athalia Monae

Athalia Monae
Authority Magazine
16 min readAug 8, 2024

--

Listen Actively: Effective communication is a two-way street. Listen actively to what is being shared — and how it is being said; the tone, vocal inflection, and volume — helps you engage differently and adjust accordingly. Active listening also enables you to be clearer in what you deliver because you are clearly responding.

In an age dominated by digital communication, the power of articulate and effective verbal communication cannot be understated. Whether delivering a keynote address, leading a team meeting, or engaging in a one-on-one conversation, impactful speaking can open doors, inspire change, and create lasting impressions. But what truly sets apart an effective communicator? What techniques and nuances elevate a speech from mundane to memorable? As part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Anna Taylor.

Anna Taylor is a transformational communication expert who creates meaningful and impactful communication strategies that drive change and foster growth. As a certified change management practitioner and seasoned communicator with over twenty years of experience, she has helped public and private organizations create meaningful moments that reach and resonate with diverse audiences. She is currently the President of her local Toastmasters chapter, the Director of Brand and Communications at an operating company within a Fortune 200 company, and the owner of Taylor Consulting, where she facilitates communication trainings and coaches effective public speaking for small and large organizations. She attributes her success to leveraging her experiences to motivate people and drive organizations forward and believes the spark begins with the right words. Anna is passionate about creating diverse, equitable, and inclusive spaces where people thrive.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series. Before we dive into our discussion about communication, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share with us the backstory about what brought you to your specific career path?

Thank you for having me. My career path is interesting. I stumbled into the communications field as a sophomore at Florida A&M University. I’ve always been a talker and could easily command a room with my words. So naturally, I thought I’d become a lawyer. Well, my first taste of legal writing quickly changed that opinion. One day, while having a slight breakdown about what to do with my life, a campus professor introduced me to Public Relations, and the rest is history.

I realized that the ability to articulate thoughts and ideas in compelling ways could open doors and create opportunities. While my career didn’t unfold as a lavish PR executive, walking red carpets and drinking the finest wine with celebrities, it has been an exciting path guided by a series of “yeses” to things I didn’t expect.

These opportunities led me to work on some of the nation’s most pressing public health issues and work with some of the greatest yet little-known minds positively impacting human health.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

Oh, there are so many, but the one that stands out at the moment catapulted me into fully owning my niche of transformational communications. In February 2023, eleven Asian Americans were killed in California near my previous job’s headquarters. Because of the proximity to our site, I was in active crisis communication mode, which included drafting a statement for our President to send condemning the violent act.

In the first meeting I had after the shooting, someone in the meeting said, “We’re going to pull the trigger on this project.” Hearing that phrase, probably uttered many times before, gave me a visceral reaction. After listening to our corporate speak for the rest of the week, I devised a short list to help others find alternatives to phrases that may be triggering for others. That list caused chaos in my life that I couldn’t imagine. From seeing my face plastered over conservative media — deeming me as the “woke” police to strife inside my workplace where I was told my positions “make white men uncomfortable.”

And while many gave me the advice to retreat, I understand there was power and impact in our words — not only in what we write but also in what we speak. That experience taught me great lessons I carry in my personal and professional career today.

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

  1. Resilience: My personal life has been a rollercoaster. My mom died by suicide when I was a teenager; I experienced homelessness, survived an abusive marriage, and then all the small things in between. Yet, those challenges instilled a deep sense of resilience in me. This trait has been crucial in navigating my career and how I show up in the world. And each of those moments builds into my effectiveness as a communicator.
  2. Curiosity: I have an innate desire to learn and continuously improve. I am always upskilling myself, looking for new things to try and apply. This curiosity led me to become certified in design thinking and set me on the change management path. It drives me to question and seek new challenges to push the status quo. I remember when Twitter (now called X) was in its infancy. I was a government contractor then, and ensuring our essential public health topics reached Americans was my job.

At the time, the federal government wasn’t using Twitter much to reach everyday Americans. But as a recent college grad, I knew this was a viable channel. I pitched this to leadership, who immediately said “no” because it was too new and not vetted. Well, I dove into research, asked countless questions to other large profiles, and quickly became well-versed on Twitter. I repitched this to leadership, this time practicing my deliver, my tone, my build up and equipped with more data and leading with the question, “What if we could speak directly to the American public” instead of through scientific journals and the media? That curiosity led to the creation of one of the CDC’s first Twitter handles.

3. Authenticity: One of the most instrumental traits I hold in high regard is my authenticity. Honestly, it took time to get to this place, where I recognized the value of showing up as my true self in all situations. But when I reflect on some of the most propelling moments in my career, it was me holding true to myself.

