Karen Hittelman of KHcopywriting: Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Launched My Business or Startup

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine
Published in
15 min readFeb 19, 2023

--

Busy isn’t better. Focus intensely on the things that will move the needle most in your business. But also take time to relax and recharge. Working nonstop is depleting. When you give yourself time to rest and recharge, you will do much better work, in far less time. Because you’ll be fully present and focused. Plus, it’s often the times that you step away from your business that you unexpectedly find answers to your biggest challenges or come up with your best ideas. Because when you step away and stop obsessing over your work, you give your subconscious mind the space to breathe and let new ideas in.

As a part of our series about “Why We Need More Women Founders”, we had the pleasure of interviewing Karen Hittelman.

Karen Hittelman is the owner of KHcopywriting, a full-service copywriting studio that specializes in business-to-business technology marketing. Founded in 2004, KHcopywriting serves a diverse client roster, ranging from innovative tech startups to multinational computer software corporations. A single mom and serial entrepreneur, Karen recently launched a blog, Grab Your Happy, where she aims to help other women find success, freedom, and fulfillment on their own terms.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

Yes of course — thank you for inviting me for this interview!

My career path has been very non-traditional. I zig-zagged all over the place. I’ve never had a conventional office job, much less worked my way up a corporate ladder. I wouldn’t go so far as to say I always knew I wanted to start my own business. It’s more that the thought of working in an office every day from 9 to 5 didn’t sit well with me.

I graduated from UC Berkeley with a degree in Mass Communications, thinking I wanted to be a journalist. Right out of college, I was hired as a “news associate” at KNX, a news radio station in Los Angeles. It was a very entry-level job: I’d record the reporters’ news stories when they called them in, edit out the ums and ers, and then run the tapes into the studio. But I only lasted about a year, maybe less, before I decided I didn’t want to be a journalist after all.

Right after the radio gig, I got bit by the acting bug and floundered around with that for a while. Fun fact: I still pay my SAG (Screen Actors Guild) dues every year, just to keep the door open to a potential late-career move as a geriatric commercials actress. You never know!

Next up in my path? A slew of short-lived entrepreneurial ventures. I won’t run through the ups and downs of all of them, but I’ll tell you about the one just previous to starting KHcopywriting. Back in 2002, I started a home meal delivery service with a friend. This was long before meal delivery services became a trend. I think Hello Fresh and Blue Apron both launched around 2010-ish. But as soon as we started to see a bit of success, and the business got more complicated, we shut down. We didn’t have the fortitude or passion to do what was needed to scale it up to the next level. So we ended up selling the business. For a pittance, by the way.

At that point, I didn’t have much savings to hold me over, and I needed to figure out my next step fast. I was a single mom of a toddler, and I wanted to be able to work from home and have a flexible schedule.

That’s when I decided to start a copywriting business. I’d done some creative writing, and I’d created a handful of marketing brochures and press releases for my previous business ventures. But other than that, I didn’t have any corporate copywriting experience to speak of. To those around me, I’m sure it seemed like a stupid move. But I felt good about the decision. I was scared, but I was determined to make it work.

Can you tell us a story about the hard times that you faced when you first started your journey? Where did you get the drive to continue even though things were so hard?

The truth is, most businesses don’t make it. It can feel depleting to put your blood, sweat, and tears into building a business — and then make the decision to let it go. Which I did several times prior to starting KHcopywriting.

I think the big difference between my copywriting business and my previous attempts at entrepreneurship comes down to persistence and mindset. Adopting a problem-solver mindset. Believing in myself and knowing I have the capacity to figure out whatever steps I need to take to keep going — and to keep growing.

Like everyone, I get discouraged now and then. But I don’t let setbacks overwhelm me. Instead, I’ve learned to think of challenges as welcome opportunities for growth. Or “success accelerators,” as I like to say. Because every time I come up against a challenge — and then put in the work to figure out how to move forward — I come out stronger on the other side. With more knowledge, more resilience, and more confidence in my own potential.

So, how are things going today? How did grit and resilience lead to your eventual success?

