Inspirational Women In Hollywood: How Jennifer A Goodman Is Helping To Shake Up The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

--

Creating, and being a part of the madness which is production is thriving for me and I love resolving and coming up with solutions and making things happen. I simply love being on set with like-minded people, it rejuvenates me.

As a part of our series about Inspirational Women In Hollywood, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Jennifer A. Goodman.

Actress, writer and producer, Jennifer A. Goodman, is a triple threat making an impact in Hollywood.

As a female actress, writer, and producer on the autism spectrum, Goodman has had to overcome an enormous amount of adversity growing up and working in the entertainment business. Her biggest goal is to shift perceptions of people with disabilities in entertainment and bring a voice to those who have been marginalized.

Goodman is currently filming the horror film “The Unseen” alongside actor RJ Mitte. The film follows a young lawyer who finds himself in a twisted web of murder and deceit brought on by a dark force from his past. Goodman wrote the film, is co-starring and producing.

In addition, Goodman co-created and starred in the crime thriller pilot “Conrad”. The series follows detective Katy Conrad, who is on the autism spectrum, as she battles corruption when she opens a secret investigation into the death of her father, the Chief of Police, and a human trafficking operation. The series co-stars Eric Roberts and Harry Lennix.

Based in Chicago, IL, Goodman co-founded Lakefront Pictures with producer and creator Ryan Atkins. Lakefront Pictures is a team of creators who tell untold stories by voices normally unheard.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

For as long as I can remember, I was always an actress involved in plays, musical theatre, playing leads, dancing and singing. My family always thought it was a great outlet for me to express myself since I was diagnosed Autistic at a very young age and I struggled with major anxiety and ADHD. Early intervention helped me surpass expectations that doctors thought I would never overcome.

Throughout my younger years I was encouraged by my family to continue my education as it was important for me to have the knowledge and skills that life and education offer. That being said, my school experience was difficult, and I learned skills slower than other children my age. It was a challenge, however, despite my obstacles in interpersonal dynamics, I graduated with a degree in theater and a minor in psychology. After I graduated, I fell into the world of sales, and was in it because I wasn’t afraid to ask for what I want due to my superpower of not being afraid of the word, “no.” I guess I learned it from the stage. But moreover, my anxiety and depression became increasingly difficult due to the constant need to surpass quotas and expectations as well as the interpersonal relationships and competitive nature of those environments, with only financial gain and not personal gain. When I attempted to be involved in the arts, it was always coexisting with the sales world, and I more and more realized the need for self fulfillment was a necessity for my mental health, the more it became apparent that I needed what I was longing for and missing in my life. While I did extra work, I wanted to be signed with an agent, and wanted more for myself.

I really recognized my need for the performing arts, through therapy and as such, was recommended to really challenge myself and start auditioning. One night I went home, got online, saw a post for a ‘bad ass female detective’ role, and due to my inspirational shows, The Blacklist and Homeland, I decided to submit for the role. Not only was I cast as the lead, but the person who auditioned me, took interest in my character ideas and story ideas for the role and allowed me to expand the materials to a full TV pilot script. With determination and a knack to dedicating myself to processes, I learned more about the writing process, put together a script and created what is now the TV pilot CONRAD. My experience in sales gave me the knowledge I needed to raise capital, negotiate locations, produce a pilot, and get celebrity talent. The person who auditioned me, became my business partner — Ryan Atkins. To this day, we now have a production company Lakefront Pictures, LLC which amplifies unheard voices and tells stories untold that change narrow perspectives. We have produced pilots, short films that have won a ton of awards and are now producing a feature starring RJ Mitte, Christian Stolte, and Rebekah Kennedy, and I too, have a role. It’s exciting, thrilling and brings me so much joy, and makes me want to keep producing acting and writing!

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

After filming the first part of Conrad, we were told by networks that in order to really get traction we would need celebrity talent. I am a huge fan of The Blacklist so I told my team that I was going to find a way to work with the actors on The Blacklist and they thought I was crazy. I spent months reaching out to the actors, via social media and tagging them and attempting to partner. Finally out of the blue, Harry Lennix replies, the nicest man that he is, apologizing for getting back to me so late. After a 30 minute online chat, he agreed to come on board and work on our TV Pilot. My team thought I was imagining it. We scheduled a call and when my team heard his iconic, recognizable voice on the other line, they were SHOCKED. From there, it was bliss. He came on our team, worked with us and stayed on the project and brought so much joy and love to the team. He’s a remarkable human and with him, he included Hisham, and so our show had two actors from The Blacklist. The production value grew from there, and now I have lifelong friends in the two of them.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

When I first started, I forgot that not everyone is as passionate about the script I wrote, as I am. Thinking people would work for the love of the game, I presumed that I could pay for food hoping that would work since it was super hard to raise money and I didn’t have budgets to fulfill project costs. But unfortunately, that only goes so far.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My dad. He has always been in my corner and always believed in me, even when no one else did.

You have been blessed with great success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

My best advice is to go for what you believe in your gut is best for your health and for you, without worrying what others think. Failure is not taking a risk.

What drives you to get up every day and work in TV and Film? What change do you want to see in the industry going forward?

Creating, and being a part of the madness which is production is thriving for me and I love resolving and coming up with solutions and making things happen. I simply love being on set with like-minded people, it rejuvenates me.

Opportunities for all, equality and striving to give people opportunities that wouldn’t normally have them.

You have such impressive work. What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? Where do you see yourself heading from here?

Thank you! So kind. Well, right now we are working on our horror thriller feature film that I wrote, and am producing and also act in called “The Unseen”. It has RJ Mitte from Breaking Bad, Christian Stolte from Chicago Fire, and Rebekah Kennedy from a ton of horror films, plus an extraordinary cast that I simply love working with.

We are very interested in looking at diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture and our youth growing up today?

Absolutely. 1) diversity and equality is a strong mission across Hollywood 2) Gives all people chances to shine and you just might be surprised by those who have stories to tell 3) Changes the perspective and shows that those who are marginalized can be empowered to accomplish anything they set their mind to. And that last point is a strong message our younger cultures and generations need to SEE and hear.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

That not everything is what it seems, and not just acting, but films, producing and making a movie happen. It’s a ton of work. People think if you have a 1M budget you must be loaded, but you’d be shocked how much everything costs and how little the spend is when you actually produce something and provide as much as you can for the sake of the project and your teams. It’s hard work!

Can you share with our readers any selfcare routines, practices or treatments that you do to help your body, mind or heart to thrive? Please share a story for each one if you can.

PELOTON, peloton, and therapy, well also, Pilates. It’s really great to keep your heart healthy, and your MIND healthy. It’s so important to have an outlet physically and emotionally, but also a safe space to practice routines that keep your mind and body healthy.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“If you build it they will come.” My father has always been successful and I’ve always desired that success. Rather than just give me what I wanted, I had to work for it. When I was growing up, it was unfair. Now, I’m thankful. Feeling accomplished is so self-fulfilling. Furthermore, I’ve had incredible support, and I feel very blessed.

You are a person of huge influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

Give people a chance, try and understand them, forgive them and work WITH them, not against them.

Is there a person in the world whom you would love to have lunch with, and why? Maybe we can tag them and see what happens!

Oh my gosh Jennifer Aniston, and/or Reese Witherspoon. Huge inspirations for me, and lady leaders, I admire, have inspired me, and motivate me. Either or both of them would be the biggest gift.

Are you on social media? How can our readers follow you online?

Instagram: @jenniferkarum

Twitter: @JenniferKarum

This was so informative, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.