For example, in 2021, I was asked to create a Black History Month (2022) theme for our Black + Friends Associate Resource Group. In 2021, with the backdrop of Covid, America was going through a racial reckoning. And there was a renewed momentum propelling Black people to this new age renaissance.

Inspired by everything happening, I created “For the Culture,” grounded in my appreciation and admiration of Black people and culture. The campaign’s main element is shades of brown to represent melanated skin tones. When I showed this to my then-manager, she said we couldn’t use it. It wasn’t representative of the company’s brand or style. We could only use it if I changed it to blue, grey, and white (the corporate colors at the time) and included a tagline to explain the theme because she didn’t get it. But I refused. Making those changes was less about my creative authority and more about the authenticity of what I was trying to convey.

After some vocal voices from Black leadership affirmed my design, we launched the theme internally. Pantone saw the design and wanted to collaborate to make it into a global campaign and launch. And the rest is history.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. Let’s begin with a basic definition so that we are all on the same page. How would you define an “Effective Communicator?” What are the characteristics of an effective communicator?

An effective communicator can convey their message clearly, concisely, and engagingly while listening actively and empathetically. The characteristics of an effective communicator include clarity, empathy, adaptability, and authenticity. They should be able to tailor their message to different audiences and situations, ensuring that their communication is engaging and impactful. But equally important, effective communicators listen with the intent to connect and understand.

How can one tailor their communication style to different audiences or situations?

Tailoring communication involves understanding the audience’s needs, preferences, and cultural context. For instance, using industry-specific jargon and detailed data effectively addresses a technical audience. However, simplifying the message and using relatable analogies works better for a general audience.

But beyond that, it requires reading “the room” and the moment. I mentioned adaptability because, at any given point in a conversation or engagement, you get real-time audience feedback. Are they smiling? Are their eyes focused on you? Are they scrolling on the phone or having sidebar conversations? All that feedback will help you know if you need to pivot how you communicate — not necessarily what you are communicating.

What do I mean? Effective communicators and speakers do all the upfront work to know their audience and tailor their message. And that’s great. Using the proper techniques to set the tone and prime the audience for maximum message impact is the right thing to do. However, effective communicators must be equally adept at adapting their tone, style, and delivery method to match the audience’s expectations or engagement.

Can you provide an example of a time when you had to adapt your communication style to reach a particular audience successfully?

Certainly, a few years ago, I was hosting a session for an Asian American Employee Resource Group (ERG). For weeks, I worked on creating a culturally relevant and appropriate workshop on “using your authentic voice” in your presentations, briefing, etc. As a presenter and facilitator, I am naturally bubbly and high-energy, and my passion comes through the event.

Well, the night before the event, there was a heinous hate crime in Atlanta, GA, where eight Asian Americans were killed. I knew I couldn’t deliver the workshop as I intended. As I listened to the kick-off keynote, which addressed the Atlanta incident, and took stalk of the somberness in the room, I pivoted my workshop and style. I led with empathy versus trying to deliver something entirely out of touch for the moment.

The bubbly, gleeful, high-energy Anna transformed into a milder-spoken and intentional ally who pivoted to center the workshop on using your effective voice to advocate for change and express your emotions to others.

The content’s core message wasn’t changed, but the delivery, tone, and examples for connection were adapted to fit the mood and the moment.

How do you handle difficult or sensitive conversations while maintaining open and effective communication?

Great question. I have a workshop titled Courageous Conversations, which is a flip on every popular Crucial Conversations. And I intentionally changed the title because, with effective communication, especially transformational communications, words matter.

Handling difficult conversations requires a balance of empathy, honesty, and tact. How you frame up that conversation, even before you speak, is vital to getting to the intended outcome. Creating a safe space where the other person feels heard and respected is essential. I start by acknowledging their feelings and concerns because, in courageous conversations, feelings matter more than facts at the onset of the conversation. Yes, there is an opportunity to present facts and intentions transparently, but that only comes after creating a safe space for the dialogue.

In your experience, how does storytelling play a role in impactful speaking? Why do you think stories are effective in communication?

Storytelling is a powerful tool because it creates an emotional connection. Stories are memorable and relatable, making it easier for the audience to understand, retain, and share the message. I use storytelling in almost everything I do, from a casual introduction when waiting for a meeting to start to every communication campaign and training I lead.

I often use stories to illustrate the impact of a product or service on real people. This approach engages the audience and makes the message more compelling and persuasive. I coach people to understand your stories, which do not have to be long. I encourage people to practice this with a great exercise called “A Story in Six.” I was inspired to create and add the exercise to my workshops based on probably the most moving short story ever told. “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.” — Ernest Hemingway.

