Kate Friedman of Zazu: Why It’s Okay To Be Sensitive

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readJul 6, 2020

--

It’s okay to be sensitive. Sensitivity is often seen as a weakness, but in my experience, my sensitivity gave me the ambition I needed to start my company. (After unsuccessfully trying to start charity initiatives at some of my previous jobs, I decided to start my own company where giving back is and will always be a core value.)

For my series on strong female leaders, I had the pleasure of interviewing Kate Friedman.

Growing up in California, Kate Friedman dreamed of moving to New York City and working at a fashion magazine. After graduating from The George Washington University she started a job at Condé Nast, where she worked as a Digital Editor at Glamour Magazine. After almost three years at Glamour, Kate left to get a taste of Brand Marketing, managing Social, Content, and PR at 3x1 and then What Goes Around Comes Around. As COVID-19 put more and more businesses in financial distress, Kate soon found herself without a job. Kate’s passion to give back and help others is what led her to co-found Zazu — a platform designed to help fitness instructors and others who’ve also been impacted by the pandemic.

--

--

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine

I am an entrepreneur, publicist, journalist and event producer based in Sunny Florida. My passion is writing & giving back to others.