Inspirational Black Men and Women in Medicine: Dr. Chevon Rariy of Oncology Care Partners On 5 Things You Need To Create A Successful Career In Medicine

An Interview With Jamie Hemmings

Jamie Hemmings
Authority Magazine
14 min readAug 25, 2023

--

Advocate for Yourself: As a healthcare professional, it’s important to advocate for your own career advancement and professional goals. Early in my career, I shied away from negotiating my contract, resulting in terms that were less favorable. Learning to advocate for myself empowered me to achieve better terms and paved the way for my continued growth.

In the United States today, black doctors are vastly underrepresented. Only 5% of physicians nationwide are black. Why is it so important to have better representation? What steps can be taken to fix this discrepancy? In this interview series, we are talking to successful black men and women in medicine about their career, their accomplishments, and how others may follow their path. As a part of this series, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Dr. Chevon Rariy.

Dr. Rariy is the Chief Health Officer and Senior Vice President of Digital Health at Oncology Care Partners, a first-of-its kind platform, a patient-focused oncology value-based care network. She oversees oncology innovation delivery systems and leads digital transformation, artificial intelligence and machine learning, and emerging technologies strategy. In addition to being a healthcare executive, she is a Harvard-trained practicing Endocrinologist, investor, keynote speaker, peer reviewed author, and serves on several non-profit and private boards at the intersection of digital health, technology and equity. She is also a co-founder of a mission-driven company, Equity in STEMM, Innovation, & AI.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood “backstory”?

I grew up with very limited means in Miami, FL, with my mom as a single parent and two sisters. My mom taught me the value of hard work and resilience, often working two to three jobs to make ends meet in addition to her main role as a primary public-school teacher. During these early formative years, I had firsthand knowledge that there were many problems with the way the world worked and perhaps more impactful, I came to realize that a solution did not exist unless you created it. We lacked the means to buy quick fixes to problems and needed to create our own solutions by ‘thinking outside of the box’. For me, it was this curiosity and creative mindset that served as a foundation to fuel a sense of excitement that later permeated into just about everything that I did.

My mom recognized this talent very early on and helped me to focus my creativity on the Arts. She took me to my first ballet class — in an old high school gym in the middle of the city during after school hours. Back then, black girls ‘didn’t do ballet’, especially not in the ‘inner city’, and so my class was small. I was struck in awe by something so different from the norm and continued to study classical ballet for the next 20 years as a student in a magnet arts program from elementary through high school and continued to study the arts in early college. I learned a great deal from this experience, including discipline, resilience, and remaining curious as there were always new things to learn. I gained an appreciation for diversity of thought and bold vision and came to understand the benefit of disrupting the status quo. I appreciated the beauty that could be created if one extended their boundaries outside of what already exists or has been done before. Today, I have embraced the value of my humble beginnings serving as a springboard for fostering curiosity and creative problem solving and recognize the influence arts have had on my non-linear path to science and innovation.

Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I am a daughter, sister, mother, and wife. I am a woman on a mission to make a difference in the lives of others by transforming the way care is delivered and by driving positive change in the health of others. I have taken a circuitous path to where I am today, but all the while remained driven by my passion to meld medicine with technology to reimagine the way we deliver care and inspire health and wellness. A model that balances whole person care, is proactive as opposed to reactive, and is aligned with the right incentives across the entire ecosystem to treat populations at scale ensuring accessible and equitable healthcare for all.

A number of years ago, my family was impacted by cancer — and life changed in an instant. This period evoked complex emotions, yet it galvanized me to act on what truly matters. Letting this experience shape my perspective has profoundly transformed me. During this time, I experienced firsthand the frustration of a fragmented healthcare system and the toll a disconnected experience can have one’s path to recovery.

In this major “set back” for our family, I realized the stark reality that “life is short.” The relationships I have deepened. Everyday annoyances are now put into perspective. I am more present to being grateful and honoring the life we have. I am far more cognizant of the finite nature of the time we have in this life to make a difference — to lead. How I show up every day speaks to the question that I now ask myself, “What narrative would I want people to remember me by?.”