Things are going well. As a matter of fact, KHcopywriting is turning the big 2–0 next year!

Over the past two decades, I’ve had the chance to meet and work with amazingly talented people across a wide swath of tech companies — from Fortune 100s to ambitious startups, across the U.S., Canada, Europe, and Asia. So that’s one thing that feels like a success.

Another thing that feels like success to me is the fact that I’ve managed to create some semblance of balance in my life. Unlike many entrepreneurs, I’m not a type-A, go-go-go person. And I’m not a fan of the hustle culture. The business I’ve built allows me the freedom and flexibility to do other things that make me happy. Including things as simple as laying on the couch and reading a book or watching a movie. I’m not working around the clock or losing my hair from overwhelm and stress. That’s something I’m proud of.

To the second part of your question: How did grit and resilience lead to my eventual success? Hmm. ‘Grit and resilience’ sounds a bit combative. I don’t feel as if I’ve fought or scraped my way to where I am. Instead, I attribute the longevity of my business to my willingness to take risks and do what’s needed to keep moving forward. I have a motto for myself, which is: Be fearless, not reckless. It allows the dreamer in me — and the realist in me — to both get what they want. I’m always working on new ways to do more with my business and my life.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Depends on what you mean by funny. Funny as in ‘comedy is tragedy in the rearview mirror’? Okay, here’s one that comes to mind.

Back in 2006 or 2007, I had a client who wanted all copywriting drafts to be written and submitted via Google Docs (instead of sending over a Word document, as I’d always done up to that point). As I tell you this story, please keep in mind that this was right around the time when Google Docs first came out. It was brand new, and I’d never used it before.

As you may know, one of the things people love about Google Docs is that you can collaborate in real time. But I didn’t quite grasp that concept right off the bat. I didn’t realize that when I was working on a document, people could pop in and see what I was doing. I thought I could work through it privately, and then share it with my clients when I was ready.

On this particular project, there were a LOT of cooks in the kitchen. After I submitted my first draft, probably five or six people within the company swarmed the Google Doc and commented with their feedback. As I was reading through the tsunami of comments, I was making notes to myself about which feedback made sense; which things I wanted to discuss; and which comments I thought were complete crap-o. The shorthand notes to myself for each category were: 1) Good 2) Get more info, and 3) POOF!

POOF! was a little joke to myself meaning, “Make this disappear!”

As I was going through the document making these notes to myself, I saw some text appearing below one of my “POOF!” comments. In that instant, the whole collaborate-in-real-time thing clicked for me. I was MORTIFIED.

It was the company’s marketing director who was in the document, and he wrote, “POOF? Please clarify.”

I quickly typed out an explanation about thinking the notes were for my eyes only. And I sheepishly explained what ‘POOF!’ meant. Thankfully, he thought it was hilarious. The next day, we had a phone call to talk through all the comments. And I was able to explain why I disagreed with some of the feedback.

A couple months later, I was working on another project with the same marketing director, and when feedback was ready for me to review, he sent me an email that said: “Feedback is ready — feel free to POOF all over it. That’s what we’re paying you for.”

It was a comically embarrassing event. But it was also a good lesson and reminder to myself that I offer the most value when I act as a partner to my clients, rather than an order-taker. My job is to help my clients reach their marketing goals. Even if that means pushing back a bit when I disagree on the approach. (The other lesson, of course, is not to write anything in a Google Doc that you don’t want anyone to see.)

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

Companies looking to bring in outside marketing and writing help have a wealth of options — from freelancers to small studios to national and even global marketing agencies. And there’s no shortage of very talented copywriters out there. In such a flooded market, standing out requires a lot more than good writing skills.

