Jill Tietjen On The 5 Things You Need To Be A Successful Author Or Writer

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readApr 24, 2022

--

Work hard. There is just no substitute. You have to do everything that is required to see your idea in print.

As part of my interview series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Jill S. Tietjen, PE. Jill is an author, national speaker, and an electrical engineer. She has published twelve books, her latest being Over, Under, Around, and Through: How Hall of Famers Surmount Obstacles which will be released on May 3, 2022. She has been inducted into the Colorado Women’s Hall of Fame and the Colorado Authors’ Hall of Fame.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your ‘backstory’ and how you got started?

Although I am an electrical engineer, I loved writing from an early age. In junior high school, I learned to diagram sentences which I thought was just so cool. Then in high school, we all had to write term papers. I loved using index cards and organizing the logical flow for that paper. In college at the University of Virginia, all engineering students at the time were required to write an undergraduate thesis. I not only enjoyed doing the research, I also liked writing the thesis…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.