Inspirational Women In Hollywood: How Actress Alix Angelis Is Helping To Shake Up The Entertainment Industry

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
14 min readMar 4, 2024

…Playing a villain or a monster is interesting because I’m not very much like that in real life. But when you prepare for a role like that, I do have to consider what kind of thoughts the character is having that are similar to thoughts I’ve had. It’s fascinating to translate my inner demons into being outwardly expressed. For example, in The Cleansing Hour, I play a person possessed by the devil so essentially I’m playing the devil and he has his reasons for being evil. Fantasizing about doing something really bad is something we’ve all done, but of course, we don’t act on it. Diving into that fantasy allows you to express something you never would in real life, to break boundaries and be surprising even to yourself…

I had the pleasure to talk with Alix Angelis. Alix, known for her role in “The Cleansing Hour,” has again captured the attention of horror enthusiasts with her role in Blumhouse’s “Imaginary,” set to hit theaters on March 8th. The film, starring alongside DeWanda Wise, Pyper Braun, Tom Payne, and Taegen Burns, offers a fresh take on the horror genre, showcasing Angelis’s versatility as an actress. Following “Imaginary,” Angelis is also slated to appear in the psychological horror feature “Do Not Watch,” a film shrouded in mystery but teased by producers as a high-concept narrative revolving around the decades-spanning enigma known as the ‘Bunker Anomaly.’

In addition to her burgeoning film career, Angelis stars in “THIS IS ME…NOW: A LOVE STORY,” a cinematic music experience by Jennifer Lopez, now streaming on Amazon Prime. Her diverse roles highlight her range and dedication to her craft, making her a sought-after talent in the industry.

Born to Air Force parents, Angelis’s upbringing was characterized by frequent moves, offering her a childhood rich in diverse experiences. From watching musicals on a farm in Gainesville, Florida, to embracing theater in Monterey, California, her early years were steeped in creativity and performance. Despite starting college with a focus on environmental science, Angelis’s passion for acting led her to NYU’s prestigious theater program, setting the stage for her career in acting.

Beyond acting, Angelis is making strides as a director, with her short film “Seance-ing” earning accolades at various festivals. She is now focusing on a feature film and continues to direct music videos, showcasing her talents behind the camera.

Alix Angelis’s journey from a childhood filled with imagination and movement to a promising career in acting and directing illustrates her resilience, adaptability, and unwavering passion for storytelling. With a growing portfolio of diverse and challenging roles, Angelis is poised to leave a significant mark on the entertainment industry.

Yitzi: Good afternoon, Alix. It’s a delight to meet you. Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn about your personal origin story. Can you share the story of your childhood and how you grew up?

Alix: Absolutely. I’m an Air Force brat. Both of my parents served in the Air Force — my dad as a flight nurse and my mom as a systems engineer. Because of their careers, we moved around a bit, but I spent a significant part of my childhood in Gainesville, Florida, on a small farm. We had free-range cows and retired dressage horses. I also have a twin sister. We spent countless hours watching Rodgers and Hammerstein’s musicals on VHS, which I think sparked my interest in performance. We would create little plays and explore the woods on our own. Then, in middle school, my mom’s job took us to the Monterey area in California, which offered a completely different, yet artistically rich environment. That’s when I started doing theater, thanks to Carmel’s vibrant theater scene. My parents encouraged me to pursue theater to overcome my shyness, and it indeed gave me the theater bug. Theater was my first love. In college, I initially chose to study environmental science, wanting to save the world, but halfway through, I realized my heart was yearning for artistic fulfillment. So, I transferred to NYU, which was an amazing experience. Right after college, I landed a theater gig with Not Man Apart, a remarkable movement theater company, ironically back in LA. That’s how I ended up staying in LA, transitioning into film and television, where I’ve continued my career.

Yitzi: Amazing. Can you share with us the most interesting, memorable, or even funny story that has happened since you began your acting career?

