Jerry Roth On The 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readOct 27, 2022

--

Read every genre: As a writer, you will always be drawn to a favorite category. But when it comes to reading, step out of your genre. You will be surprised how little, unexpected things will trickle into your “Work in Progress”.

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing Jerry Roth. Roth is an award-winning author of Bottom Feeders, a bestseller from Sunbury Press. Following up this success, he released a psychological thriller, On the Tip of Her Tongue, and is releasing Throwing Shadows: A dark Collection through Brigids Gate Press. The author currently lives in a converted 1908 Catholic church in Ohio.)

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

From the first moment I could read a book myself, I knew I wanted to be a writer. One of my earliest writing creations was a handful of blank papers folded in half and stapled to make a spine. In this crude first book, my Uncle Mark helped me design simple “Star Wars” panels of Tie Fighters and X-Wing Fighters flying through the galaxy…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.