Inspirational Women In Hollywood: How Actress Crystal Lee Brown Is Helping To Shake Up The Entertainment Industry

Learn the Business. Lead with Confidence, Not Fear. Surround Yourself with Positive People. Advocate For Yourself. Enjoy The Journey.

As a part of our series about Inspirational Women In Hollywood, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Crystal Lee Brown.

Born and raised in Philadelphia, PA, Crystal Lee Brown has emerged as a multi-talented artist in the entertainment industry. Her niche as the hip and witty charmer with an east coast flare has landed her roles on numerous networks including Netflix, HBO, ABC, CBS, and TNT. In 2019, Brown received her first Daytime Emmy® Nomination for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Digital Drama Series for her role as Tamera on the hit series Giants, which streams on Issa Rae’s YouTube Channel. She recurred on three seasons of The CW’s Black Lightning, and her memorable guest appearance on Showtime’s The Good Lord Bird earned praise from The New York Times as well as Time Magazine. Brown also brought her talent to feature films including the six-time Academy Award-nominated Judas and the Black Messiah, Lionsgate’s Uncle Drew, and 20th Century Fox’s Hidden Figures. In addition, she has graced our TV screens in national commercials for top brands such as Apple, Best Buy, and Walmart. Brown can currently be seen in a recurring role on Season 2 of Starz’s Hightown, which is airing now.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Yes! I was born and raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and am the oldest of three children. I have two younger brothers. My mother was a Philadelphia Police Officer and Drill Sergeant in The US Army Reserves and my father is an entrepreneur. I grew up in the ’80s and ’90s, and the memories of that era hold a special place in my heart. Music, fashion, and pop culture were the foundation of inspiration I drew from as a child.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

As a young child, my mother and I would watch CBS Sunday Matinee movies. I was introduced to classic films, such as Imitation of Life, It’s A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World, The Bad Seed, Silkwood starring Meryl Streep, and The George McKenna Story starring Denzel Washington. Watching these films ignited a love of artistic expression. I would watch television and immerse myself in the world of imagination. For me, this was the beginning of learning the craft of acting.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

It’s funny looking back at it. When I first started, I thought I knew everything about the entertainment industry and acting. I moved to LA believing I was ready, but I had to go back to the drawing board after three months. I needed to be equipped with all that confidence because it helped prepare me for this career path’s ups and downs.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

GOD! I would not be where I am without GOD in my life. My faith and conviction are strong, and it’s the only thing, next to my amazing family, that keeps me focused on my purpose.

You have been blessed with great success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Trust yourself! Your gifts will make room for you, but you must believe that they will. Keep going, don’t ever give up on your dreams, never give up on yourself! Failure is necessary to achieve greatness.

What drives you to get up every day and work in TV and Film? What change do you want to see in the industry going forward?

What drives me the most is creativity. I love to create characters and use my imagination with storytelling. It’s the catalyst for what I do as an actor. This industry is constantly changing. The most significant shift I’d like to see is the outcome of the ongoing conversations regarding Diversity, Inclusion, and Representation in TV and Film.

You have such impressive work. What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? Where do you see yourself heading from here?

I recently starred in Showtime’s The Good Lord Bird with Academy Award Nominee Ethan Hawke. I play the role of Sibonia, and it has been the highlight of my career thus far. I’m currently starring in a Recurring Guest Star role on Starz’s hit drama Hightown. I play Janelle, a wise, no-nonsense Physical Therapist in a correctional facility who gains trust from her patients. My journey as an actor has had many ebbs and flows, so I’m just excited about my constant momentum and look forward to what it brings next.

We are very interested in looking at diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture and our youth growing up today?

I think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television because it’s a direct reflection of the world we live in. People need to see themselves and their stories that will impact their communities and create dialogue. Viewers, especially children, need to see a diverse universe of characters they can relate to, showing them an array of complexities. This will affect our culture and our youth growing up today because they are our future. This generation of up-and-coming creators is watching our every move. We must lead by example so they have a blueprint to build from.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

5 Things I wish someone told me when I first started are:

1. Learn the Business: This industry is the business of show. In this industry, you are a brand, so you must treat yourself as a business. This allows longevity in your career.

2. Lead with Confidence, Not Fear: Leading with and having confidence in your talent and what you authentically bring to the table will take you further in this industry rather than allowing fear and doubt to stop you from living your dreams.

3. Surround Yourself with Positive People: Who you choose to share, dream, and grow with is essential to your well-being as an artist. Surrounding yourself with a core tribe that listens, loves, and supports you — and vice versa — makes the journey more enjoyable.

4. Advocate For Yourself: Always advocate for yourself. Use your voice! Speak up against injustices and show people how to respect you.

5. Enjoy The Journey: Go out and live your life! The journey is only rewarding if you bring your whole self to it.

Can you share with our readers any self-care routines, practices, or treatments that you do to help your body, mind, or heart to thrive? Please share a story for each one if you can.

Working Out: I love to work out daily. I have a trainer who helps me maintain my fitness goals and healthy eating habits. I also like to get out in nature and hike.

Meditation: Being still with my thoughts and connecting to my breath is essential. I love to burn incense while doing so. It clears the air and helps me to remain focused.

Mommy and Me Time: I love to spend quality time with my 10-year-old daughter, Sydney. She warms my heart!

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

A favorite Life Lesson Quote is: “Always act with self-regard.” It’s a frame of mind, like having high self-esteem. Acting with self-regard lets you celebrate your strengths, challenge your weaknesses, and feel good about yourself and your life. This quote is a go-to reminder for me because doubt can seep in at any given moment.

You are a person of huge influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

If I could inspire a movement that would bring the most good to many people, it would be the kindness movement! If everyone would just be kind to one another, we would make such a global impact. Our world needs it. So keep kind in mind.

Is there a person in the world whom you would love to have lunch with, and why? Maybe we can tag them and see what happens!

Oprah Winfrey. We’re both foodies, so I’m sure her chef will prepare something exquisite for us!

Are you on social media? How can our readers follow you online?

Yes, I’m on social media. I can be reached across all platforms, Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook at @CrystalLeeBrown.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

Thanks for the interview!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.