Alix: Yes, I’ve got a funny story actually. It happened during the filming of “The Magnificent Seven” remake with Denzel Washington, Chris Pratt, and other incredible actors. I played a cool role, and there was this moment on set that I’ll never forget. In the story, my character was initially afraid of the Magnificent Seven because they were intimidating hired guns. Chris Pratt’s character, facing his mortality, is full of self-doubt, questioning if he lived a worthwhile life. The battle fighting for this small town might be his redeeming moment. So it was the end of a long day, and we were rushing to finish a scene where we were rescuing children from a burning building. During one take, I ran by Chris and impulsively grabbed his arm, telling him, “You’re a good man,” even though it wasn’t in the script. He looked at me, and it felt like the moment really resonated. We did several takes like this, even though the cameras were never even pointed towards it. I think it was a beautiful example of being completely absorbed in the scene. Chris thanked me afterwards for “playing” with him that day. It epitomized what acting is all about for me. That day remains one of my fondest acting memories.

Yitzi: It’s been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Do you have a story about a humorous mistake you made when you were first starting out and the lesson you learned from it?

Alix: Yes. My first audition was for a local theater production of West Side Story. I had the freedom to choose the monologue and the song I performed, plus there was a dance call. During my song, I forgot the lyrics completely and had to stop. I apologized and started over, which was mortifying. The monologue I chose was from a play I was really excited about. I was 15 at the time, and the monologue involved a lot of screaming — like, hysterical screaming. I thought it would showcase my passion, but in hindsight, it was just bizarre seeing someone scream hysterically on stage. For the dance call, despite being a dancer, I completely messed up. I tried to turn, somehow ended up airborne, and landed squarely on my back. It was like a perfect storm of audition disasters. However, I continued to pursue theater and attend auditions. The takeaway for me was that it couldn’t get any worse. Every audition after that had to be an improvement.

Yitzi: That’s great. Is there a person who has made a profound impact on your professional life outside of your immediate family, like your sister or your parents? Could you share a story about that person?

Alix: Gosh, there are so many. I’ve been really lucky to have amazing teachers come into my life. Who do I choose? Can I say my husband? So, I actually met my husband at a theater camp when I was a kid. What was so special about him was his uniqueness; he danced to the beat of his own drum, literally. I remember this one exercise where we were all dancing to a particular instrument in a song. While most people chose something loud and bold, like the drums or the cymbal, he was gently swaying to the underscore of the cello. That’s how I noticed him, and I thought, “He’s my soulmate.” We didn’t date then — I was 11 — but we did a lot of theater together. He’s always been so optimistic and supportive. As performers, navigating our careers together has been challenging. At one point, he decided to support me as an actor and take a different path from performing. He’s a producer now. His enthusiasm and strong work ethic have been exemplary to me. Even when he was doing PA work, he was the best PA you could ever meet, always with a smile on his face. In this career, it’s easy to get discouraged due to the rejection and long, hard days. I often remind myself to be more like Vinny.

Yitzi: Beautiful. So, Alix, you have an impressive body of work. Can you share with the readers the exciting projects you’re currently working on and what you hope to be working on in the near future?

Alix: Absolutely. I’m thrilled about some projects that are coming up. For starters, “This is Me Now,” Jennifer Lopez’s opus, just premiered on Amazon Prime. It was an exhilarating experience to be part of such a high-caliber project. Being selected and so personally championed by Jennifer Lopez herself was unbelievable. She took the time to explain why each of us was chosen, which was so special. Hearing that from someone who is deeply invested in the story and to be part of their life story was incredible.

Another project coming soon is “Imaginary,” which is a totally different genre. I’ve been lucky enough to play in the horror genre a handful of times and I, once again, embody the monster in this one. Instead of being the stereotypical girl running away in horror movies, I’m often what people are running from. I guess it’s my type casting! “Imaginary” features a compelling story alongside incredible performances.