I’ll never forget a conversation I had with a client a few years ago. She told me what she loved most about working with me was that I made her life easier — and made her look good to her boss. That stuck with me, and I think it points to something that sets me apart. I fill the gap between big agencies and freelancers. I run a professional and dependable business at the level of a big agency, while still being able to pay attention to the small details and personal interactions with each client.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Here are some things I’d suggest:

  • Keep learning and growing. Don’t let fear of failure, or fear of the unknown, hold you back. The more you expand and push yourself in new directions, the less susceptible you’ll be to burnout.
  • Acknowledge your progress. Take the time to appreciate and celebrate your accomplishments, no matter how big or small. One way to track your achievements is simply to keep a progress journal. Write down even the small things you’re proud of, along with any challenges you faced and how you overcame them. You’ll start to see patterns that can help you improve your strategies moving forward. You’ll also gain perspective on how far you’ve come and what you’re capable of. That’s a great motivator!
  • Prioritize balance. When you’re building and running a business, your work can become all-consuming. But it’s crucial to give yourself time to refresh and recharge. Make time for things that bring you joy, whether it’s taking a vacation, spending time with family, or just sitting on a park bench for 20 minutes. Without balance, you’re sure to burn out.
  • Be your true self. Trying to be someone you’re not is exhausting and unfulfilling. And when you’re exhausted and unfulfilled, you’ll eventually lose the motivation to persevere. Authenticity is imperative to avoid burnout.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

So many people. Ed Gandia, my first business coach, is one who comes to mind. And not just Ed, but also my fellow copywriters who participated in his Elevate group coaching program.

Many years ago, one of my closest friends said, “You’re just not a joiner, Karen.” She said it in a non-judgmental, matter-of-fact way. And it was 100% true! I didn’t join a sorority in college. I didn’t join “mommy groups” when my daughter was little. And I certainly didn’t join any business networking groups during my previous entrepreneurial ventures.

So when I made the unlike-me decision to join a group coaching program, I wasn’t sure what I was getting into. My expectations were low. In fact, if it weren’t for the option to drop out within a certain amount of time, I would never have signed up.

Ed’s coaching helped me improve my business in so many ways, including dramatically increasing my revenue. But the most transformative outcome for me was experiencing the power of a support network. I don’t think I could have made it twenty years in business if I’d never broken out of my non-joiner mode. That experience opened the floodgates for me. Now, I seek out guidance, mentors, coaches, and like-minded entrepreneurs like they’re going out of style.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I like that you use the word ‘goodness.’ I recently launched a passion project — a blog called Grab Your Happy. The goal is to help empower other women to achieve their entrepreneurial dreams and live happier lives. Men are welcome too, of course. But the impetus for starting Grab Your Happy was meeting too many smart, talented, and driven women who feel stuck in jobs or lives they don’t enjoy. Or who have taken the leap to strike out on their own, but are now working long hours, not making much money, and teetering on the edge of giving up.

My intent with this new project is to help people break through the intangible barriers that are holding them back. Grab Your Happy isn’t a place where I’ll teach business tactics, though. While I could share some business processes that have worked for me, there’s no one-size-fits-all approach. And there are plenty of business coaches, digital courses, and other resources for getting that type of tangible business help.

I’m just getting started with Grab Your Happy, and I’m sure it will evolve. But right now, my focus is to help people build the mental strength and confidence they need to make more money, find freedom, and be happy. I’m sharing practical mindset tips and self-empowerment strategies that have worked for me. It’s a drop in the bucket. But it’s what I know, and where I feel I can bring a bit of “goodness to the world”, to use your words.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first launched my business” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1. Stay ahead of the zeitgeist! The business world is constantly evolving, and it’s important to evolve along with it. To avoid stagnation in your business, keep yourself informed about emerging technologies, industry trends — and the general intellectual, moral, and cultural climate. As you work toward your big, pie-in-the-sky goals, think about what you can do to get there faster. And adjust your strategy as needed. What new skills do you want to develop? How can you improve your processes? Is it time to expand your offerings? Keep your antenna up to anticipate and stay ahead of the zeitgeist.

