Leading with Heart: Rebecca Cenni-Leventhal of Atrium On The Power of Authentic Women’s Leadership

An Interview With Pirie Jones Grossman

Pirie Jones Grossman
Authority Magazine
14 min readMar 1, 2024

--

Embracing Change — Change is inevitable, and it can often lead to growth. Successful entrepreneurs come to terms with the fact that what they’re doing now may change drastically in the future. They don’t just accept this reality; they embrace it. Atrium started as a small direct-hire staffing firm in 1995, but we’ve since grown into a global workforce management and talent solutions enterprise. We’ve had to be open to change and willing to adapt our approach to meet the ever-changing needs of our clients.

In today’s dynamic world, the concept of leadership is continuously evolving. While traditional leadership models have often been male-dominated, there is a growing recognition of the unique strengths and perspectives that women bring to these roles. This series aims to explore how women can become more effective leaders by authentically embracing their femininity and innate strengths, rather than conforming to traditional male leadership styles. In this series, we are talking to successful women leaders, coaches, authors, and experts who can provide insights and personal stories on how embracing their inherent feminine qualities has enhanced their leadership abilities. As part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Rebecca Cenni-Leventhal.

Rebecca Cenni-Leventhal is founder and CEO of Atrium, a global woman-owned, WBENC-certified talent solutions and extended workforce management firm. Atrium was founded in 1995 with a trademarked legacy of Applicant-Centric™ recruitment and a mission to build the workforce of tomorrow by putting people first. For nearly three decades, its customized services have provided the world’s largest brands access to top talent and helped organizations optimize their extended workforce programs to maximize results. Rebecca is dedicated to creating meaningful relationships and growing dynamic communities by helping employers source unparalleled talent through technology-driven workforce solutions. She is recognized by the Staffing Industry Analysts (SIA) as a 2023 Global Power Women in Staffing for her exceptional contributions to the staffing industry. Rebecca shares her appreciation for mentorship as a corporate partner and board member to 501c3 organization, Girl Talk Inc. She and her business are consistently recognized for innovation and growth by the Women’s Business Enterprise Council (WBENC), Women’s President’s Organization (WPO), and Inc. 5000, topping lists such as Crain’s New York Best Places to Work 2023 and Forbes Best Professional Recruiting Firms 2023.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series. Before we dive into our discussion about authentic, feminine leadership, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share with us the backstory about what brought you to your specific career path?

There’s something magical about the way people can inspire us, and that is one of the main reasons I decided to pursue Human Resources at the University of Wisconsin. However, after graduation, I faced the harsh reality that the job I wanted was out of reach due to a lack of experience.

But as they say, when one door closes, another opens. I began to explore other opportunities and found myself frequenting staffing agencies in search of a career that would allow me to make a difference. Despite facing multiple rejections, I refused to give up. On one particularly challenging day, I visited yet another agency, and with a hopeful heart, I requested to speak directly with the management team. Surprisingly, my persistence and positive attitude paid off, and the Director was impressed by my enthusiasm and offered me a trainee position in their staffing agency.

It was like a dream come true! I was thrilled to learn everything about recruitment and to have the opportunity to connect people with their dream jobs. I knew right from the start that this was my calling. This was the start of doing what I love and helping people every day.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

Since I started Atrium, there have been so many surprising, interesting, inspiring, and memorable moments — almost too many to count. I’ve told this story before, but it was such a pivotal moment in my career it bears repeating. I’ll never forget when Diane Sawyer walked through our front doors. I grew up watching her on TV, and there she was in person. She was filming a segment for ABC’s “20/20” and wanted to feature Atrium in the story! As a team, we had worked hard to advance our company but having recognition from someone like Diane Sawyer really made me feel like we’d reached a whole new level.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

Bringing people together is at the core of who we are — I like to say we are matchmakers. My passion for people launched my career in this industry, and the belief that employee experience is not something that should be limited to full-time employees set Atrium apart from the beginning. I truly believe that we do our best work when we listen, value, and respect our employees, clients, and candidates.