I’m also involved in an indie horror film called “Do Not Watch,” which was a hit at Screamfest. It’s shrouded in mystery, and I can’t reveal much, but despite its title, it’s a must-watch. This project is particularly intriguing because it spans several decades, and was filmed with the different formats available during those eras.

Yitzi: Amazing. About the horror typecasting. How would you say you are similar and different to the monsters you portray in these films? How are you similar? How are you different?

Alix: Playing a villain or a monster is interesting because I’m not very much like that in real life. But when you prepare for a role like that, I do have to consider what kind of thoughts the character is having that are similar to thoughts I’ve had. It’s fascinating to translate my inner demons into being outwardly expressed. For example, in The Cleansing Hour, I play a person possessed by the devil so essentially I’m playing the devil and he has his reasons for being evil. Fantasizing about doing something really bad is something we’ve all done, but of course, we don’t act on it. Diving into that fantasy allows you to express something you never would in real life, to break boundaries and be surprising even to yourself.

Yitzi: Sure. When Heath Ledger passed away, people suspected that somehow playing the Joker affected him. Do you ever feel that way? That embodying a really bad character leaves an effect on you that makes you feel darker afterward?

Alix: I have had that experience. I don’t think I’ve been permanently scarred, but it is something you have to shake off at the end of the day, kind of find the yang to the yin. It more has to do with the emotions you have. If the character is going through a lot of anger, self-loathing, or pain, and misbehaving because of those negative emotions, then it’s harder to shake off. The emotions you feel when acting are real in your body and cells. So, it is something you have to balance. When it’s a character that is having a really good time being bad, it doesn’t feel as dark.

Yitzi: I know you’re also a director. Tell us what you’re working on and what we can look forward to in the future, including anything we can watch now.

Alix: Yes, my latest project was a short film called “Seance-ing.” It went to several festivals and won some awards, which was very nice. It’s based on a story from my personal life set in the nineties, making it a period piece. The story was about a transformative evening, a turning point in my growth as a person. It had been living in my mind rent-free, and I felt a strong need to recreate it. With the help of some amazing filmmakers and designers, I was able to do just that. Stepping onto the set felt like a surreal dream moment, like I was back in that time, which gave me shivers. I’m working on a feature film now, hoping it comes to pass in the next year or two. It requires working with young actors, which I find fulfilling, as I can offer them advice I wish I had received, and just hopefully contribute to a positive experience along their path as growing artists. In that vein, I want to give a shout out to an organization called Young Storytellers that does stellar work with young creators. I’ve worked with them a number of times, bringing scripts that the kids write to life on stage. It is an utterly delightful way to spend an afternoon. 10/10 recommend.

Yitzi: This is our signature question. So, Alix, you’ve achieved a lot of success. What are three things you would advise someone just starting out on how to succeed and make it in entertainment?

Alix:

  1. I’m going to borrow some advice that was given to me. I coach with Lesly Kahn, and there was a moment after class when I was feeling down about my work and actually cried. I told her, “I just want to be good.” And she said, “Alix, you don’t have to be good. You just have to work.” It took me a moment to really grasp what that meant, but it’s excellent advice. The more you work, the better you become. Striving to be “good” is too vague, but you can work, practice, and hone your craft. That’s something tangible you can do.
  2. Someone, another teacher named Stephen Wangh, who was a teacher at NYU, said something to us at the end of a class. He told us, “You would all make good parents.” At the time, I was very young, still in my teenage years, and I thought, “What? Why? Who cares? I want to be a good actor.” Now, as I’ve gotten older and am actually a parent, I realize what he meant. When you’re a person who cares, who is thoughtful, and curious in your work, and when you are capable of genuinely listening, you can really connect. That is the key to good acting — connecting. Which is also what you need to be a good parent.
  3. I wish someone had told me earlier, and I would give this as advice: never think that you’re bothering someone. Of course, there are times when you can be a bother, if you’re emailing them everyday or something or kind of not reading the room. But within reason, your personality is a gift. I remember Brenda Strong told me “being generous with your personality is going to delight the people you meet and the people you audition for.” I think I was kind of raised with the idea that children should be seen and not heard, so it’s a personal challenge for me to take that advice day to day but it’s important for success, connection, and let’s be honest, happiness. Don’t be stingy with your personality!
  4. I will say something about advice though…Like I said, I’ve had many great teachers and mentors, so I think I was given a lot of good advice early on, but I’ve found that often I wasn’t able to hear it fully, until later. Good advice can even sink in in different ways, at different times in my life depending on what I’m going through. So if someone says something to you that doesn’t quite jive in the moment, maybe it’ll become a little voice that echoes to you when you need it most. There, there’s a bonus piece of wisdom.

