Jeremy B. Shapiro of The Bay Area Mastermind: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Launched My Business

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine
Published in
29 min readFeb 23, 2024

--

…Be available to your customers in the ways they want to interact with you. A classic example I think of is when I remember going to a bagel shop and wanting to pay with an American Express, and they’re like, “Oh, we don’t take American Express.” “What do you mean? Why wouldn’t you take my credit card?” I replied. Businesses do this and it adds friction to a transaction. Or how many times have you received an email from a company with an order confirmation or something else, and it comes from a no reply address? And you want to reply to that email to get support on the order you just placed, and you can’t. Too often, businesses put barriers between themselves and the customer for stupid reasons. They’ll say, “Oh, there’s a higher transaction fee if we take money on an American…

--

--

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine

I am an entrepreneur, publicist, journalist and event producer based in Sunny Florida. My passion is writing & giving back to others.