In my current capacity as Chief Health Officer and Senior Vice President of Digital Health at Oncology Care Partners, my aspiration is nothing short of crafting an oncology patient experience that transcends expectations, providing unparalleled coordinated medical care and navigating through the complexities during what may well be the most challenging phase of one’s journey. With over 15 years of experience in the digital health and medical technology industry, I bring expertise in building, managing, and scaling successful national digital health innovative products, programs, and companies for large populations in many care delivery settings ranging from government, academic, private, to start-up within Fortune 5 “Big Tech” (Amazon Care at Amazon, Inc.) environments. I have held prior roles in venture at Takeda Digital Ventures, Takeda Pharmaceuticals, served as Chief Medical Officer (Clinical Strategy) within the Amazon, Inc ecosystem and System VP of Digital Health at CTCA/City of Hope, one of the largest oncology focused networks in the US. I am board certified in Internal Medicine and Endocrinology, fellowship trained in clinical and research at Harvard Medical School’s Brigham & Women’s Hospital and University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC), with a medical degree from Harvard Medical School.

The opportunity to have a much broader impact at scale was the calling that I heard and ability to demonstrate value to customers/patients, clinicians, insurance, health systems, and rural communities has been a focus of mine. I wanted to double down on the role physician leaders can play in ensuring that we are able to craft the right strategies to design the right solutions. Clinicians are experiencing unprecedented levels of burnout and being at the tip of the spear for health care delivery as we continue to navigate the choppy waters of healthcare is an important component of recreating purpose in the workplace. Having the opportunity to collaborate and co-create with many leading medical and technology industry players, has allowed me to be intentional about creating a care delivery model that works for all parties — the patient, the provider, and the payer — to take out the waste and friction.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“To whom much is given, much will be required” (Luke 12:48) In life, I recognize that there have been many blessings afforded to me and it is my goal to increase my footprint to give back in its greatest way. I strive to allow for women’s voices to take on more power as change agents. The pandemic has had detrimental effects on women’s careers in general, leaving women feeling more exhausted and burned out especially in the field of medicine.

Recognizing the responsibility that accompanies the blessings I’ve received, I am committed to channeling my resources and efforts toward empowering women and underrepresented minorities to reclaim their strength and resilience. By fostering an environment that amplifies their voices and supports their ambitions, we can facilitate meaningful change not only in their professional lives but also in society as a whole. As we navigate the aftermath of the pandemic, it’s crucial to address the unique challenges faced by women in medicine. By standing together and addressing these issues, we can contribute to a more equitable and inclusive future for all.

Reflecting on my non-traditional path in medicine, I am grateful for mentors that have played a pivotal role in my journey. Giving back and expressing gratitude have become integral to my mission. In that spirit, I recently founded a mission-driven company, Equity in STEMM, Innovation, and AI. We are driven by the vision to connect, educate, innovate, and inspire a pipeline of talented women and underrepresented minorities in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, and Medicine (STEMM), as well as computer science. We partner with academia, industry leaders, and policy makers to break down barriers in healthcare. Our aim is to amplify the potential of underrepresented communities, enabling them to innovate fearlessly, advance equity, and drive progress for a universally healthier future. Please visit us at EQ-SI.org for more information.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

In cancer care, a transformative story emerges when technology is entwined with cutting-edge medical treatment and incentives are aligned towards value based care improving patient outcomes while lowering costs. A cancer journey where vitals are monitored to provide real-time insights to the care team. I recall an instance when the patient’s monitoring device alerted the medical team to concerning changes, prompting an immediate virtual consultation. Swift action is taken, the patient’s medications were adjusted in a timely fashion, preventing a potential complication. This seamless integration of remote monitoring not only ensures the patient’s safety but also enhances their well-being by minimizing unnecessary hospital visits. This holistic approach to cancer care, tightly knit with technology, empowers patients to navigate their journey with confidence, knowing they are enveloped in a safety net and care team that extends beyond the hospital walls. Coupled with this is an opportunity with AI to harness the power of predictive analytics, anticipating disease patterns and patient outcomes, and aiding in early diagnosis and intervention. This predictive capability extends to personalized treatment plans, tailoring interventions to individual patient characteristics for optimal results. Moreover, AI-powered tools can streamline administrative tasks, freeing up healthcare professionals to focus on patient care. By coupling AI’s predictive prowess with healthcare, we have an unprecedented opportunity to not only enhance patient outcomes but also drive efficiency and innovation across the entire healthcare ecosystem.

