Joel Camarena On The 5 Things You Need To Be A Successful Author or Writer

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Give yourself permission to fail, not know the answer, and learn. I was hurt when the first editor read my novel and said I needed to learn how to write. My blood pressure rose, and I doubted myself as I read every constructive criticism comment on my art. But I got through it after a walk around the block. I returned to look at it more practically and followed the advice I was given, like a gift on Christmas morning that you didn’t originally want but needed.

As part of my interview series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Joel Camarena. Joe is an entertainment human resources strategist with experience across Film, TV, Consumer Products, Gaming, Digital, and Technology businesses with a passion for entry-level talent acquisition and programs (Interns, Trainees). After graduating from San Jose State University with a Bachelor’s in International Business and Relations, he started his career as an intern on the Campus Recruitment team at Disney Consumer Products which sparked his natural passion for entry-level

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.