What are your “5 Essential Techniques for Becoming an Effective Communicator”?

  1. Own Clarity: Be clear and concise in your messaging. Avoid jargon unless necessary, and use social math to provide clarity whenever possible. One way to strengthen this technique is to ask yourself, would a 6th grader understand this?

When I worked in public health, I took complex scientific information and made it actionable and meaningful to the audience. So, while it’s scientifically accurate and most doctors would understand “people should aim to get 150 minutes of moderate-intensity physical activity each week,” a 6th grader would understand “try to get 30 minutes of exercise five days a week.“

2. Tap Into Empathy: Try to understand and connect with your audience’s emotions. When most people think about empathy, they only think of one end of the empathy spectrum, where they tap in and share feelings of sadness, pain, grief, or similar emotions. But when you connect with your audience’s emotions, including those of joy, laughter, anxiousness, and more, you can effectively use that energy to connect and build trust with whomever I am speaking with.

You can strengthen your ability to tap into empathy before an engagement through audience research, but also in the moment, going back to looking and listening for cues that provide insights into how the audience engages with your message.

3. Be Adaptable: Don’t become so rigid when communicating your message. Tailor your message to fit the audience and context. I remember working on a campaign to get people to drink less sugary beverages and more water. As I was going to different locations across the U.S. and we were readying our ads — I adjusted my language to connect with the audience.

Yes, there was a script and core message I needed to convey but to connect with the audience and drive the change we wanted to see, I adjusted to fit the environment. So, while it was ‘soda’ in the South, it was ‘pop’ in the Midwest, and even ‘jawn’ when I was in Philly. Adjusting the messaging to reflect local cultural nuances ensured relevance and impact.

4. Embrace Authenticity: Be genuine in your communication. People respond well to authenticity. In company-wide addresses, I often share personal anecdotes to illustrate our core values, which helped humanize the message and build trust. I coach all of our leaders to embrace their way of communicating as well. I worked with a new Operations Leader who needed to speak at an upcoming company-wide town hall.

He was given a script by someone else on the team to read to aid him in delivering some key messages. During the practice session, the message fell flat. He didn’t seem enthusiastic about the message; his tone was off, and it felt awkward. As I provided notes and tips to him, he blatantly stated, “This script doesn’t work for me.” He was a man of few words, of which very few would be more than two syllables; he was expressive and liked to tell jokes. So, I held a rewrite session, allowing him to make the speech his own. It was very well received at the town hall because it came from a place of authenticity.

5. Listen Actively: Effective communication is a two-way street. Listen actively to what is being shared — and how it is being said; the tone, vocal inflection, and volume — helps you engage differently and adjust accordingly. Active listening also enables you to be clearer in what you deliver because you are clearly responding.

As you can see, my five tips build upon each other. The hope is that you don’t have to master five different skills or techniques, but the others will also strengthen as you strengthen one area. You work on decreasing jargon and using personal stories to convey concepts in a message that helps build authenticity and connection to your audience. If you practice active listening, your empathy increases, which can steer you to adapt your approach or message.

How do you integrate non-verbal cues into your communication? Can you provide an example of its importance?

Non-verbal cues such as body language, facial expressions, and eye contact play a crucial role in communication. They can reinforce or undermine your message. In Toastmasters, we help others learn non-verbal cues to become more effective communicators. Here are three fundamental techniques I employ:

  • Gestures: When greeting an audience, I often use a wave to say hello. And I use gestures to emphasize my points. For example, if there are three key points in my speech, I will use my fingers (like holding up the pointer) to emphasize this is the first point. These gestures help to keep the audience engaged and add a visual element to my words.
  • Facial expressions: My facial expressions are crucial in signaling sincerity and emotion. When discussing a serious topic, I ensure my facial expressions reflect the gravity of the subject. Conversely, when sharing something exciting or positive, I let my smile and animated expressions convey my enthusiasm. This helps to build a connection with the audience and makes my message more relatable.
  • Eye contact: Maintaining eye contact is essential for conveying confidence and engagement. I hold eye contact for three to five seconds, or about the time it takes to say a sentence. This helps me connect with different members of the audience and makes each person feel acknowledged.

How has digital communication changed the way you convey your messages? Are there any specific challenges or advantages you’ve encountered?

Digital communication has expanded the reach and immediacy of my messages. It offers advantages like real-time feedback and broader audience engagement. However, it also presents challenges with the loss of non-verbal cues.

