Inspirational Black Men and Women in Medicine: Dr Katherine Igah-Phillips of Mind Body Spirit Wellness Center On 5 Things You Need To Create A Successful Career In Medicine

An Interview With Jamie Hemmings

Jamie Hemmings
Authority Magazine
14 min readNov 24, 2023

--

It is ok to be different. It is ok to be a thought-leader, a trail blazer in this thing we call medicine; because as a healer, I am called to do just that — heal. It is not only the “what”…but more so of the “how”. I feel that the integrity and completeness around HOW I healed is what matters most, and if straying from the popular narrative or beaten path is how I am to be obedient and best execute this, then yes that is ok.

In the United States today, black doctors are vastly underrepresented. Only 5% of physicians nationwide are black. Why is it so important to have better representation? What steps can be taken to fix this discrepancy? In this interview series, we are talking to successful black men and women in medicine about their career, their accomplishments, and how others may follow their path. As a part of this series, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Dr. Katherine Igah-Phillips, MD.

Dr. Katherine Igah-Phillips, affectionately known as “Dr. K.”, is an award-winning international speaker, bestselling author and personal development coach. With over a decade of experience, Dr. K. notably enlightens on the power behind mental, spiritual, and physical harmony coupled with lifestyle optimization and consciousness elevation. As owner and CEO of one of Atlanta, GA’s most renowned Integrative Medicine Practices (Mind Body Spirit Wellness Center), Dr. K. is able to provide a space for more authentic healing, incorporating a seamless integration of natural healing options with convention medicine.

Dr. K. is also able to maximize her aptitude as a medical intuitive through her virtual coaching platform (“Elevate with Dr. K.”), where she creates and holds the space for personal and character development, consciousness expansion and purpose alignment so that people can reclaim their authoritative power and flow in their divine truth. Many take a deeper dive into Dr. K.’s insight and teachings through her bestselling book, entitled “No Time to Waste”.

Dr. K. is honored to sit on the medical advisory boards of very influential and distinguished organizations:

- dōTERRA International

- African Women’s Cancer Awareness Association (AWCAA)

- Community Holistic Advanced Practice Nurses (CHAPN)

PRIVATE PRACTICE (Integrative Medicine):

Mind Body Spirit Wellness Center

www.mbswellness.org

info@mbswellness.org

Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | LinkedIn: @mindbodyspiritwellnessinc

PERSONAL BRAND (Speaking, Coaching, Wellness Events):

Elevate with Dr. K.

www.elevatewithdrk.com

drk@elevatewithdrk.com

Facebook | Instagram | Patreon: @elevatewithdrk

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood “backstory”?

Yes, of course, and thank you for having me! I am the child of two very inspirational and influential Nigerian parents (I am first generation American). I had a pleasant childhood filled with constant encouragement and push for character development, spiritual awareness, discipline, faith and excellence in all areas of my life (especially my educational path). I was always enrolled in admirable schools, excelling scholastically, athletically and artistically (music/piano) all along the way. I knew early on what I was to do with my life (become a healer), so I had the advantage of aligning with this path early and with little hesitation.

Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

This memory left such a remarkable impression on me that I opened my bestselling book (“No Time to Waste”) with the story, in more detail. I was six years old and my father had just picked my younger sister (who was five years old at the time) and myself up from school. Walking from the driveway to the front of my home, I very vividly recall a school bus pulling up to the front of our complex, as it always did that time of day. A little boy exited the bus, waving excitedly to the other children and bus driver on board. As he walked across the front of the bus to cross the street, he was immediately struck by a speeding car that blew past the school bus red lights and stop sign that was extended. As my younger sister was rushed into the house to avoid witnessing this trauma, I recall somehow being left behind to watch everything unfold. I, with my 6-year-old mind, swiftly began connecting dots as different layers of the situation unfolded. Including watching this boy that was about my same age, begin to go into a full blown seizer after his body fell from the air and hit the street. There was so much hurt, pain, confusion, anger, and regret I empathically received from everyone around me that I decided, in that moment, that I wanted to do more. I wanted to take on the responsibility of reducing the amount of times people had to feel this way. I knew, in my 6-year-old mind that I could not bring that boy back to life, but I somehow made a commitment to reducing pain and brokenness in order to help people feel more whole and complete.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

People who know me personally or work with me professionally know that one of my most favorite life lesson quotes is “How you do anything is how you do everything.” This has helped me so much regarding how I move around other people, and even how I move regarding myself. People will constantly give glimpses into who they really are, behind the projections. When someone displays a certain character trait in one area of their life, I know that I can generally expect very similar character and/or behavior in other areas of their life as well. I utilize this to help encourage and coach people around complete healing and growth. For instance, if you find that you have poor discipline in one area of your life (i.e. your diet), then it should prompt you to audit your lifestyle to discover other areas where this could also be occurring. These are all opportunities to elevate.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

