Inspirational Women In Hollywood: How Helena-Alexis Seymour Is Helping To Shake Up The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
13 min readJun 11, 2023

--

Create strong boundaries with your relationships: Even our most supportive relationships can distracted from our goals. They may keep us on the phone for hours when we should be getting our beauty rest or practicing our lines for a film. Create strong boundaries with your relationships and if they are meant to be in your life, they’ll respect you and your time.

As a part of our series about Inspirational Women In Hollywood, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Helena-Alexis Seymour.

Helena-Alexis is an award-winning actress born in Canada, known for her exceptional talent and screen presence. She received critical acclaim for her portrayal of Jessica Wu in the Chronicles of Jessica Wu, earning her the Best Actress Award at the Toronto Film Channel Awards 2021, Best Actress Award at the Vegas Movie Awards 2020, and landing her on the 2019 Primetime Emmy Ballot. In addition to her success on the small screen, Helena-Alexis is a two-time winner of the Ottawa FACES Best Actress Award, as well as a 2015 Black Canadian Awards nominee for Best Actress.

With an impressive acting career spanning several years, Helena-Alexis has appeared in a range of notable films, including xXx: Return of Xander Cage (2017), Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (2014), Beauty and the Beast (2012), and many more. However, her journey in the entertainment industry started at a young age when she landed her first acting gig at just 10 years old, playing the lead in a national commercial for POST Golden Raisin Crisp cereal.

As an emerging actress with a natural talent for the screen, Helena-Alexis continued to land significant roles, such as playing Vanessa Williams in the recurring VH1 Christmas film, ‘Diva’s Christmas Carol,’ at the age of 15. With her impressive skills and undeniable passion for acting, Helena-Alexis has proven herself to be a remarkable talent in the industry and a true force to be reckoned with.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in a small (mostly Caucasian) town of Cornwall, ONT Canada. I was a huge introvert and extremely shy. I was one of three “black/mixed race” kids at my school and was always teased for the way that I looked — my big afro hair, my flat nose, my skin color.. I felt very uncomfortable existing in my body. Being bullied at school did not help my shyness either. I retreated even more and started asking myself the question “Who am I?” I believe I found God in that moment and God and I became best friends. I would speak to myself at recess and enjoyed the comfort of being alone. I felt safe. Looking back, I can see how speaking to myself aided my acting career as I was able to tap into my inner voice, intuition and trust my instincts that much easier.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Although I was very shy, I loved to create performances (dance and acting skits) in my basement for my parents. They thought it would help my shyness by enrolling me in dance classes and beauty pageants. It did! I felt that being on stage gave me “permission” to express myself. I became a different person on stage. The competitive dance classes and international beauty pageants lead to modeling and eventually acting. I participated in a model/talent convention in NYC called the “International Model and Talent Association” (IMTA) and that is what opened my eyes to what is possible as a model and actor. By the age of 10yr I booked my first TV Commercial for “Post Golden Raisin Crisp” Cereal. That was the moment I truly fell in love with being an actor on set and felt a newfound confidence that I could do this, for real.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

The saying “being at the right place at the right time” is something I truly believe. I had a chemistry read in Montreal, Canada for a TV Show back in 2013 and the Casting Director that sent me off to it knew I was in town for the day (I was living two hours away in Ottawa at the time). The Casting called my agent and requested me to come into the office in the evening (four hours after my chemistry read) to audition for this last minute feature film that would be shooting in two days! After the chemistry read I went on a very long lunch to allow four hours to pass, and when I went to my last minute audition, there was only myself and another female present. I quickly realized we were hand selected by the Casting and the role was between the two of us. After the audition, I went back home to Ottawa and received the phone call, the following day that I booked the job! The thing is.. I was already scheduled to be on set for another feature film that same day, filming in Ottawa. I didn’t know what to do!! I put all my Faith in God and thought that since the feature film in Montreal was shooting in the early morning and the one in Ottawa was filming in the evening, I can potentially pull off filming both in one day. Luckily, I did say yes to the Montreal booking as I came to find out once I arrived to set that it was for the huge Hollywood Blockbuster feature film — Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). They did not tell us nor give any information about the project at the audition. Realizing who the director was and the cast, I was extremely grateful I not only went to the last minute audition but also said yes to the booking! God was orchestrating the entire thing. We wrapped Birdman in just enough time for me to drive back to Ottawa to film my second feature film. Birdman then went on to win 193 awards, four of them being Academy awards, including the Oscar for best picture! The Universe works in interesting ways and before a major breakthrough, it will test you. I will always remember that moment, my strength for not giving up or holding myself back, and the faith I had that everything would work out perfectly. God is always with us and this moment really showed me how amazing God can be. I will cherish that moment and allow it to inspire me, for the rest of my life.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