When I founded Atrium in 1995, we were one of the first staffing agencies to offer co-paid medical benefits to contingent workers, and we did so because we believed in putting people first. Even though our ideology was heavily scrutinized by others in the industry, we remained true to our principles and took a chance because it was the right thing to do.

Over time, our approach paid off. We built a large pool of qualified candidates, and our placements helped improve talent retention for our clients. And best of all, our commitment to putting people first became a widely recognized differentiator for our business. Now, more than 28 years later, I am honored to continue championing this mission.

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

Curiosity

When I founded Atrium, I asked myself a question: what if there was a staffing company that prioritized the needs of employees and applicants? I made it my mission to bring this idea to life. As an entrepreneur, I strongly believe that innovation and new ideas can drive positive change in any industry. This requires challenging the status quo and experimenting with new approaches to solve industry problems. At Atrium, we have always been employee-centric, and I take great pride in that. My goal was to transform the way business was done in the industry, which meant being willing to adopt new approaches and challenge traditional practices. This spirit of innovation and curiosity is what sets us apart from others.

Embracing Change

Change is inevitable, and it can often lead to growth. Successful entrepreneurs come to terms with the fact that what they’re doing now may change drastically in the future. They don’t just accept this reality; they embrace it. Atrium started as a small direct-hire staffing firm in 1995, but we’ve since grown into a global workforce management and talent solutions enterprise. We’ve had to be open to change and willing to adapt our approach to meet the ever-changing needs of our clients.

Risk Tolerance

As an entrepreneur, taking calculated risks is part of the job. This means weighing the potential outcomes and thinking through how to manage any potential failures. Growing a business from scratch is inherently risky, but not trying anything new is also a risk. I’m not afraid to take chances and think outside the box. We’ve embraced challenges and taken risks, and many of our new services were born out of this approach. During the pandemic, we pivoted to serve new industries, which eventually became entirely new service lines. Whenever we’ve faced setbacks, we’ve remained resilient and optimistic, taking calculated risks and pivoting in the face of adversity.

Leadership often entails making difficult decisions or hard choices between two apparently good paths. Can you share a story with us about a hard decision or choice you had to make as a leader? I’m curious to understand how these challenges have shaped your leadership.

When I started Atrium, I wanted to be everything to everyone. I was passionate about building the business from scratch, and although the process was creative, fast-paced, and even sometimes messy, every sale, partnership, and placement fueled my enthusiasm even more. However, as the business grew, it became too big to manage alone. I realized that I needed to delegate responsibilities to others and trust them to lead. While this brought in new perspectives and opened new doors, it also meant accepting the possibility of failure and mistakes by others. During this time, I realized that we often learn more from our mistakes than our successes. Bringing others into my circle was a risk, and there were growing pains along the way, but I am a better leader for it. This lesson remains with me and has helped Atrium grow beyond my wildest dreams.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. Can you share a personal experience where embracing your unique leadership style, which might not align with traditional expectations, led to a significant positive impact in your organization or team?

At Atrium, we are all about people. We paved the way in this industry with our People-Centric approach. Personally, I’ve always been driven by a desire to make connections, forge relationships, and bring people together. When the pandemic hit, Atrium shifted to a remote model. Our team did amazing work in this environment, but I knew that we would perform even better when we were all together under one roof. I understand that no return-to-office plan goes off without a hitch. Still, it’s my responsibility to do what is best for the company and the future we envision for ourselves. When we work shoulder-to-shoulder, I truly believe that we do our best work for our clients, candidates, and our company.

This is never more obvious than during HQ Days, which are quickly becoming one of my favorite things. During our latest HQ Day, I could feel the positive energy as soon as I walked into the office. Team members were collaborating in person, sharing ideas, and mentoring new employees. Seeing this reinforced my belief that bringing people together is the beating heart of who we are at Atrium. Collaboration and togetherness ignite our creativity, inspire us to innovate, and drive us to be more generous as we learn and grow together.