My career is basically a chapter book full of interesting stories. I remember, at the very beginning of my career while I was wrapping up my studies and trainings (I was health coaching virtually, no brick and mortar practice yet), I decided to do a 21-day fast to spiritually receive guidance on next steps regarding my career path and what that should look like. On the morning of the third day, I remember being consumed with an urge to document something, so I grabbed a blank sheet of paper from my printer, found a pen and begin to regurgitate the download that was being reveled to my mind. By the time I finished scribbling, I realized that I had drawn the blueprint of a wellness center! There was such detail in the drawing that I even saw where the restrooms were to be…along with the exam rooms, event/presentation space, etc. I was so overwhelmed at the thought that THIS was what I was to create, that I tucked it into a notebook and walked away. About three or four months later, I decided to share it with my father, as he was the most proficient business person I knew. He affirmed that this was very possible, but that it would definitely take work and dedication. I, in that moment, committed to the challenge and thus began my manifestation process. It’s ironic that I only showed the drawing (that I still have stored away to this day) to my father, because he passed away not too long after that. Upon his transition, I know for certain that he aligned with my commitment because it immediately came to fruition within a few short months! I have been filled with such gratitude at the opportunity to use this platform to serve those in and outside of my community the way that I have for almost a decade now.

You are a successful leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

  1. Integrity: I do consider myself to be a very authentic person. I feel this is of no coincidence, since my name itself means “purity” and “transparency”. Also, “truth” is one of my top core values (second only to “freedom”). I have used this professionally to create a space where people can learn the truth about what is going on inside of their bodies and receive authentic guidance and care that will not taint or negatively impact their bodies. I have also used this character trait personally to do very honest audits of my lifestyle to then elevate myself to be able to tap into various benefits of this work (i.e. no medical diagnoses, no pharmaceutical medications, visible reverse aging, etc.).
  2. Ambition: I feel that I came into this world with an exceptionally high drive to strive for excellence that was only reinforced by my just as ambitious parents. This level of ambition compelled me to work on expanding my discipline early-on, as I knew this to be a very important component of the life I desired to have. It propelled me to be very curious about my true purpose in this life, and to do the work necessary to align with what I had discovered. Does this mean that I have everything figured out? No. Does this mean that I am never nervous or afraid? No. But I am able to extract courage and leadership aptitudes from this elevated level of ambition and discipline because I know I deserve all of the fruits of this labor.
  3. Empathy: Without this, I could not deliver the level of impact that I deliver and have delivered thus far. As a holistic humanitarian, my humility and empathic capabilities afford me the ability to connect with people on a much deeper and more intuitive level. Everything I do is strongly spirit led, and I feel that it is through this that I am able to be used as a healing vessel, serving humanity in a holistic way that makes everyone more whole and complete while simultaneously raising the vibration of humanity.

Thank you for all that. Let’s now shift to the main focus of our interview. This might seem intuitive to you, but it would be helpful to articulate this expressly. Can you share three reasons with our readers why it’s really important for there to be more diversity in medicine?

Absolutely!

  1. Improved Patient Care Through Representation: Diverse medical professionals can better understand and address the unique health needs of a varied patient population. Patients often feel more comfortable and understood when treated by someone who shares their cultural, linguistic, or racial background, leading to better communication, trust, and adherence to medical advice.
  2. Health Equity: Increasing diversity in the medical field is essential for tackling health disparities. Diverse medical teams are more likely to serve underrepresented and underserved communities, helping to reduce health inequalities based on race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status.
  3. Innovation and Research: A diverse group of medical professionals brings a wide range of perspectives, experiences, ideas and healing modalities. This diversity can foster innovative solutions to complex health problems and ensure that medical research is comprehensive and applicable to a broader segment of the population.

As things stand today, what are the main barriers for black men and women to enter the medical field? To me, some of the main barriers would include the following:

  1. Educational and Socioeconomic Disparities: Black students often face educational disparities from early schooling, influenced by factors like under-resourced schools and socioeconomic challenges. These issues can impact their academic preparation and opportunities for pursuing higher education, including medical school.
  2. Financial Barriers: Medical education is very expensive, and the high cost can be a significant barrier. Black individuals are disproportionately affected by economic disparities, making it more challenging to afford medical school without incurring substantial debt.
  3. Underrepresentation and Lack of Role Models: There is a significant underrepresentation of black men and women in medicine. This lack of representation can lead to a shortage of mentors and role models for black students aspiring to enter the field, making it harder for them to find guidance and support.
  4. Bias and Discrimination: Black students and professionals often face racial bias and discrimination, both in educational settings and in the healthcare system itself. This can manifest in various forms, including disparities in admissions processes, unequal treatment in educational and professional environments, and limited career advancement opportunities.
  5. Cultural Barriers and Stereotypes: Persistent stereotypes and cultural barriers can also hinder black individuals’ entry into the medical field. There may be misconceptions about their capabilities, and they might face environments that are not culturally sensitive or inclusive, which can be discouraging and isolating.

From your perspective, can you share a few things that can be done by the community, society, or the government, to help remove those barriers?

