Lessons From Inspirational Women in STEM: “My biggest piece of advice is to never underestimate yourself” with Arianne Hunter, Ph.D.

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readSep 23, 2019

--

My biggest piece of advice is to never underestimate yourself. If I would’ve told myself five years ago that I would have the number of publications, awards and honors such as the CAS Future Leaders Program, I would have probably laughed hysterically. I would’ve thought it was impossible for a black female scientist to do those things. However, if I hadn’t underestimated myself in the beginning, I probably would have been able to achieve way more than what I did.

As a part of my series featuring accomplished women in STEM, I had the pleasure of interviewing Arianne Hunter, Ph.D., is a Forensic Chemist at U.S. Army Criminal Investigation Laboratory. She holds a Doctorate in Organic Chemistry/Molecular Pharmacology. She is currently obtaining post-doctoral training in Forensic Chemistry at The Defense Forensic Science Center. Arianne, who is a first-generation college student, is also the founder of the nonprofit, “We Do

--

--

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine

Authority Magazine is devoted to sharing in-depth interviews, featuring people who are authorities in Business, Pop Culture, Wellness, Social Impact, and Tech