John Eklund of ‘Siegfried’: 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

An Interview With Theresa Albert

Theresa Albert
Authority Magazine
5 min readJul 30, 2021

--

Every time an idea for enhancing your book pops into your head, write it down. I email myself ideas all the time as soon as I think of them. That way I won’t forget them during a busy day.

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing John Eklund.

Mr. Eklund is a Norse mythology and European history buff who has written three engrossing historical fiction books: The Third Testament, Siegfried, the Liberator of Germania, and The Last of the Vikings. He strives to make history exciting and uncomplicated, and takes great joy in his work. Today he will be highlighting his favorite book, Siegfried.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

Writing for me is a hobby. I never planned on becoming a writer. I remember sitting in my room in 2005, taking a break from studying for an exam, when the idea of writing The Third Testament popped into my head. I thought it was a unique and intriguing topic (The Third Testament looks at the last two thousand years of history through a biblical rather than a traditional secular lens), and soon enough I jumped right into the world of writing. Initially I figured it would be a decades’ long project, but I was so engaged that I finished it in just five years.

Can you share the most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your career?

The most interesting story was the topic of my second book, Siegfried, the Liberator of Germania. While researching a trip to Germany, I discovered the theory that the mythical Norse hero Siegfried may have evolved from the true historical Germanic hero Arminius. The story of Arminius is truly epic. It has similarities to Braveheart, but with a better plot and a better ending. My second book reconciles the differences between the myth and historical fact, in a unique retelling of the Siegfried saga. I’m biased of course, but I do feel it is the best Norse mythology book on the market.

What was the biggest challenge you faced in your journey to becoming an author? How did you overcome it? Can you share a story about that that other aspiring writers can learn from?

Although I truly enjoy researching my books and writing them, I have no talent for marketing. I can’t say that I have overcome it. Being an author also means being a marketer. If you can’t market your books, no one will read them. It can seem like an uphill struggle at times. That being said, my books have very targeted audiences, and I take great pleasure in every positive review I receive.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I don’t have any truly funny stories per se, but I do find humor in how naïve I was when I wrote my first book The Third Testament. I thought that it was such a novel idea that I would for sure have interest right off the bat. I figured that perhaps people would not like my style of writing, but they would at least be greatly intrigued by the topic. Boy was I wrong. I could not get any of the reputable publishing houses to even look at my work. Eventually I turned to iUniverse, and was overall pleased with the experience.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

My latest work, Prussian Knight, is almost finished. I have Prussian ancestors from both my father’s and mother’s side of the family, and I wanted to write a positive story about the Prussians, as so much written about them is in a negative light due to their ties to the two world wars. The book is a saga about the Prussian people, highlighting their rise during the era of the Teutonic knights, and continuing on through the height of their glory in the age of Bismarck.

Can you share the most interesting story that you shared in your book?

As I mentioned earlier, the most interesting story was the tale of Arminius (Siegfried in my book), and how he led an underdog tribe of warriors to a shocking annihilation of three Roman legions in a dense forested valley, at a time when Rome reigned supreme in all the world. He did so with unequaled courage and cunning. He was truly a historical hero.

What is the main empowering lesson you want your readers to take away after finishing your book?

With regards to my Siegfried book, I’d like them to realize that Norse mythology is very exciting and entertaining. I’d especially like young readers to appreciate this.

Based on your experience, what are the “5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author”? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Write for your own enjoyment. Then for sure you will be a success. Again, writing for me is a hobby. I have a full time job outside of writing so I do not feel pressure to sell a lot of books for profit. I’ve truly enjoyed every book I’ve written, and I’d do it all again.
  2. Be patient. Some days the ideas flow and some days they don’t.
  3. Every time an idea for enhancing your book pops into your head, write it down. I email myself ideas all the time as soon as I think of them. That way I won’t forget them during a busy day.
  4. Have a marketing scheme in mind from the very start. Know your target audience. Prepare for marketing early on. Make it part of the writing experience.
  5. Read genres similar to the one you are writing for ideas and inspiration.

What is the one habit you believe contributed the most to you becoming a great writer? (i.e. perseverance, discipline, play, craft study) Can you share a story or example?

It’s definitely perseverance. Writing is a long process, and there are good days and bad. It’s a marathon, not a sprint. Enjoy the process, or it won’t be worth it.

Which literature do you draw inspiration from? Why?

I love history, especially European history, and I love mythology. I’ve been drawn to these topics ever since I was about 8 years old.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Other than my immediate family, I actually feel like I have very little influence, and that’s OK by me. That being said, if I could change one thing, I’d push for more honesty in the media. I don’t know who to trust these days.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

I’m a very private person so I do not participate in social media. It’s just not my thing. Again, this makes marketing more difficult, but I’m fine with that.

Thank you so much for this. This was very inspiring!

--

--