2. Iteration trumps hesitation: Launching a business can be stressful and all-consuming. There’s so much you want to do. So many goals you want to reach. But success takes time, and it’s important to remember that you can’t do everything, all the time, all at once. What you CAN do is take that first step. Small, consistent actions will get you where you want to be. But here’s the catch! You actually have to take those actions! Don’t get stuck in the weeds of planning, weighing every little pro and con and risk and potential reward. Planning is good. Too much planning is paralyzing. Make your plan and jump in. You’ll make mistakes, but who cares? Trying and failing is a necessary part of the learning process. Iterating, adjusting, and improving on your past efforts is far more effective than hesitating and waiting until your plan is perfect. Spoiler alert: your plan will never be perfect. When you focus on continuous improvement, you’ll stop thinking of mistakes and missteps as failures, and start thinking of them as “success accelerators.”

3. Busy isn’t better. Focus intensely on the things that will move the needle most in your business. But also take time to relax and recharge. Working nonstop is depleting. When you give yourself time to rest and recharge, you will do much better work, in far less time. Because you’ll be fully present and focused. Plus, it’s often the times that you step away from your business that you unexpectedly find answers to your biggest challenges or come up with your best ideas. Because when you step away and stop obsessing over your work, you give your subconscious mind the space to breathe and let new ideas in.

4. Build a solid support system: Starting a business can be a daunting task, but you don’t have to figure everything out on your own. Seek out mentors. Join forums or groups of people doing what you’re doing. Find people to check in with and hold you accountable to your goals. Ask for advice. Help solve problems for each other. Bounce around ideas. Give referrals and share resources. Understand how others are doing things differently from you. Share insights about what’s working well and what’s not. I can’t emphasize enough how important a strong network is. This is something I regret not doing much earlier in my journey.

5. Claim your value. To succeed as an entrepreneur, you need to recognize that you have something unique and valuable to offer. And you need to confidently communicate and claim your value. Unfortunately, women struggle with this more than men. There are plenty of studies from reputable sources — like the National Bureau of Economic Research, Forbes, and the Harvard Business Review — that highlight this gender gap in self-promotion. Turns out, men often overestimate their talents, while women don’t give themselves enough credit. For far too many years, I undervalued (and underpriced) my services. But here’s what happened once I gained the confidence to understand and claim my value: I attracted like-minded customers who I enjoyed working with a whole lot more. I built long-lasting business relationships based on mutual respect. And I increased my revenue substantially, without sacrificing the time-freedom and flexibility I’d worked so hard to create for myself.

Can you share a few ideas or stories from your experience about how to successfully ride the emotional highs & lows of being a founder”?

You hear a lot of talk about the importance of mindset in entrepreneurship, but not everyone agrees on what exactly that means. Lots of people talk about manifesting success or accepting abundance from the universe. But that’s not for me. I’m woo-woo averse.

I do, however, one hundred percent agree that mindset is critical to success!

Like every entrepreneur, I’ve experienced lots of emotional highs and lows over the years. What I’ve found is that how you think about yourself, your business, your life in general has a huge impact on your success. When things get tough, having a strong mindset will help you push through and come out even stronger. And when things are going well, having the right mindset will allow you to fully enjoy your victories.

To me, an entrepreneurial mindset is all about inner strength and authenticity. Believing in yourself and in your boundless capabilities. Being confident, curious, and comfortable in your own skin. A strong mindset is essential to entrepreneurial success. It’s the fuel that powers you to keep moving forward and to enjoy the bumpy ride.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Oh boy! That’s a weighty question. If I could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most people, I suppose it would be about promoting equal access to education. Globally, for everyone. Education is empowering. Literacy is empowering. A movement focused on providing equal access to education could help break cycles of poverty and allow for more social mobility. The lofty goal of this movement (because I’m all about going big with goal setting!) would be to help give everyone a better chance to reach their full potential, live more fulfilling lives, and make a positive impact on their communities. Aside from the smaller positive impacts, giving more people access to education could lead to revolutionary advances in healthcare, technology, and the progress of society as a whole.

That would be amazing, wouldn’t it? Also, I feel like I just answered a question in the Miss Universe pageant.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

Join me at my new blog, Grab Your Happy: www.grabyourhappy.com

Thank you so much for sharing these important insights. We wish you continued success and good health!

--

--

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine

Award-winning author, teacher, trainer, and now podcaster.