Karen Spens, President of BI Norwegian Business School: Five Things You Need To Be A Highly Effective Leader During Turbulent Times

Kate Mowbray
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readMar 8, 2023

We all have seen examples of businesses or organisations that have tried to withhold information to hide the real issue at stake. And I think we also have seen examples that the same businesses have been hurt by this. To give no or too little information can cause damage that may not be easy to fix afterwards. A business or organisation is seldom judged for giving too much information during difficult times, but rather the opposite. Transparency is essential.

As part of our series about the “Five Things You Need To Be A Highly Effective Leader During Turbulent Times”, we had the pleasure of interviewing Karen Spens, President of BI Norwegian Business School, the first Norwegian business school to achieve accreditations from the three major accreditation bodies, achieved by fewer than 1% of business schools globally. Since taking up the role of President of BI Norwegian Business School in August 2022, Spens has made sure to directly engage with the BI community as openness and transparency are important qualities for her when it comes to leadership.

Our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your ‘backstory’ and how you got started?

I am a Finnish citizen and have lived in Finland most of my life, so moving to Norway has truly been an exciting experience for me. Before I started as President at BI, I was the Rector of Hanken School of Economics. I received my PhD from Hanken in 2001 and became professor of supply chain management and corporate geography in 2007.

One could say that academia is in my blood. In fact, I wrote my PhD about blood supply chain management. My father, who was a medical doctor, got me interested in working with health care logistics. So having worked with the Finnish Red Cross Blood Transfusion Services, I wanted to explore how to improve blood supply chain management so that there would be minimal waste of the scarce and precious resource of blood. When I chose the theme for my PhD I wanted it to make a difference. I love research, particularly research that can have a meaningful impact on people, business and society. I see research as key to solving some of the most pressing challenges we see today. That is also why I started working with humanitarian logistics later on in my career, which during the pandemic proved to be one of the fields in logistics truly needed. For example, looking at vaccine supply chains and how to improve those.

Can you share with our readers a story from your own experience about how you lead your team during uncertain or difficult times?

I always want to get as much information as possible and acknowledge that there are many solutions to any problem or issue. The pandemic is a prime example of something that altered how I had to practice leadership overnight. I was used to being seen and heard in the corridors, both by students and faculty. Suddenly you had to be visible in other ways and show that you are on top of things, and be confident that you can manage to navigate in completely unknown waters. Now, during increased global insecurity, it is more important than ever to lead by example and set clear priorities for organisations.

Where did you get the motivation to continue through challenges you have faced? What sustains your drive?

What most motivates me as a leader is the desire to see students and colleagues succeed in fulfilling their dreams and making a positive impact. If you are persistent and don’t give up, most challenges have a solution and a positive side. Finding the right solutions can be difficult, and in many circumstances frustrating. Still, it’s all the more satisfying when you do find the way through a particularly challenging set of circumstances. In the process of looking for answers, you often come across knowledge and insight you otherwise would have missed. I also think that you should be able to admit, and maybe even reconsider, when you have decided on something that turns out was maybe not the best solution. So, learning from your own mistakes, and admitting to them, is not a weakness in my view, but a strength that can change the experience to being rewarding and motivating.

BI Norwegian Business School

What 3 words describe your approach to leadership and why?

My mantra has always been listen, learn, lead. If you want to lead an organisation, you first have to understand it and the challenges people at different levels face. Then you have to set clear priorities and make decisions that help your colleagues solve their challenges, with your help and support, to make the organisation run as effectively as possible.

What would you say is the most critical role of a leader during challenging times?

In difficult or turbulent times, I believe that it is important to share reflections and describe issues that may be difficult to address. We have to dare to be open and honest that times ahead may be difficult but that there is a way through. It is also my job to set clear priorities and make decisions, but I also believe in setting a positive tone to get the organisation through the tough times. I do think that you have to see some light in the tunnel, otherwise you will not be able to motivate nor retain the great people that you have working for you.

What is the best way to communicate difficult news to one’s team?

I believe in honesty and openness. Every leader should strive to communicate openly around difficult news. I think people have a willingness to understand complex issues as long as they are presented honest and truthful information about what’s at stake. And the sooner you do it, the better.

How can a leader make plans when the future is so unpredictable? What is the best way to boost morale?

It’s important to take precautions and to be prepared for the unexpected. There is a big difference between being aware of a situation and being prepared for it. Training, routines and clear division of responsibility often helps. I also believe in listening to weak signals, so keeping yourself informed in the best possible way and having “big ears” can be very valuable. As I believe in the power of positivity, the best way to boost morale is to remind people that even crises have positive sides and opportunities.

Is there a “number one principle” that can help guide an organization or institution through the ups and downs of turbulent times?

Listen, learn, lead. I believe this principle of leadership actually works very well through both turbulent and normal times.

Can you share 3 or 4 of the most common mistakes you have seen other businesses make during difficult times? What should one keep in mind to avoid that?

I think we all have seen examples of businesses or organisations that have tried to withhold information to hide the real issue at stake. And I think we also have seen examples that the same businesses have been hurt by this. To give no or too little information can cause damage that may not be easy to fix afterwards. A business or organisation is seldom judged for giving too much information during difficult times, but rather the opposite. Transparency is essential.

Another example is businesses that have not been prepared for unexpected events. It’s difficult to be prepared for the unexpected, nevertheless it is crucial that organisations map the environment in which they operate and assess and prepare for possible events that may impact them or their stakeholders. When a crisis occurs it’s easy to see if the business that is hit is prepared or not. In humanitarian logistics, my field of research, there is a saying that preparedness is costly, but the payback is manyfold when a crisis hits.

Based on your experience and success, what are the five most important things a leader should do to lead effectively during uncertain and turbulent times?

· Learn from colleagues and listen to their advice.

· Lead by example and be positive.

· Be open to different opinions and solutions.

· Be ready to make clear priorities and decisions, communicate and be transparent.

· Be as prepared as possible for the unexpected and train for it.

Can you give us your favourite “Life Lesson Quote”? How has that been relevant to you in your life?

“Anything you want to do; you can do it” — My father, Boris.

This has been a beacon for me and my children as my father always reminded us to aim high and be confident that you can do it. I think this is great advice for both leaders as well as anyone, to believe in yourself and dare to take on challenges.

What are your hopes for the future of BI Norwegian Business School?

As one of the largest business schools in Europe, I do think that we have a great impact both in Norway as well as internationally. I would also like for BI to be recognised as a top business school in Europe when it comes to the societal impact of our research, education and close connection with business and society. I also want us to be an arena for dialogue and honest critical debate around difficult issues we all face, including climate change, economic uncertainty, and the global energy transition.

How can our readers further follow your work?

As a leader it’s important to share my experience and communicate with colleagues, students, alumni, the business community and other stakeholders about where we’re headed and the priorities we make.

You can connect with me on Instagram (@karenspens), LinkedIn and Twitter (@spenskaren). I also recommend that you follow BI Norwegian Business School on the same channels for valuable insight every week.

And last but not least, if you want to read up on the work done in humanitarian logistics, you can find one of the latest articles (Altay, N. et al 2023) called “Innovation in humanitarian logistics and supply chain management: a systematic review” published in Annals of Operations Research.

--

--