Katie Day Good of Miami University: 5 Ways To Create a Healthy Relationship With Screens and Technology

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readJun 7, 2021

--

Practice mindful use of technology. Routinely ask, is this what I want to be doing? Is it helping me do the things I want to do, or am I doing it because it’s easy and available? Am I reaching for this device to feel a certain way, and is there something else I’d prefer to do instead?

As a part of my series about 5 Ways To Create a Healthy Relationship With Screens and Technology, I had the pleasure of interviewing Katie Day Good.

Katie Day Good’s research focuses on the roles that emerging technologies play in education, civic engagement, and everyday life. Her interests include the history of educational technology, global media and information, and the interplay between digital and material culture.

She is the author of Bring the World to the Child: Technologies of Global Citizenship in American Education (MIT Press, 2020). A critical history of educational technology, the book examines the rise of global and mediated learning in the United States, focusing on how new media came to be associated with global citizenship education in

--

--