Kim Wilson On The 5 Things You Need To Be A Highly Effective Public Speaker

An Interview With Fotis Georgiadis

Fotis Georgiadis
Authority Magazine
9 min readOct 5, 2022

--

Always remember I am there for them not me. I need to deliver my message efficiently enough to get them to move and to walk into their purpose.

At some point in our lives, many of us will have to give a talk to a large group of people. What does it take to be a highly effective public speaker? How can you improve your public speaking skills? How can you overcome a fear of speaking in public? What does it take to give a very interesting and engaging public talk? In this interview series called “5 Things You Need To Be A Highly Effective Public Speaker” we are talking to successful and effective public speakers to share insights and stories from their experience. As a part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Kim Wilson.

Kim Wilson, Nurse, Business Owner of a Multi Six Figure Healthcare agency and International Speaker and Self Improvement Expert. Have traveled from the US to Canada speaking into women lives just like you. She helped hundreds of people of all walks of life just like you achieve their goals, overcome their struggles, and take control of their lives.

The pail experience was her life for years. At first, it was just a little bit of discomfort. Then it grew into something much bigger — a full-blown nightmare that turned me into something She did not recognize anymore: someone who from time to time struggled with her own personal power and purpose.

She had no idea what was wrong until one day when she realized that she wasn’t living my life; my pain was living me. And then one day — after years of suffering and feeling like there was no way out — She started doing things differently. She made some changes to my mindset, committed myself to taking action every single day, and worked really hard on myself until She finally broke out of my own pain cycle and found my purpose in the magic of self-improvement.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in a small town called Hopkins, SC. Raised by my grandmother in a small 3-bedroom home where several family members lived. I used the bathroom on a bucket until I was about 17 years old. I would carry the bucket outside and empty it at a field that was near our home. There was no heat, air, or plumbing (no running water). At around age 10 I started having really bad stomach pains at the time I did not realize the pain was coming from depression and anxiety. Being a child and not understanding what was going on around me led into what I now call the pail experience. The pail experience is a state of being in a psychological place a place of pain, disconnect and loneliness. A place where I didn’t feel whole. I felt like something was missing. I didn’t feel fulfilled.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

As a child I somehow I knew I was meant to take care of people. I felt a great love for everyone. After graduating high school, I started taking classes in the medical field. At the time the college I was trying to attend had a waiting list for the nursing program. So, I took classes that related to the medical field. After becoming a nurse, it felt great. But I started to feel like I was meant to impact the world on a higher level. I wasn’t sure how. I prayed and asked God to show me. He showed me signs and one of my cousins out of the blue one day stated you have a story to tell. From that day forward I started getting coaching lessons. I realized during the coaching that it felt good, it felt like home.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career

My family would call me after each face book live. They gave advice on how to capture the audience more. Even though they weren’t trained to do so. But it made me feel supported. I had no idea that some of my family supported me at that level. To take the time out of their day to call to give advice from an audience’s point of view. I really appreciated them for that it made me look deeper. I felt the love.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

During my coaching sessions my coach would teach a land, touch, plant and engage process. This process would help me to capture my audience and to meet them where they were. I remember after studying I thought I had it figured out. So, one day during a session she stated are you ready to show me the land, touch, plant, and engaged process. I was so… excited. I told myself oh… this is easy boosting my own ego. I Started reciting my story to her and she stated oh… No Kim stop right there. No, NO, NO, NO, NO. (laugh) You do not have it. So let coach show you how to once again. It was so funny you had to be there to hear her tone and me sitting in the meeting looking like What?? I was shot down quick, but it taught to always be sure. I thought I was about to blow it out of the ball field. I learned to be sure before saying I got this it’s ok to say let’s go over it again.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Yes, my daughter. She has been by my side helping me from day one. Through all my endeavors. She’s very creative and tech smart. She did what I couldn’t do to make things easy for me. Creating logos, business cards, whatever I needed she was there through long days and nights putting just as much work in as me to help me be at my 100. She allowed me to train her how to do home health so that she could do fill in work when workers didn’t show up for work. She pretended to be my patient through nursing clinicals. What a partner. She can run the health care business with her eyes closed.

You have been blessed with great success in a career path that can be challenging and intimidating. Do you until have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

To stay focused, take classes, attend seminars. Anything that relates to where they are trying to go. Be prepared to be alone on their journey. Alone is good it allows us to be our best. Never worry about what someone else thinks or say. Their path is not yours. Stay in a group of like-minded people. Never take no for an answer. If it’s been done before it can be done again. If not, they can always be the first to do something. I have this quote I love to use when it comes to fear that helped me a lot. (The fear that stands beside me guides me and the fear that tries to hold me molds me.) Fear is a guide to be your best you and to help into your purpose.

What drives you to get up every day and give your talks? What is the main empowering message that you aim to share with the world?

My love and compassion for others. Wanting to see them succeed and to be the best version of themselves. Being grateful to God for choosing me to help others to self-improve. My message would be, to be your true authentic self. Not what society says we should be, just be yourself. We all are uniquely made. To understand that means the sky is the limit.

You have such impressive work. What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? Where do you see yourself heading from here?

I’m currently finishing up my e-book. Which has a great 4 step process called A.C.T.S. that I created. That helps us to self- improve. Some magazine interviews and I’ll be a part of a conference in Atlanta in November of this year. Everything is timing so, I’m waiting on the day to be able to travel globally to make a mega impact in the world.

Can you please give us your favorite quote or Life Lesson quote? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

It is what it is… Allow to day to be today and tomorrow, tomorrow. Allow the process. I remind myself all the time about being patient because it’s human nature to want everything in a hurry.

Ok, thank you for all that. Here is the main question of our interview. What are your 5 Things You Need to Be A Highly Effective Public Speaker? Please share a story or example for each.

1. Confidence: to be confident in delivery of whatever it is I’m doing. I know what you know.

2. Passion: always remind myself of why I’m doing what I’m doing. Why I love what I do and let that love be shown through my work. This is what I do.

3. Ability to share a story. I Share my experiences that led me to where I wanted to be. Stories help people retain information so I get them to relate to something that might be going on in their life.

4. Audience awareness: I like to know who my audience is and what they do these things help me better connect with them and present to them. This is way I get them to respond to me.

5. Always remember I am there for them not me. I need to deliver my message efficiently enough to get them to move and to walk into their purpose.

As you know, many people are terrified of speaking in public. Can you give some of your advice about how to overcome this fear?

I usually try to look at fear as a friend. The friend that pushes you into situations that feels uncomfortable but it for my best interest. Try to look at fear as your motivator to be the best you. Besides who really wants to leave earth and not feel as if they didn’t live their life because of what people thought or how they felt. We have to pay attention to our own thoughts and feelings of not being happy with where we are. Make yourself happy by all means necessary.

You are a person of huge influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

Unity: we are all one.

Is there a person in the world whom you would love to have lunch with, and why? Maybe we can tag them and see what happens!

Sarah Jakes Roberts I love how she tells her story. One is about when she had her first child how she felt uncomfortable about going to church because this one lady kept looking at her. How she felt she was being judged because of it. I too carried a lot of shame and embarrassment for things in my life. Thinking one way about a situation and it turned out to be totally different. I love her strength through all things. Seeing where she is and how confident she is helps me to grow stronger in who I am every day.

Are you on social media? How can our readers follow you online?

Facebook: StepN2 Purpose

Instagram: StepN2Purpose

Website: www.thekimwilson.com

Publicist: Desirae L. Benson | DesiraeBBB@gmail.com

This was so informative, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Fotis Georgiadis
Authority Magazine

Passionate about bringing emerging technologies to the market