When you deliver a message virtually, you need to spend more time prepping to have an audience connection. Some of this you can do upfront. For example, if you are delivering something virtually, and there is an opportunity for visuals, the power of photography cannot be understated. Images can speak volumes, often conveying messages more effectively than words alone. I also love using photography to infuse diversity and inclusivity in my engagement by featuring people from different races, genders, and abilities. This is another way to connect with your audience. For instance, pictures of people with different skin tones, cultural backgrounds, and physical abilities subconsciously tell the audience, “This is for you, and I see you.”

But what if you really can’t see your audience because of the platform and meeting setup? You don’t have faces to read, but you know they’re watching. Even if you don’t have the energy to feed, so you must practice and prep to visualize your ideal audience for impactful delivery of non-verbal cues. Smiling, gesturing, and maintaining eye contact still apply.

And even in everyday meetings, you should consider your nonverbal cues to communicate effectively. For example, during team meetings, I think about my posture. I consciously try to avoid crossing my arms during deep discussions, which can be perceived as defensive. Instead, I keep an open stance to encourage open dialogue.

Public speaking is a common fear. What techniques or strategies do you recommend to manage and overcome stage fright?

I recommend thorough preparation, deep breathing exercises, and visualization techniques to manage stage fright. Practicing in front of a mirror or a small group can build confidence. Most people are afraid of “messing up.” So, I coach others to focus on the message rather than the audience.

When I am experiencing stage fright, I remind myself that I am here because I have something to offer, AND someone else believes it as well. Reminding yourself that the goal is to share valuable information and that only you can give away any tales of a “mess up” helps alleviate some nervousness. But in all honesty, there is always just a pinch of nervousness.

What additional resources do you recommend for individuals looking to improve communication skills?

I highly recommend joining organizations like Toastmasters. Toastmasters provides a supportive environment where you can practice public speaking, receive constructive feedback, and develop your communication and leadership skills. It’s a fantastic way to gain practical experience and improve your confidence.

For those looking for valuable insights and practical advice, I recommend Matt Abrahams’ podcast, Think Fast, Talk Smart. The podcast offers a wealth of tips and strategies for effective communication, making it an excellent resource for anyone looking to enhance their skills.

Lastly, watch other speakers. When athletes want to be better, they watch the “film” of others. TED Talks are great “films” for those looking to improve their communication. They inspire and demonstrate excellent speaking techniques.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I am in the business of transformational communications, applying my expertise in communication and change management. With that being said, I would start a movement dedicated to promoting inclusive and non-violent language in our everyday communications.

I spoke earlier about the event that sparked a viral moment in time. Violent language is very prominent in our corporate and everyday conversations. I would argue that it stems from the overrepresentation of men in leadership — many of whom have military experience — bringing back terms that may have motivated them in combat.

It struck me deeply when, just a day after a horrendous shooting on Lunar New Year, someone in a meeting said, “We’re going to pull the trigger on this project.” The phrase, probably used many times before without much thought, suddenly felt jarring and inappropriate. It made me question why we default to such violent language when there are so many non-violent alternatives like “we’re going to start,” “we’re going to green light,” or “we’re moving forward.”

Think about other common violent phrases used in professional settings: “overkill,” “take a stab,” “war room,” “shoot me an email,” “bite the bullet,” and more. This experience inspired me to think about how I can help people become more conscious of their words.

Today, I advocate for an international practice of choosing our words more carefully and consciously. I’ve helped others decrease violent rhetoric and expanded my mission of inclusive communications to include other topics, such as ableist communication.

I find that most people are open to swapping a word or phrase once they understand the unintentional harm it may cause. We can create a more inclusive and considerate environment by fostering awareness and providing alternatives. It’s about recognizing our words’ impact and making a deliberate effort to communicate in a way that respects and uplifts everyone.

Changing how we speak won’t be easy, and we won’t get it right every time. But if we can start this movement, I believe we can make a significant difference in how we connect with each other, reducing harm and promoting inclusivity in all forms of communication.

How can our readers further follow you online?

Readers can follow me on LinkedIn at linkedin.com/in/annadtaylor/ and visit my website at www.annadtaylor.com for more insights and updates on my work.

Thank you for the time you spent sharing these fantastic insights. We wish you only continued success in your great work!

About the Interviewer: Athalia Monae is a product creator, published author, entrepreneur, advocate for Feed Our Starving Children, contributing writer for Entrepreneur Media, and founder of Pouches By Alahta.

--

--

Athalia Monae
Authority Magazine

Product creator, author, entrepreneur, Feed Our Starving Children advocate, Writer for Entrepreneur Media, & founder of Pouches By Alahta.