-In your journey as a leader, how have you balanced demonstrating resilience, often seen as a masculine trait, with showing vulnerability, which is equally powerful, but typically feminine? Can you give an example where this balance created a meaningful difference?

I believe that resilience and vulnerability can complement each other. In fact, I find it amazing how they can coexist and work together to create something truly remarkable. For instance, when I founded Atrium, I needed to be resilient to overcome the naysayers and build a successful company. At the same time, my willingness to be vulnerable and authentic with my team helped build a strong sense of camaraderie and a shared purpose. The combination of resilience and vulnerability proved invaluable when we faced tough decisions and continues to guide us today.

As a woman in leadership, how have you navigated and challenged gender stereotypes, especially in situations where traditional male-dominated approaches are the norm? What strategies have you employed to remain authentic to your style?

You’ll never hear me say that women can’t achieve exactly what their male counterparts can. If you don’t have a seat at the table, make your own! I built my career by advocating for myself, trusting my vision, and never taking “no” as a final answer. To me, “no” means “let’s figure something else out.” I started in this business as a people-connector and a business developer — and every day I use those skills to negotiate with my counterparts to figure out how we can reach a shared goal together.

How do you utilize emotional intelligence and active listening to create an inclusive environment in your team or organization? Could you share a specific instance where these qualities particularly enhanced team dynamics or performance?”

To know me is to know that there is nothing I love more than making connections between people. That’s true for the clients and candidates we partner with, and it’s true for the bonds I love to build within my company.

Emotional intelligence has played a huge role in the way I choose to lead. Compassion and empathy have been essential to building my high-performing team — and it’s needed to make long-lasting connections. I’m a huge believer in leading by example, and I’ve seen my team strengthen their emotional intelligence to create an environment and culture where we can all do our best work.

Ask any CEO, and they’ll tell you that listening is just as important as leading. Active listening, and taking the time to fully process the information someone shares, is critical. Listening intently and asking questions creates an open and comfortable space for direct feedback and leads to more open expression. And active listening helps make better connections! When you really understand what your team, client, customer, or partner is saying, you build empathy that helps make the relationship deeper.

When there’s a strong connection to the business mission and a culture that values everyone’s voice, driven by both emotional intelligence and active listening, anything is possible.

What role has mentorship played in developing your authentic leadership style, and how do you communicate authentically to inspire and empower both your mentors and mentees?

The first mentor in my life was my dad. One of my favorite things to do when I was little was watch him work. In his office, I would sneak under his desk, sit by his feet, and listen to him on the phone. He’d later laugh as I imitated him, taking fake business calls on my pretend telephone — no doubt practicing for the future. When I started Atrium, I was told more than once that I have sales in my blood. To this day, it’s one of the highest compliments I’ve received because I know that it comes from him.

Early on in my career, I had countless mentors and role models who I looked up to, and I want to provide the same opportunities for learning and growth to my team. As a leader, it is my responsibility to create a company culture that encourages open communication and collaboration between all levels. I like to create moments (in person when I can) where our experienced staff can take the newbies under their wing. I aim to break down silos and show our team that the best way to move forward is together.

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. Based on your experience and research, can you please share “5 Ways Leading Authentically As A Woman Will Affect Your Leadership”? If you can, please share a story or an example for each.

