Leading with Heart: Jennifer Maxson On The Power of Authentic Women’s Leadership

An Interview With Karen Mangia

Karen Mangia
Authority Magazine
11 min readJul 7, 2024

--

Vulnerability — The only way to get vulnerability from your team is to show you’re willing to be vulnerable yourself. When we meet as a team, we go around the table and ask everyone what help they need, from everyone including me. This creates a safe environment to ask for help, and offer it when you can support a teammate.

The number one leadership initiative in any organization today is improved coaching. Coaching empowers employees, empowerment drives engagement, and engagement drives performance. At its core, coaching is about transformation. Leading distributed teams requires transforming how we coach and changing our play calls and playbooks to get things done. As a part of our interview series called “Moving From Command & Control to Coaching & Collaboration; How Leaders and Managers Can Become Better Coaches,” we had the pleasure to interview Jennifer Maxson.

Jennifer Maxson, an International Coaching Federation (ICF) Professional Certified Professional Coach, Certified Practitioner in Team Coaching, and a passionate leader dedicated to helping leaders at all levels achieve their best through my mantra, “Lead to the Max!®.”

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series. Before we dive into our discussion about authentic, feminine leadership, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share with us the backstory about what brought you to your specific career path?

I started my career with a degree in PR and worked in marketing, communications, and events after college. I then joined a leadership coaching firm in a marketing and communications role, which sparked my interest in the industry. Over time, I took on more responsibilities and began facilitating and coaching communication and leadership programs, as well as managing important client relationships.

The firm was acquired by a larger organization and I then spent 14 years leading our business unit. After 23 years of working for others, I decided to go out on my own to have more flexibility and a more direct impact on my clients. Owning my own organization has allowed me to focus my energy on coaching and tailoring our services to the unique needs of each client.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

The first program I ran on my own, early in my career, was titled Facilitating Effective Meetings. This was an internal program for one of our client’s program management teams in the automotive industry. It’s been a few years since then, but I still remember the immediate sense of fulfillment. I could see that I got through to the different participants and framed things for them in a new way.

Walking away from that experience knowing I had made a tangible impact, and having done it solo, was a big moment for me. I knew then what my direction would be. I wanted my work to make me feel like that all the time, and to make a difference for every person who was part of that work. It would still be a few years before I started my own business, but it set me on the path to developing the skills that I would need to do so.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

One of my favorite pieces of feedback that I’m proud to receive often, is that we change the trajectory of our client’s careers. They attribute that to our hands-on and personalized approach. It’s a great motivator for us to keep learning as much as we can about each client and all elements of their business. It’s a big piece of what sets us apart. Fully understanding each business you work with takes a LOT of time, but the difference it makes is immeasurable.

Our culture of kindness is also a differentiator for us. Everyone on our team genuinely cares about each other and it comes across in everything we do. The combination of fully understanding our clients and putting kindness first makes them feel important and cared for by our team.

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

  1. Relationship building. One of my core values is building relationships and creating friendships. I enjoy getting to know others and learning about them and their leadership journey. Finding connection and helping individuals connect with others brings me joy and fulfillment. When I decided to leave a corporate role and start Jennifer Maxson & Associates, many people offered their support and connections.
  2. Being a good listener. Taking the time to listen to others provides insights and builds trust. Feeling heard can go a long way whether that’s with clients, potential employers, or colleagues.
  3. Genuine curiosity. Always learning and seeking to understand what is going on is so important. Not only in the industry but all around you. Pay attention to the world, your family, and your community. It will make you a better person and a better leader.

Leadership often entails making difficult decisions or hard choices between two apparently good paths. Can you share a story with us about a hard decision or choice you had to make as a leader? I’m curious to understand how these challenges have shaped your leadership.

The hardest decision I’ve made so far was starting my own business. It took a lot of courage to leave an organization that I had been a part of for 14 years. I knew that my decision to start my own business would have a significant impact on me, my team, and my family. There was a reality check that I am truly designing my life and future. Now that I’m on the other end of it, I can see how much confidence and trust I gained in myself.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. Can you share a personal experience where embracing your unique leadership style, which might not align with traditional expectations, led to a significant positive impact on your organization or team?

Creating a safe and open environment within my team has been crucial to fostering a supportive and trusting dynamic. This is something that isn’t always a given in the workplace. I make it a priority to connect with everyone on my team. When you know what’s going on with your team, both personally and professionally, you can provide the support they need.

We practice vulnerability-based trust, which means that team members can raise concerns or ask for help without the fear of judgment. This openness and trust within the team helps us address challenges head-on and ensure that everyone’s needs are met.

The “Five Dysfunctions of a Team” by Patrick Lecioni has also had a huge impact on my business. This approach has allowed us to prioritize communication, trust, and collaboration, with the understanding that when the team succeeds, everyone wins. Overall, I am a firm believer in the power of teamwork and the collective strength it brings. By nurturing a supportive and open environment, we create a space where every team member can thrive and contribute to our shared success.

In your journey as a leader, how have you balanced demonstrating resilience, often seen as a masculine trait, with showing vulnerability, which is equally powerful, but typically feminine? Can you give an example where this balance created a meaningful difference?

As a business owner, you have to be resilient. At the same time, you have to keep your cool. While you’re figuring out how to bounce back, you can’t make something bigger than it is, or you’ll disrupt the team. At the same time, knowing when to open up is equally as powerful. Vulnerability is inviting others to be on the team with you so they can provide insight and support.