Yitzi: Amazing. Can you share with our readers any self-care routines or practices that you do to help your body, mind, and heart thrive?

Alix: Sure. I don’t always make time for this but when I just go for a walk outside, and take some deep breaths next to some trees, it makes a huge difference. Even, and especially when it doesn’t feel like I have time, it ends up being just what I need. And if I’m listening to a sexy audiobook, that doesn’t hurt either. I’m also very particular about using clean products and eating clean foods (with reasonable amounts of treats!), focusing on organic and specifically anti-plastic options. It makes me feel better about my impact on the planet as well. It might seem odd to call this self-care, since avoiding plastic and toxins can be stressful, given their prevalence, but nurturing that integrity for myself and my family, being as clean and green as I can makes me feel good.

Yitzi: So this is our penultimate question. Alix, because of the great work you’re doing and the platform you’ve created, you’re a person of great influence. If you could spread an idea or inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

Alix: I think the thing that’s on my mind a lot and that could help the whole world is switching our mindset around energy consumption and pollution. Like I said, I have a passion for finding clean alternatives to plastic. I believe that if people could really understand how these issues are affecting our world, we could make a significant impact. Not everyone has the opportunity to go out into the world and see its beauty. Experiencing the beauty of nature firsthand can make such a difference; it shows us what’s at stake and what we stand to lose. It’s also about a deeper understanding of how our choices affect our own health. Pollutants, poor air quality and plastics wreak havoc on many things, including fertility. I have personal experience with this.

Yitzi: This is what we call a matchmaker question. And sometimes it works. We’re very blessed that prominent leaders read this column. Is there a person in the world or the US with whom you would like to share a coffee with, have a power lunch, or collaborate with? Because we could tag them on social media and maybe we could connect you.

Alix: Goodness. Well, let’s do all of them. I’d want to have a power lunch with Phoebe Waller-Bridge. We would come up with a project or three to make together. She is a creator that I so admire. Fleabag was exactly my taste. I’m mad that I didn’t come up with it, although I couldn’t have. It’s so specific to her, but it resonates so much with me. She is amazing with everything she writes, like Killing Eve and the Bond films she’s been involved in. And she’s such a funny person and actor too. Next, Sally Rooney is an author who writes so beautifully and vulnerably, delving into patterns of thought that feel like home to me. And in my writing, I am also drawn to exploring the profound and extraordinary existence of people that have relatively average lives. I just want to have a coffee with her because I feel like our brains are in harmony. And someone that I intensely want to act with is Andrew Scott. He heightens every scene he is in, no matter the project. I know acting with him would make me better.

Yitzi: Beautiful. Okay. How can our readers continue to follow your work online? How can they watch your current and upcoming films? How can they support you in any way?

Alix: My social media is Instagram. I’m not active on any other platform. It’s my name, @AlixAngelis. And I also have a website, alixangelis.com. You can see some of my directing projects there.

Yitzi: Alix, it’s been a joy to talk to you and meet you. I’m confident you’re going to become an even bigger star. I wish you continued success, blessings, and everything good.

Alix: Thank you so much for having me. It was a pleasure. So nice to meet you.

--

--

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine

Authority Magazine is devoted to sharing in-depth interviews, featuring people who are authorities in Business, Pop Culture, Wellness, Social Impact, and Tech