About ten years ago I was living in Vancouver at a “long term stay” apartment rental. One morning I was heading to Starbucks to grab a coffee for myself and a friend of mine who was coming over to be my reader for a self tape. In the elevator heading down to the lobby, I used that opportunity to text my friend to get their Starbucks order. Usually I am the social one in the elevator, saying hello to whoever is in there with me.. but this day I was distracted. As I’m texting my friend, the man who was already present in the elevator decided to say hello to me and make small talk. I looked up to engage in conversation, and to my surprise it was Steven Spielberg!! I was so shocked and embarrassed to have been on my phone that I didn’t even think to share my resume or anything at all about me being an actress, in those few minutes we shared together in the elevator. That moment was a huge missed opportunity and lesson to always remain present, and engage with the people around you, as you never know who you may “run into”. I know that we will meet again, and believe this was only an introduction.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I am so grateful to the most powerful woman and energetic healer I know — Adele Stratton. She has opened up energetic blocks and healed my physical illnesses that were within and around my body so that I may continue to rise to new heights in my life and career. After I complete a session with her, I leave feeling lighter and more like myself. She inspires and empowers me to be my ultimate best. I am so blessed to have a powerful woman like her in my life, and on my team. Being in this incredible place on my journey right now, is hugely thanks to Adele Stratton.

You have been blessed with great success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

My biggest advice is to release control, knowing that God is constantly guiding us. We were given specific dreams and goals for a reason. Our hearts already know what we would like to achieve but it’s our minds that can get in the way sometimes. When we give all our fears and insecurities to God, knowing that we are being guided through each moment and that every single thing happens for a reason to empower us and aid in our evolution, we can let go much easier. I’d rather do my best and reach for the stars knowing that God has a safety net to catch me, rather than control the outcome, out of fear. Go for it, and see where God leads you! You may surprise yourself.

Every industry iterates and seeks improvement. What changes would you like to see in the industry going forward?

I love that the industry is embracing uniqueness and diversity more than ever. I portray a mixed race, autistic superhero named Jessica Wu on the television show — Chronicles Of Jessica Wu. I love that there are more shows on the air with characters with autism and other “disabilities”. However, we need more. I would also love to see more characters living with and overcoming mental illnesses. Television should be healing, to inspire the viewers that they too are powerful and can do anything.

You have such impressive work. What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? Where do you see yourself heading from here?

There are a few project that I’m working on but I’d rather show the world the magic once it’s complete, rather than speak on it prematurely. My goal is to empower others along their Spiritual journey as life is a journey guided by God/The Universe. We are so much more than our physical form and are all connected to each other on an energetic level. My projects moving forward are going to highlight that fact and hopefully provide healing and inspiration to the viewers that take them in.

We are very interested in looking at diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture and our youth growing up today?

When I was growing up there weren’t many shows on the air with powerful Black female or even “mixed race” female leads. The ethnics were always the “friend” of the leading Caucasian actor. Seeing that, and being bullied at school for being black made me believe that I wasn’t “good enough”.

