Laura Chappetto Flynn of Element Design Network: 5 Things You Can Do To Help Your Living Space Spark More Joy

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readSep 17, 2023

--

TREAT YOURSELF TO SOMETHING NEW

Sometimes we don’t buy things for ourselves because we are stuck in the rut of working, paying the bills, and being okay with our homes as they are. Putting yourself on a little mission to find something new for your home can be such a fun and rewarding activity. Find an area that needs a little sprucing up like a bookshelf and make it a fun challenge to find 10 second-hand items to style the shelves, or finally get rid of that old chair that looks as beat up as you feel after a long week and put yourself on a mission to get the perfect chair for that space. Set yourself a budget, search out new places to hunt for your items, and have fun!

As part of our series on the “5 Things You Can Do To Help Your Living Space Spark More Joy”, we had the pleasure of interviewing Laura Chappetto Flynn.

Principal Designer Laura Chappetto Flynn’s lifelong passion for design began during her childhood when she eagerly and regularly transformed her bedroom with the help of her grandfather. Today, that passion has blossomed into Element Design Network, where Laura and her team strive to create effortless and inspiring spaces that authentically reflect those that reside within them. Element Design Network is a full-service interior design firm based in the Chicagoland area founded with the mission of creating accessible luxury through thoughtfully curated design. With a commitment to personalized service, Laura tailors her approach to meet the unique needs of each client, ensuring that every project receives the same level of attention and care not only from herself but also from the dedication of EDN’s Design Concierge, Ryan.

Thank you so much for joining us in this series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn a bit more about you. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

Since my fifteen-year career was no longer aligning with my interests, I decided to take the leap and transform my greatest passion, interior design, into a full-time career. I had always worked on transforming my own spaces and those of family and friends. At the age of 35, I came to the realization that my passion for design could turn into an entirely different path for me. I am so glad I took a chance on myself.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started this career?

My first client was none other than myself. Thus, I got my house ready as quickly as possible in an effort to get it professionally photographed and posted to my new website. Turns out, that house was so popular that despite not even being on the market, and an agent asked if we would consider selling. Not only did that couple put an offer on the house that night, but they also bought almost all of my furniture, artwork, and decor!

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I found a gorgeous dining table for my client. It was a bit higher than their budget, but it was perfect and I really talked it up. The measurements somehow did not include the length between the legs of the table. I called the company, spoke with several people, and ended up getting an adamant answer of, “I don’t have the exact dimension but I can say it will absolutely seat 10.” We were only trying to seat 8 so I thought the table would be perfect. This was during the pandemic so furniture was taking FOREVER to arrive. Finally, the day came and the table arrived. It is quite beautiful but it barely seated 6! Never have I ever taken someone’s word for how many chairs a dining table will seat again.

This little mishap definitely fueled my control issues. At EDN, we check and double-check measurements and if the spec sheet is missing a key number, we call everyone and anyone until the item can be measured in person. Lesson learned for sure.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? How do you think that might help people?

We are photographing our largest project to date and it is so gratifying seeing it through the lens of the camera. I came on the project when my clients were mid-construction and really worked with them to turn the beautiful shell they had built into a personal forever home for their growing family. We are adding the finishing touches and it feels incredible to see this sweet family make memories in the home we designed together.

We are also finishing a very cool tasting room which we converted from a small basement storage room to an incredible secret adult hideaway for a weekday date night right in my clients’ basement. A cozy banquette and cocktail table create the perfect place to sit and have a drink. One wall showcases their love of wine while the opposite wall houses an impressive collection of whiskey. Now that is a use of space I can get behind.

Finding a design professional will help you to open your eyes to possibilities you may never have considered. Having someone who truly takes the time to get to know you and how you and your family live in your space is paramount. This enables your designer to create a space that is both aesthetically beautiful and functional for your family.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My former boss, Sam Segretto used to always say, “Life is a series of problems. How well you solve those problems determines your success.”

Once you look at problems simply as a challenge waiting for a solution, you stop looking at problems as obstacles and you start looking at them as tasks that can be completed.