You are a successful leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

Three-character traits that were most instrumental to my success as a leader are resilience, adaptability, and empathy.

Resilience: Throughout challenging projects, I faced setbacks and obstacles, but I always persevered. For instance, when a major client unexpectedly withdrew from a deal, I rallied my team, reassessed our strategy, and secured even better opportunities.

Adaptability: In a rapidly changing market, I embraced change and guided my team to do the same. When the pandemic hit, the deep learnings my team and I had in the digital health space were leveraged and allowed us to quickly redirect our focus, leading to the development of innovative care delivery systems that improved patient outcomes.

Empathy: Understanding my team’s needs and concerns enabled me to build strong relationships. For instance, during a demanding project, I recognized the stress my team was under and provided additional support, resulting in improved morale and enhanced productivity.

Thank you for all that. Let’s now shift to the main focus of our interview. This might seem intuitive to you, but it would be helpful to articulate this expressly. Can you share three reasons with our readers why it’s really important for there to be more diversity in medicine?

Diversity in medicine is crucial for several compelling reasons. Firstly, diverse representation among healthcare professionals ensures that a broader range of perspectives and experiences are brought to the table, leading to more comprehensive and effective patient care, as supported by the American Medical Association’s report on cultural competency in health care. Secondly, underrepresented minorities often face disparities in healthcare access and outcomes, and a diverse medical workforce can help address these disparities by providing culturally sensitive care and building trust with historically marginalized communities. Lastly, diversity in medicine fosters innovation and drives research breakthroughs, as varied backgrounds and insights lead to novel approaches and solutions that can benefit all patients. Backed by studies like those published in the journal of Research Policy, diverse teams enhance creativity and problem-solving, ultimately benefiting medical advancements and patient well-being for all.

As things stand today, what are the main barriers for black men and women to enter the medical field?

Presently, there are several significant barriers that hinder the entry of black men and women into the medical field. Systemic racial disparities, as highlighted by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), result in limited access to quality education, healthcare, and mentorship for Black individuals, impacting their preparedness and opportunities to pursue medical careers. Financial constraints persist as well, with high tuition costs and limited scholarship availability disproportionately affecting Black communities further hinder their aspirations. Additionally, the lack of representation and racial bias within medical institutions and the healthcare system further discourage aspiring Black medical professionals and perpetuate the underrepresentation of Black voices in medicine.

From your perspective, can you share a few things that can be done by the community, society, or the government, to help remove those barriers?

To mitigate these barriers, collective efforts are essential. Organizations can establish mentorship programs and scholarship initiatives that specifically target Black students interested in medicine, providing guidance and financial aid. Society must actively address implicit bias through awareness campaigns, cultural competence training for medical professionals, and the inclusion of diverse voices in curriculum development. The government should invest in initiatives to enhance access to quality education and healthcare in underserved communities, while also implementing policies that promote diversity in medical schools and healthcare institutions. By collaborating across these fronts, we can work towards dismantling these barriers and fostering a more inclusive and equitable medical field.

Reflecting on my non-traditional path in medicine, I am grateful for mentors that have played a pivotal role in my journey. Giving back and expressing gratitude have become integral to my mission. In that spirit, I recently founded a mission-driven company, Equity in STEMM, Innovation, and AI (EQ-SI). We are driven by the vision to connect, educate, innovate, and inspire a pipeline of talented women and underrepresented minorities in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, and Medicine (STEMM), as well as computer science. We partner with academia, industry leaders, and policy makers to break down barriers in healthcare. Our aim is to amplify the potential of underrepresented communities, enabling them to innovate fearlessly, advance equity, and drive progress for a universally healthier future. At EQ-SI, we collaborate with institutions to scale longitudinal programs for college students, organize Innovation Challenges attracting women and underrepresented founders in STEMM fields to prepare for venture capital investment, convene Healthtech speakers to raise awareness around and create implementation strategies for the thoughtful deployment of AI infrastructure into healthcare, and initiate campaigns linking impactful entrepreneurs to funding opportunities. Our aim is to empower diverse leaders for equitable innovation, fostering growth and enhancing the journey of women and underrepresented minorities, amplifying their voices, nurturing skills, and driving positive change across all communities.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started my career in medicine,” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

