Impactful Communication: C Nicole Mason On 5 Essential Techniques for Becoming an Effective Communicator

An Interview With Athalia Monae

Athalia Monae
Authority Magazine
10 min readJan 24, 2024

--

Practice. Practice. Practice. The only way to get better at communicating is by communicating. Seek opportunities to give speeches, talks, or lectures — then participate. I have also recorded myself giving speeches and listened to them to improve my communication skills.

In an age dominated by digital communication, the power of articulate and effective verbal communication cannot be understated. Whether it’s delivering a keynote address, leading a team meeting, or engaging in a one-on-one conversation, impactful speaking can open doors, inspire change, and create lasting impressions. But what truly sets apart an effective communicator? What techniques and nuances elevate a speech from mundane to memorable? As part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Dr. C. Nicole Mason.

Recognized by Fortune Magazine as one of the World’s 50 Greatest Leaders, Dr. C. Nicole Mason is President/CEO Emerita of the Institute for Women’s Policy Research (IWPR). Dr. Mason was the youngest person and woman of color to lead IWPR — one of the major inside-the-Beltway think tanks in Washington, D.C.

As one of the nation’s foremost intersectional researchers and scholars, Dr. C. Nicole Mason brings a fresh perspective and a wealth of experience to the Institute for Women’s Policy Research. For the past two decades, Dr. Mason has spearheaded research on issues relating to economic security, pay equity, poverty, women’s issues, and entitlement reforms; policy formation and political participation among women and communities of color, and racial equity.

Prior to IWPR, Dr. Mason was the executive director of the Women of Color Policy Network at New York University’s Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, the nation’s only research and policy center focused on women of color at a nationally ranked school of public administration. She is also an inaugural Ascend Fellow at the Aspen Institute in Washington, D.C.

At the start of the pandemic, she coined the term she-cession to describe the disproportionate impact of employment and income losses on women. Dr. Mason is the author of Born Bright: A Young Girl’s Journey from Nothing to Something in America (St. Martin’s Press) and has written hundreds of articles on women, poverty, and economic security. Her writing and commentary have been featured in the New York Times, MSNBC, CNN, NBC, CBS, the Washington Post, Marie Claire, the Progressive, ESSENCE, Bustle, BIG THINK, Miami Herald, Democracy Now, and numerous NPR affiliates, among others.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series. Before we dive into our discussion about communication, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share with us the backstory about what brought you to your specific career path?

I got involved in social change work while attending Howard University in Washington, DC. I began volunteering at a local shelter for abused women and also started the first women’s organization on campus. My interest was sparked by government and politics class where I learned about social inequality, poverty and how systems and institutions worked in society. I was so fired up to make change and a difference. Since then, I have worked in the non-profit sector leading and scaling organizations that have missions focused on doing good.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

One of the most interesting stories since I started in my career is getting hired to run a research center at the Robert F. Wagner School of Public Service. It was a fledgling center with a lot of potential. I was approached for the job by a good friend and colleague. After several rounds of intense interviews, my final meeting was with the Dean of the School. She was well-recognized in the field and revered. Needless to say, I was nervous. To ease my anxiety, I went above and beyond in my preparation, researching the trajectory of the school under the Dean’s leadership and her career.

In the interview, before I could get comfortable in my chair, she pointedly asked: “what makes you think you can turn this Center around?” I swallowed hard and answered: “I read and saw what you did for the Wagner School. You turned it around and made it a top ranked school of public administration in less than five years. You had a great vision, and executed on it.”

She cocked her head to the side and said, “huh.” My heart was pounding. Then she extended her hand, and said “Welcome to Wagner.” I got the position. For me, this was a lesson in the value of preparation. I got to see first-hand the benefits of going above and beyond requirements.

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

The three characteristics I believe are most instrumental to my success are tenacity, focus, and having a clear vision and strategy.

  • Tenacity –There will always be hurdles and setbacks when working to achieve a big goal. Being tenacious in working to overcome hurdles or trying another door when once closes is critically important to success, and separates the good leaders from the great ones.
  • Focus — For me, focus is the ability to block out distractions and noise in your environment in order to succeed or reach a goal. When I am focused or locked in on a goal, I corral all of my resources — emotional, mental, and human capital — until I have achieved the goal. If I hit a roadblock, I reassess or take a break, then I get back at it.
  • Clear vision and strategy — It is impossible for any leader to achieve success without a clear vision or strategy. The vision is the dream of what could be or what is possible, and strategy is the roadmap to bringing the dream or vision to fruition.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. Let’s begin with a basic definition so that we are all on the same page. How would you define an “Effective Communicator?” What are the characteristics of an effective communicator?

First and foremost, an effective communicator is a good listener and allows time to process information being received.

Once they have listened and taken the time to process the information, an effective communicator is able to synthesize and reflect back that information in a clear way that is understood by his or her audience. An effective communicator also focuses on what’s possible and a solution that works for everyone, or moves the project forward.

How can one tailor their communication style to different audiences or situations?