I chose a career that is truly a series of problems. From the onset of a project I find out what is not working for my client and it is my job to find a solution to those pain points. Construction adds to that ever-growing list of issues… if you’ve done any amount of construction, you are familiar with this sentiment! It could be easy to get caught up and feel like the problems just keep coming, but instead, I see them as challenges that I can, and will solve. And then, when I do find the right solution and my client no longer has that pain point or the problem that came up in construction has been fixed, the feeling is oh so sweet.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I am immensely grateful to have the undeniable support of my parents. They have been integral in my confidence in changing my career. They give me a pep talk when I’m feeling that sneaky imposter syndrome rear its ugly head and they tell me when something I’m working on is falling a bit short. It is such a gift.

My best friend Ryan, who is really like a brother to me, is also my ultimate support system… so much so that he is now the Design Concierge of Element Design Network! It is a treasure to build a company with your favorite person.

Interior design can be a lonely career. Most of your work is completed solo, especially if you are just starting out. I found the first few years of my business to be this way. As my business grew, I found the need for more of a team approach. As most designers are, I am a self-proclaimed control freak, and adding someone else to my business seemed impossible. That is until I was discussing my need for growth with Ryan. He immediately said he would join EDN and we have never looked back. It is true that great things in business are never done alone. EDN’s growth since the addition of Ryan has been incredible and so much more fun.

Thank you for that. Here is the main question of our discussion. What are your “5 Things You Can Do To Help Your Living Space Spark More Joy” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

1. DECLUTTER

To me, this is the most underrated design tip. A dated room looks a thousand times better when it is neat and tidy, and a beautifully designed room looks a thousand times worse when it is a mess. So always start by decluttering your home and you’ll be surprised at how much better you feel about your space. The best news? This is a quick fix that costs no money at all!

2. LET THE SUNSHINE IN

Look at your windows and ask yourself if they’re letting in as much natural light as possible. Sunlight is shown to boost your mood, create a sense of spaciousness, regulate your body’s circadian rhythms, regulate sleep patterns, and even reduce stress. So take a look and see if you have heavy drapery taking up much of your window. If so, consider opting for sheers or even taking the drapery down completely if privacy isn’t an issue. Now that most of us find ourselves working from home more often, this seems like a simple way to prioritize our mental health and improve the look of our home at the same time.

3. PUT YOUR FAVORITE THINGS IN THE ROOMS YOU ARE IN THE MOST

Look around your house and see what items make you smile. Maybe it’s a photo of your family, a piece of artwork you bought on a vacation, a beautiful vase, or a plant you’ve watched grow. Whatever those items are, be sure to give them prime real estate in your home by having them prominently displayed in the rooms where you spend most of your time. You’ll be surprised how much looking at these items will bring joy to your day.

4. PAINT

Color plays an important role in our moods and emotions. By carefully considering the colors you use in your home, you can create a space that promotes relaxation, happiness, and positivity. A well-designed home can have a positive impact on your mental and physical well-being, making it a worthwhile investment. Even if you choose to stick to the same color palette, adding a quick coat of paint can give your home a fresh, new feel.

5. TREAT YOURSELF TO SOMETHING NEW

Sometimes we don’t buy things for ourselves because we are stuck in the rut of working, paying the bills, and being okay with our homes as they are. Putting yourself on a little mission to find something new for your home can be such a fun and rewarding activity. Find an area that needs a little sprucing up like a bookshelf and make it a fun challenge to find 10 second-hand items to style the shelves, or finally get rid of that old chair that looks as beat up as you feel after a long week and put yourself on a mission to get the perfect chair for that space. Set yourself a budget, search out new places to hunt for your items, and have fun!

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would absolutely love to create tiny homes for our veterans who are experiencing homelessness. These heroes have dedicated their lives to all of us and need to be taken care of in their time of need. That, and giving the VA hospitals a revamp… if you’ve ever visited one, you know what I’m talking about!

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this, especially if we tag them :-)

The one and only Martha! She is such an inspiration. From starting her career later in life to being the queen of everything home-related, Martha is a treasure. I even named my Land Rover Martie because she is gorgeous and a real badass workhorse! Call me, Martha… Lunch is on me!

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Our Website — www.elementdesignnetwork.com

Instagram — @elementdesignnetwork

Pinterest — @elementdesignnetwork

Thank you so much for joining us. This was very inspirational!

--

--