  1. Powerful Connections: To me, there is nothing better than connecting people. It’s why I fell in love with this industry. The strong connections my team shares are a major reason my business has thrived for nearly 30 years. As a leader, I knew it was my job to bake collaboration into our DNA from day 1. It’s the glue that holds us together. Our culture at Atrium inspires trust and open communication. Built on a foundation of employee engagement, Atrium is a place where my team can flourish.
  2. Encouraging Belonging: My greatest desire is to see my team thrive in their career. And for them to bring their best selves to work every day, they need to feel welcome to bring their TRUE selves. At Atrium, I work hard to foster an inclusive environment where team members feel encouraged to express themselves and their ideas. It’s important to me that my team members know that their authentic selves are welcomed and appreciated because I know that this results in greater engagement, creativity, and commitment to our work.
  3. Innovative Solutions: Never ever limit your imagination. My ability to dream big has helped Atrium create innovative solutions that bring our candidates and clients to new levels of success. I’m always encouraging my team to push the envelope and take risks, with a constant mantra of “you’ve got this!” playing on repeat in my head. That doesn’t mean we always succeed! But if you’re going to swing, swing big — and welcome the lessons that mistakes will teach you. It’s the only true way we can learn and grow.
  4. Resilience: Setbacks and failures are just a part of the journey. Leading authentically means being resilient and bouncing back from challenges and adversity. I always say to my team “Do as I do,” which to me means lead by example, don’t just “tell” but “show.” As a leader, I believe it’s my job to model resilient behavior, so I can inspire my team to keep pushing through difficult times and stay focused on their goals. I’ve seen this approach result in improved motivation, as well as a stronger sense of purpose for everyone involved.
  5. Professional Fulfillment: Witnessing the growth and development of my team brings me immense joy. And recognition matters! Publicly (and frequently) praising your team for their accomplishments helps to create a positive work environment, set the bar for others, and ensure that you’re always cheering your team on to reach a new level of success. I want to ignite the career of everyone on my team, and professional development is one way to help them recognize their full potential.

Are there potential pitfalls or challenges associated with being an empathetic leader? How can these be addressed?

It’s impossible to make everyone happy all the time. As CEO, the buck stops with me. That means I carry the weight of making tough decisions and also the responsibility of supporting my team. In the moments when I need to make a choice that may be challenging for my team to accept, I lean into empathy on both sides. I offer my team empathy, and I expect it in return.

I also lean heavily on the other leaders in my organization. Every day, I try to model how to listen, take feedback, and communicate difficult realities when needed. In the end, we all benefit from this style of leadership.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Leaving self-doubt behind is one of the most empowering things we can do for ourselves. When we let go of our fears and believe in ourselves, we open up a world of opportunities and possibilities. We create an environment where growth, progress, and creativity can flourish.

I believe that every person has the potential to achieve greatness. We all have unique talents, skills, and passions that make us who we are. I encourage others to invest in themselves and their passions to unlock their full potential and make a positive impact in their communities. The possibilities are endless!

Thank you for the time you spent sharing these fantastic insights. We wish you only continued success in your great work!

About The Interviewer: Pirie is a TedX speaker, author and a Life Empowerment Coach. She is a co-host of Own your Throne podcast, inspiring women in the 2nd chapter of their lives. With over 20 years in front of the camera, Pirie Grossman understands the power of storytelling. After success in commercials and acting. She spent 10 years reporting for E! Entertainment Television, Entertainment Tonight, also hosted ABC’s “Every Woman”. Her work off-camera capitalizes on her strength, producing, bringing people together for unique experiences. She produced a Children’s Day of Compassion during the Dalai Lama’s visit here in 2005. 10,000 children attended, sharing ideas about compassion with His Holiness. From 2006–2009, Pirie Co-chaired the Special Olympics World Winter Games, in Idaho, welcoming 3,000 athletes from over 150 countries. She founded Destiny Productions to create Wellness Festivals and is an Advisory Board member of the Sun Valley Wellness Board.In February 2017, Pirie produced, “Love is Louder”, a Brain Health Summit, bringing in Kevin Hines, noted suicide survivor to Sun Valley who spoke to school kids about suicide. Sun Valley is in the top 5% highest suicide rate per capita in the Northwest, prompting a community initiative with St. Luke’s and other stake holders, to begin healing. She lives in Sun Valley with her two children, serves on the Board of Community School. She has her Master’s degree in Spiritual Psychology from the University of Santa Monica and is an Executive Life Empowerment Coach, where she helps people meet their dreams and goals! The difference between a dream and a goal is that a goal is a dream with a date on it!

--

--

Pirie Jones Grossman
Authority Magazine

TedX Speaker, Influencer, Bestselling Author and former TV host for E! Entertainment Television, Fox Television, NBC, CBS and ABC.