The Importance of Self-Care: It’s crucial to prioritize your own well-being alongside providing patient care. In the demanding field of medicine, burnout is a real concern and maintaining a healthy work-life balance is imperative. During my early years as a resident, there were often times when I neglected my own needs, resulting in exhaustion and decreased effectiveness. Learning to set boundaries and allocate time for self-care ultimately improved both my personal life and the care I provided to patients.

Effective Communication Is Key: Developing strong communication skills is essential for building trust with patients and collaborating with colleagues. Being able to explain medical concepts in understandable terms builds trust among your patients. Early in my training, I recall a time when I had difficulty conveying a diagnosis to a patient’s family, leading to confusion and anxiety. This experience taught me the value of clear and empathetic communication and directed my intentionality when interacting with patients from then on.

Embrace Curiosity and Continuous Learning: Medicine is a constantly evolving field, and staying updated is vital. Cultivating a thirst for lifelong learning will yield future returns. Incorporating ongoing education and learning into my day-to-day activities has allowed me to stay informed on key issues and advances affecting patient care and delivery. Embracing lifelong learning has become a cornerstone of my professional growth.

Seek Mentors and Role Models: Having mentors and role models can provide invaluable guidance and support. During the early part of my career, I wish I had actively sought out mentors who could share their experiences and insights. One instance where this became apparent was when I struggled to navigate a challenging patient case. A mentor’s advice not only helped me approach the case differently but also boosted my confidence in handling complex situations. During my professional career, considering my unconventional medical journey, mentorship has been pivotal. Paying it forward and expressing gratitude now define my mission.

Advocate for Yourself: As a healthcare professional, it’s important to advocate for your own career advancement and professional goals. Early in my career, I shied away from negotiating my contract, resulting in terms that were less favorable. Learning to advocate for myself empowered me to achieve better terms and paved the way for my continued growth.

These pieces of advice, learned through experience, would have significantly eased my transition into the medical field and enhanced both my personal and professional development.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

If I could inspire a movement, it would be one focused on fostering global empathy and understanding. In a world often divided by differences, this movement would encourage people to actively listen, learn, and connect with individuals from diverse backgrounds, cultures, and experiences. By cultivating empathy, we can dismantle prejudices, reduce conflicts, and work collaboratively to address pressing issues such as social inequality, climate change, and healthcare disparities. This movement would ultimately contribute to a more harmonious and equitable world, benefiting countless individuals and promoting positive change on a global scale.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

If I could choose anyone in the world to share a private breakfast or lunch with, it would undoubtedly be Serena Williams. As a trailblazing athlete, entrepreneur, and advocate, Serena’s journey has been a source of immense inspiration for me. Sitting down with her would be a golden opportunity to gain insights into her mindset, her unwavering determination, and how she’s navigated challenges both on and off the court. Her dedication to breaking barriers, her commitment to empowering women, connecting with individuals from all walks of life, and her unapologetic authenticity are qualities I deeply admire. I would cherish the chance to discuss her experiences, learn from her resilience, and exchange ideas about driving positive change in our own spheres of influence. Serena Williams is not only a sporting icon but also a beacon of strength and empowerment, and a conversation with her would be an enriching and transformative experience.

How can our readers best continue to follow your work online?

Follow me on linkedin https://www.linkedin.com/in/chevon-rariy-md/

Visit www.oncologycarepartners.com or follow us at https://www.linkedin.com/company/oncology-care-partners/ for more information.

Visit EQ-SI.org for more information on Equity in STEMM, Innovation, & AI.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

--

--