In my career, I have had the opportunity to speak to college students as a professor and to influential audiences on the TED stage, and what I’ve learned is that you have to meet your audience where they are and use examples and anecdotes that are relatable.

Before giving a talk or speech, I gather as much information as possible about the audience: age, backgrounds, careers, and what they are hoping to get out of the talk. I use this information to craft a speech tailored to that specific audience.

Can you provide an example of a time when you had to adapt your communication style to reach a particular audience successfully?

A few years back I wrote a memoir, Born Bright: A Young Girl’s Journey From Nothing to Something in America, focused on overcoming poverty and getting into college. As a result, I was invited to dozens of college campuses across the country to speak about my experiences.

College students are often required to attend lectures by their professors and have other competing demands. This makes capturing their attention early the key to a successful talk. In these instances, I often begin with a relatable personal story. Once, I had attendees break into small groups to come up with their own title for a memoir. It was fun and engaging, and offered me a springboard to tell my story and educate them about the topic of poverty and inequality.

How do you handle difficult or sensitive conversations while maintaining open and effective communication?

Difficult and sensitive conversations are always hard, and never fun. I handle difficult or sensitive conversations by being direct, honest, and by listening intently to better understand what the other person is hoping to get or gain out of the interaction.

I also try to come to the conversation prepared with necessary information to make an informed decision or to reach a resolution.

In instances where a resolution can not be reached or I do not have an immediate answer, I give a specific timeframe to share an answer or to return to the conversation. This helps manage everyone’s expectations and keeps communication lines open.

In your experience, how does storytelling play a role in impactful speaking? Why do you think stories are effective in communication?

I believe the shortest bridge between two people is a story. I believe storytelling and being able to connect meaningfully to an audience through an experience or connection is powerful. Stories can also cut through hidden biases or assumptions, allowing the audience to receive your message or the information.

What are your “5 Essential Techniques for Becoming an Effective Communicator”?

1. Consistent eye contact and connection with the audience. One of the first things I do when I am on stage or at a lectern is to find a few friendly faces in the audience and make eye contact with them. This allows me to establish a connection with the audience and I use them to gauge the receptivity of my talk — if they are nodding along, I continue. If they seem distracted, I switch up my approach and engagement.

2 . Succinct and Clear. Get to the point quickly. If you tell a story, make sure it ties back to the overall message of the speech or talk so it is cohesive for listeners.

3. Use humor or emotion to convey important points: People love to laugh and make a connection to the speaker — incorporating humor or telling a humanizing story is a great way to connect and to draw your audience in.

4 . Write the speech down. Read it. Then, read it again. Times when I haven’t done this, I have stumbled or haven’t been as confident in my delivery. When I’ve written the speech and read it over a few times, I feel comfortable and able to engage with the audience more effectively.

5 . Practice. Practice. Practice. The only way to get better at communicating is by communicating. Seek opportunities to give speeches, talks, or lectures — then participate. I have also recorded myself giving speeches and listened to them to improve my communication skills.

How do you integrate non-verbal cues into your communication? Can you provide an example of its importance?

Recognizing non-verbal cues is essential to keep audiences engaged. When giving a talk or lecture, I pay attention to when audience members are on their cellphones or otherwise distracted. Then, I find an opening to ask a question or tell a story that is related to the topic. Monitoring for these cues and having options to pull the audience back to you are so important to ensuring your messages are heard and understood.

How has digital communication changed the way you convey your messages? Are there any specific challenges or advantages you’ve encountered?

The advantage of digital communication is that social media allows me to convey big messages in small soundbites. It also allows me to reach different audiences simultaneously and quickly.

The downside of digital communication is that there are so many competing messages or people vying for airtime. It can be hard to know where to focus your time, energy and efforts.

Public speaking is a common fear. What techniques or strategies do you recommend to manage and overcome stage fright?

Practice is key to overcoming a fear of public speaking. Build in time to write your speech, read it aloud, and to share it with people you trust. Sharing it with people you trust helps to build confidence and can generate feedback that can be used to make the speech stronger and more effective.

What additional resources do you recommend for individuals looking to improve communication skills?

I recommend seeking out a group like Toast Masters or other opportunities to practice communication skills. At work, asking to lead a team or staff meeting is good practice. In social settings or with friends, host a game night or a device-free dinner that encourages conversation.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would start a movement to end world poverty. Our world has so many resources, there’s no reason anyone should ever have to live in poverty, experience hunger, or become homeless.

How can our readers further follow you online?

Twitter (X) @cnicolemason

Instagram: @cnicolemason

LinkedIn: C. Nicole Mason

Thank you for the time you spent sharing these fantastic insights. We wish you only continued success in your great work!

Thank you so much. It was a pleasure.

About the Interviewer: Athalia Monae is a product creator, published author, entrepreneur, advocate for Feed Our Starving Children, contributing writer for Entrepreneur Media, and founder of Pouches By Alahta.

--

--

Athalia Monae
Authority Magazine

Product creator, author, entrepreneur, Feed Our Starving Children advocate, Writer for Entrepreneur Media, & founder of Pouches By Alahta.