Jude Okwudiafor Johnson: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Content Creator

An Interview With Susan Johnston

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
8 min readApr 23, 2023

--

As a filmmaker with an accounting background, I wear multiple hats as a producer working on budgets, agreements, and as a creative, writing the story and directing. What I enjoy the most is seeing the finished product, people’s reaction to some of the dialogue or character portrayal. The greatest reward is when someone says your movie changed my life or impacted me; I used to be ……….., but after watching your movie I was touched, or I was encouraged or I was blessed — money cannot buy that.

As a part of our series called “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Filmmaker”, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Jude Okwudiafor Johnson.

Jude Okwudiafor Johnson is a CPA turned filmmaker. His first feature film “Freshman Year” has won several awards in film festivals across the country. He just completed “Senior Year: Love Never Fails”, a sequel to “Freshman Year”.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up?

I was born in Nigeria, number 10 out of 11 children. I grew up under a loving and strict Christian environment. During my high school years, I discovered I had a gift of “seeing”, writing and acting. I put these gits to use by participating in high school plays. While my peers played sports, I was involved in regional and national drama competitions. I immigrated to the United States in 1987 for studies; and graduated from San Jose State University with a BS degree in Business and also earned an MBA from Colorado Christian University.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

As an accountant that became a filmmaker, I would say my life has changed in a significant way. What led to my first film about 5 years ago, was the dream I had. I saw bits and pieces of the movie in my dream. I woke up around 2am (I always keep my phone by my bed) and started typing the story I “saw”, so I don’t forget. It took me about another year to “unpack” this dream, write the story, hire film professionals (co screenplay writer, producer, director of photography and casting director), put out a casting call and create the movie I “saw” in my dream. I had to quit my job and take a leap of faith to make “Freshman Year”. It was challenging, scary, and rewarding. Making my first film was similar to taking an executive MBA in filmmaking.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your content creator career?

When we were filming “Senior Year: Love Never Fails”, the first day of shoot we were kicked out of our location. It was an apartment that the tenants complained about the trucks in the complex, the number of people and the noise from our crew. When I got the call from a family friend who let us use her apartment that we must evacuate the premises, it felt like someone punched me in the stomach and sucked the life out of me. I didn’t know what to do. All these thoughts going through my head. We were scheduled to shoot there for 2 days. What do I tell my crew, how do I cover the sunk costs of paying cast and crew for two days and nothing to show for it? I asked my 1st AD to gather the crew and cast, to break the news to them. After that, I went to a quiet place to pray; I reasoned that God cannot let me down, not on the first day. I have always believed that when one door closes, another opens. As I was praying, a thought came to me, to ask my brother who owned a townhouse about 20 mins away. I called him, he said yes!! Using his house was a better option than the apartment. This incident built my faith and trust in God even more — that He will never leave me, forsake me or put me to shame.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

No stories to share at this time.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

As a Christian, I believe that Jesus was behind the scene orchestrating my decisions, the steps I take and my communications. One of the key people He used to help me on my first feature, was my Director of Photography, Aaron Leong. I didn’t have any formal training or any experience in directing or filmmaking. I took a break from my accounting career, watched a lot of YouTube videos on how to direct and make a film. Aaron who has done multiple films was like a co-director who whispered suggestions in my ears. He was super helpful and helped guide me on my first feature. He created the shot list, helped with some of my blocking choices, coached me about set etiquette, taught me some film lingo, and determined the best camera angles.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13). This bible verse is an inspiration, especially in trying times. It gives me confidence that no matter the odds, with God on my side, I can do all things — I can make a successful feature film with no background or formal training in filmmaking.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

One of the projects I have in the pipeline, is a true story of Coach Floyd Andrews. He led his all black team to win the first championship in the first integrated tournament in Florida in 1968. I had the honor of meeting him via Zoom about 9 months before he passed away. I believe his story will inspire a lot of young folks, especially people of color. I love how the story brought about racial harmony in the segregated south and how his faith in God played a major role in his life.

Which aspect of your work makes you most proud? Can you explain or give a story?

As a filmmaker with an accounting background, I wear multiple hats as a producer working on budgets, agreements, and as a creative, writing the story and directing. What I enjoy the most is seeing the finished product, people’s reaction to some of the dialogue or character portrayal. The greatest reward is when someone says your movie changed my life or impacted me; I used to be ……….., but after watching your movie I was touched, or I was encouraged or I was blessed — money cannot buy that.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

To be honest, I can’t think of any right now. I watched a lot of YouTube videos, talked to others in the industry before shooting my first feature. I also surrounded myself with film professionals; it was like having a fail-safe environment. Did issues come up, yes, but you can’t prepare in advance for the unexpected — you deal with it as it comes.

When you create a film, which stakeholders have the greatest impact on the artistic and cinematic choices you make? Is it the viewers, the critics, the financiers, or your own personal artistic vision? Can you share a story with us or give an example about what you mean?

The greatest impact of the choices I make is my personal artistic vision and then the viewers. Every script I write has a message; I always gauge how to share that message with my viewers. I have been fortunate that most of my productions I am the main financier; so, I don’t have to worry so much about others superimposing their vision on my projects. The critics are at the lower spectrum of impacting my films; however, I do think about what the faith based critics would say. At the end of it all, I let my personal conviction drive the outcome of each production.

You are a person of great influence. If you could spread an idea that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can prompt. :-)

As a Christian, I share the message of the Gospel and of the Kingdom of God. Life here on earth will end one day. We all have to think about what happens to us when we die. To ensure we have eternal life, a ticket to heaven after we die, we should put our trust, our faith, our hope in Jesus. He is our ticket to eternal life (John 3:16). Another major idea is to do what you believe in; we have all been placed on this planet to serve a purpose. Find your calling, find your purpose and execute them. You are unique, there is only one you — unleash and fulfill your calling.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? They might see this. :-)

Tyler Perry or Devon Franklin — they are my virtual mentors. I am impressed with their accomplishments. I would like to know the role of faith in their professional lives.

How can our readers further follow you online?

https://instagram.com/judeojohnson?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

If you would like us to tag you on social media when we share it, please list your profiles:

https://instagram.com/judeojohnson?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y= https://facebook.com/jude.johnson.33

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

About The Interviewer: Susan Johnston is a Media Futurist, Columnist as well as Founder and Director at New Media Film Festival®. The New Media Film Festival® — honoring stories worth telling since 2009, is an Award-winning, inclusive, and boundary-pushing catalyst for storytelling and technology. Susan was knighted in Rome in 2017 for her work in Arts & Humanity.

--

--