  • The 3 reasons why it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television are:
  1. Children, teens and even adults need to see themselves in powerful leading roles to inspire them that anything is possible. When we see a powerful, black female leading character — that young black girl watching will then believe she too can become a powerful woman in a strong position.
  2. Showing diversity can create more love and inclusivity in the world, beginning on a subconscious level via film and television. The more love and inclusivity we show in film and tv, the more the world will follow.
  3. Showing more diversity can overall create more self-love in the world. The more the world can love themselves, the better choices and actions they will take in their everyday lives. Self-love has a ripple effect and can make this planet more loving as a whole.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

5 Things I wish someone told me when I first entered the Entertainment Business:

  1. Trust the Divine timing of your success: I grew up surrounded by models and actors and witnessed some book major projects on their very first audition, and others (like myself) who worked very hard for years before booking a major breakthrough role. Over time, I definitely got discouraged and began to doubt myself and my skills. I wish someone told me that success pops at different times for each person. Always focus on yourself, stay in your lane, and continue to do your best and trust your Divine timing. Your success will pop when it’s suppose to. Trust the process.
  2. Continue to sharpen your skills: Whether that be continuously taking acting classes, picking up a new special skill like kickboxing which can build up your resume and potentially manifest a role where you can perform your own stunts on set, or practicing yoga to stay in shape and remain ground. Whatever it is, continue to sharpen your skills so you are constantly moving forward along your journey.
  3. Love yourself more than anyone else: This industry is filled with rejection and you have to remember to love yourself more than to take any of it personal. Maybe you didn’t book a certain role because your hair was too dark, or you’re too tall. Most of the rejection isn’t personal, it’s just the industry. Love yourself more so you can brush it off and move on to the next opportunity that is meant for you.
  4. Work in silence & allow your success to speak for itself: When you share your plans of what you are going to do with your friends, family and acquaintances; that only invites their opinion — which can be negative energy, blocks or doubts to enter your mind. Focus on you, work in silence and let your success speak for itself.
  5. Create strong boundaries with your relationships: Even our most supportive relationships can distracted from our goals. They may keep us on the phone for hours when we should be getting our beauty rest or practicing our lines for a film. Create strong boundaries with your relationships and if they are meant to be in your life, they’ll respect you and your time.

Can you share with our readers any self-care routines, practices or treatments that you do to help your body, mind or heart to thrive? Please share a story for each one if you can.

Every single day I practice yoga. I’ve been practicing for the past 17 years in fact. I first stepped on my mat when I was going through a very difficult, emotional time and yoga changed my life. It brought me back to the present moment, calmed my nervous system, got me breathing deeper and also created a peace within myself which I had not experienced on such a deep level until after my first class. From then, I was hooked. I owe a lot of my happiness, positive energy and strength to keep on going — to yoga.

I am vegan. I’ve been vegan for eleven years thus far and I have felt the best, I’ve ever felt in my life because of it. My energy is high everyday from eating fresh fruits and vegetables, my skin has cleared up and my mental health is also the best it’s ever been. You are what you eat, and food plays a major role in our lives. Food is healing and eating plant foods has healed me from the inside out.

I also follow/study Astrology. Being curious about what we are all doing on this planet, I crossed paths with Astrology and it has been the one thing that made the most sense to me. We are more than our sun signs. We have a rising sign, moon sign and all the planets and zodiacs within us. We are literally made up from the stars. Diving deep into astrology and understanding how the planets communicate above, effects how we move about the world. Everything is connected. Astrology for me — makes the world make sense, has changed my life for the better, and has shown me how to manifest my goals more intentionally.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Everything happens for a reason”. I remind myself of that quite often as there is always a lesson to be learned every single day. Knowing that the Universe has our back and is aiming to teach us something through each of our life situations, gives me peace of mind and also reminds me to reflect back on my day. Self reflection creates growth and knowing that “everything happens for a reason”, reminds me that everything is working out for our highest good.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

I would love to inspire the movement of meditating every morning. It is so important to check in with yourself before heading off into the world where people can impose their energy on you. Finding peace within will ultimately make the world a much better place. We will make more empowering decisions, create stronger boundaries and have a lot more self-love. Mediation can change world… as everything begins with ourselves.

Is there a person in the world whom you would love to have lunch with, and why? Maybe we can tag them and see what happens!

Angelina Jolie has always been my ultimate favorite actress. I love that she has taken risks as an actress, with darker characters, comedic characters, empowering feminine characters, as well as showing her physical strength in stunt/combat characters. Every role Angelina takes on is different from her last, and they are also characters I can see myself portraying. It would be a dream to sit down, and have lunch with my biggest inspiration — Angelina Jolie.

Are you on social media? How can our readers follow you online?

Instagram: www.instagram.com/helenaalexis/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/helex6

This was so informative, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music