Sure! I feel there is a different answer to address the root cause of each of my points above. At a high level, beginning the process of addressing these barriers would require systemic changes in education, policy, and institutional practices to create a more equitable and inclusive path for black men and women in the medical profession. In the meantime, we can create more mentorship programs, created for black aspiring medical doctors lead exclusively by black medical doctors. We can create programs within early education/primary school and higher, bringing more science and tech exposure to lower income families of color who cannot afford to enroll their children in STEM academies. We can create more holistic health initiatives within early education/primary school and higher — much more comprehensive than our current “health class” curriculum, addressing very basic anatomy, lifestyle optimization for disease prevention, diet/nutrition/hydration empowerment, etc.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started my career in medicine,” and why?

1 . It is ok to be different. It is ok to be a thought-leader, a trail blazer in this thing we call medicine; because as a healer, I am called to do just that — heal. It is not only the “what”…but more so of the “how”. I feel that the integrity and completeness around HOW I healed is what matters most, and if straying from the popular narrative or beaten path is how I am to be obedient and best execute this, then yes that is ok.

2 . Prioritize my own self-care. I have to constantly remind myself that while flowing in the work of healing humanity, to not get lost in it and forget about my OWN health and wellness goals. I am very adamant about practicing what I preach! If not, I will not being able to present those I am serving with my best self because I am too tired, have brain fog, don’t feel well, have a disease myself, am mentally imbalanced, etc., and that would not be fair to them at all. I would be devaluing not only my own core values, but my very God-given purpose.

3 . Discipline is not about perfection, but more so about continuity/consistency. I had to reframe myself from being perfectionist to being one who is striving for excellence. I have expanded my discipline greatly, not by avoiding falling but by getting up and back on the path once I did fall. Again and again and again. This is very important to me because I do truly feel discipline to be one of the strongest expressions of self-love. I love and value myself so much that I will work hard, stay focused, get up after falling and deny myself of an immediate pleasure in order to gain a future, greater gratification that I feel I am worth having.

4 . As I am healing everyone else, I am actually also healing myself. I am very fortunate to have received this realization early on, so that I could begin to align with the work needed for ME to continue along MY OWN healing journey. If not, I (like many colleagues of mine now) would have been triggered on a regular basis taking on very emotional and traumatic cases, coaching people through pain and trauma that I too may have gone through, and just being an unclear filter clogged with resentment, insecurities, hurt and pain as I transmitted coaching or recommendations from that biased lens.

5 . Thing bigger. There was a point in my career where I realized that becoming a medical doctor was not the end goal, but more so of the beginning…if not a pre-requisite for what it was that I was truly called to do, My MD would become a tool in my toolbox utilized to elevate the vibration of humanity, ignite the inner healer within us all and work to mend the wounds and voids within humanity that is leaving people feel imbalanced vs whole and complete. This perspective shift can be overwhelming to some, but at this point has become an exhilarating challenge for me to willingly take on.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

The I would definitely inspire a movement focused on Integrative (& Accessible) Healthcare”! This movement would emphasize the following key aspects:

1. Preventive Care: Focusing on preventing diseases before they occur, rather than treating them after they develop. This includes lifestyle interventions like nutrition, exercise, stress management, and regular health screenings.

2. Whole-Person Health: Addressing not just physical symptoms but also considering mental, emotional, social, and spiritual aspects of health. This holistic approach acknowledges the interconnectedness of different aspects of health.

3. Community Health and Wellness: Encouraging communities to support healthy lifestyles, such as providing access to healthy foods, safe exercise spaces, and community education on health and wellness.

4. Integrative Medicine: Combining conventional medicine with more natural, ancestral therapies (like acupuncture, yoga, and meditation) to treat the whole person. This approach can enhance patient care and outcomes.

5. Education and Empowerment: Educating people about their health and empowering them to take an active role in maintaining it coupled with elevated self-care. This includes understanding how lifestyle choices impact health and how to make healthy decisions.

6. Environmental Health: Promoting environmental stewardship as a part of public health, recognizing that a healthy environment contributes to healthy individuals.

This movement would not only improve individual health outcomes but also reduce healthcare costs, enhance community well-being, and promote a more sustainable and equitable healthcare system.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

I would love to one day (soon) have a private meeting with Oprah Winfrey. I would feel most empowered by spending time with someone who looks like me (another black woman) while flowing in their power and truth. I’ve wanted to meet Oprah for quite some time now because as a media mogul, philanthropist, and advocate, she has positively influenced millions through her talk show, philanthropic efforts, and advocacy for education and women’s rights. She is unapologetically herself and aligning with her mission, which is very inspirational to witness. I would very much appreciate time with Oprah, to give her her flowers, pour life into her, and receive whatever she felt led to pour into me.

How can our readers best continue to follow your work online?

PRIVATE PRACTICE (Integrative Medicine):

Mind Body Spirit Wellness Center

www.mbswellness.org

info@mbswellness.org

Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | LinkedIn: @mindbodyspiritwellnessinc

PERSONAL BRAND (Speaking, Coaching, Wellness Events):

Elevate with Dr. K.

www.elevatewithdrk.com

drk@elevatewithdrk.com

Facebook | Instagram | Patreon: @elevatewithdrk | LinkedIn: Katherine Igah-Phillips

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

It was my pleasure, completely. Thank you for creating this space for my stories and messages to be shared.

--

--