We live by vulnerability-based trust every day, so it’s hard to name one key moment where this came into play. One example that’s prevalent in our overall process is sales and client development. Everyone has an opportunity to engage with the clients as we provide our programs and services. Each team member has a role to fulfill and feels a higher stake in the client’s success. Every single person on the team is invested, which creates great teamwork on our end as well as a great client relationship.

As a woman in leadership, how have you navigated and challenged gender stereotypes, especially in situations where traditional male-dominated approaches are the norm? What strategies have you employed to remain authentic to your style?

My approach has always been how I feel — I’m just like anyone else on the team. From the beginning, I haven’t focused on gender. My goal is to be client-focused and show up as the best version of myself to help my clients succeed. The leadership coaching industry isn’t so male-dominated. However, a lot of my clients are men. A good reminder of the dynamic is that I’m coming in as the expert in my industry to help them be better in theirs. Being confident but not arrogant is the key.

How do you utilize emotional intelligence and active listening to create an inclusive environment in your team or organization? Could you share a specific instance where these qualities particularly enhanced team dynamics or performance?”

Relationship management is one of the competencies of emotional intelligence, and an incredibly important one. How you build relationships and also honor others as individuals are the building blocks for your leadership style and success. I always listen to understand and without judgment. When I’m listening, I’m never thinking about what my response will be, or what I will say so that I’m understood. That’s what active listening is. I encourage everyone on my team to speak this way. This creates loyalty within the team, and their commitment to shared results is deeper because of it.

What role has mentorship played in developing your authentic leadership style, and how do you communicate authentically to inspire and empower both your mentors and mentees?

I’ve had lots of formal and informal mentors myself, both male and female, throughout my career. Mentors are a great sounding board and they’ve helped me navigate how I show up and the decisions I make that best help me grow the business. I serve as a mentor at Peter Cook Leadership Academy at Grand Valley State University for both undergrad and graduate students. My goal is always to try and understand what they want most out of the mentor-mentee relationship. Once I understand what their needs are I can support them the best way I can. I’m also often asked to be a mentor by those in my professional networks. Many times this is as an informal mentor and individuals call on me whenever they need advice or help. This often comes when they are at a crossroads and need help with navigating their situation and a thought partner to create their path forward.

I go back to my ability to listen well and trust-based vulnerability a lot within these relationships. I listen for what they need to hear and where they need to be guided. It also helps to give them bits of wisdom I’ve learned through my own experiences.

Based on your experience and research, can you please share “5 Ways Leading Authentically As A Woman Will Affect Your Leadership”?

1 . Vulnerability — The only way to get vulnerability from your team is to show you’re willing to be vulnerable yourself. When we meet as a team, we go around the table and ask everyone what help they need, from everyone including me. This creates a safe environment to ask for help, and offer it when you can support a teammate.

2 . Being audience-focused: Focus on who you’re with in the moment, and how you need to show up for them. Sometimes we can be so self-focused that it’s hard to figure out how to all work together. Ask yourself: What do they need in order to get shared results?

3 . Stop Apologizing — Stop telling yourself that you need to apologize for everyone and everything. The reality is that we don’t, nor is it expected of us. When we drop the ball for someone, we need to apologize. But we don’t have to apologize for the things that are out of our control and aren’t related to us. If someone else’s team doesn’t deliver, it’s not your position to say sorry. When we apologize for things we have nothing to do with, we’re picking up other people’s burdens and carrying them around with us unnecessarily. Leaders can’t afford to take on the extra weight and responsibilities of others in addition to their own.

4 . Managing Self Talk — What we tell ourselves is what we start to believe. Instead of focusing on our downfalls, we need to focus on our strengths. Remind yourself that you are the right person to lead this team/project/etc. You were offered this position because someone believed you could do it well. Find confidence through this reminder and repeat it as often as you need.

5 . Know your Business — It’s so important to know all the ins and outs of your business. Take time to understand the numbers, the financials, the marketing, etc. so that you can lead by having the right information, or at least know where to go to find the information. This is why it is important to build a network of support. You can’t be an expert in everything, so who can you go to in your network that is an expert?

Are there potential pitfalls or challenges associated with being an empathetic leader? How can these be addressed?

Being an empathetic leader can make us inclined to take on everybody else’s problems. It’s one thing to listen and be supportive, but we need to understand how to be there for others without taking it on. It’s key to understand what you have control or influence over and what you have to let go. Making sure others on your team understand those areas helps everyone to navigate better as a team.

Another challenge with empathy is placing ourselves in somebody else’s story. We can see ourselves in them, but we have to remember that it’s their story. If we don’t draw that internal boundary, we run the risk of carrying it around with us. Having a trusted mentor or leadership coach to help you decipher what you can control and what you need to let go of will make an immeasurable difference. When we keep those internal struggles to ourselves, it’s impossible to gain clarity without a sounding board.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Kindness. We’re not kind to ourselves and we’re not kind to each other. Life doesn’t feel so heavy when we’re kind. We can start with seeing each other as people, as the humans they are.

How can our readers further follow you online?

A great place to follow me is on LinkedIn or my website.

Thank you for the time you spent sharing these fantastic insights. We wish you only continued success in your great work

--

--