Life In The World’s Breadbasket: Author Dr. John Cumbers On 5 Things You Need To Create A Successful Career In The Farming and Agriculture Industries

An Interview With Martita Mestey

Martita Mestey
Authority Magazine
11 min readDec 25, 2022

--

Constantly learn and expand your knowledge — this is how you stay ahead of the game in any industry that you choose. Never stop wondering and develop a habit of lifelong learning. This is truly what leads to happiness and success.

As a part of this series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Dr. John Cumbers.

Dr. Cumbers is a former NASA bio-engineer and leading expert in the cell-cultured food sector. While @NASA, he initiated a program in space synthetic biology to drive the production of food, biomaterials and wastewater systems for use on the space station on the moon and eventually on Mars.

He is also the author of “What’s Your Biostrategy?“ — expert insight discussing the ways biology, bioengineering and synthetic biology will transform industry and daily lives.

He can share expert insight on how world leaders are using synthetic biology, bio-engineering and technology to re-establish the farming and ag industries while developing new ways to recreate food, agriculture, chemicals and materials for society. He also partners with leading companies who have received FDA approval to develop and scale cell-cultured meat production and distribution worldwide.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

Since childhood, I have had a keen interest in biology and information technology, and this is what I pursued throughout my university education. When I was sixteen, I joined a youth theater and spent four years acting in plays and musicals while also running the theater’s box office, being responsible for show marketing and getting bums on theater seats. Little did I know that this activity during my teenage years would be of use to me 25 years later as the founder and CEO of SynBioBeta.

I do not believe there are many people who can successfully bridge the world of science and entertainment; however, I have always believed that bringing excitement to an otherwise complicated topic like bioengineering is the most effective way to educate, inform, and attract interest hence bringing new people to the field.

As a university student, I studied Computer Science and Information Engineering at the University of Hull and earned my Master’s in Science and Bioinformatics from University of Edinburgh. Following that, I obtained a PhD in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry from Brown University. I then began working at the NASA Ames Research Center, Silicon Valley and helped start their synthetic biology program. At NASA I was specifically focused on the production of food in space, biomaterials, and wastewater systems we were designing for the space station on the moon and eventually on Mars.

In 2012 I founded SynBioBeta and for the last ten years we have produced the SynBioBeta Global Synthetic Biology Conference, providing thought leadership, content and connections for the synthetic biology community of engineers, innovators, entrepreneurs and investors. This industry is at the forefront of the next manufacturing revolution focused on reading, writing, and editing DNA while designing, building, and testing the biological systems inside of living cells to make everything from food, fuel, materials, chemicals, pharmaceuticals and even consumer goods. Every event we do, every headline I write is designed to not just educate people in science and technology but to also entertain them. With amazing stories about how this technology can impact their lives and the world around them.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began this fascinating career?

I think the most interesting story is about the government’s interest in the bioeconomy. In 2015, I was invited to the White House to meet with government officials responsible for planning policies to strengthen the US bioeconomy. The bioeconomy encompasses all the

industries and economic sectors that produce, manage, and use biological resources to build with biology. I first came across the government’s radar because of my work at NASA on terraforming and how we can make Mars more habitable for humans. My industry work was also relevant to national policy around bio manufacturing and technology. This was under the Obama administration, but I have since been back both under the Trump and most recently the Biden leadership — which has culminated in an executive order earlier this year on biomanufacturing, biotechnology and a number of bills supporting the bioeconomy. Even though it has been said the wheels of government are square and move slowly, when they actually do turn, they have an enormous impact. I am very excited about the next 10 years and what these policies are going to mean for the future. I do not know whether to say 10 years or 100 years of the US bioeconomy but what I do know is it is going to be exciting and very promising.

You are a successful leader. Which three character traits do you think are most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story?

Let me see… The first character trait is around ego and humility. Although I have multiple degrees in biology, I always have a beginner’s mindset. The easiest thing to do is nod through a conversation when you do not understand something or someone. However, I believe you learn the most by admitting when you do not understand but it takes humility to do this.

The second trait that is most instrumental to me is honesty and integrity. Do not talk about people behind their back. One time in college I heard some people talking about me behind my back. It was so hurtful and a defining moment for me. Because of that experience I have never talked about anyone behind their back and have always held that principle. When you are honest, open, and direct you can look anyone straight in the eye and maintain strong relationships. Honest interactions in my personal and professional life create trust and a strong sense of community.

The third trait I would say is I am very direct in my communication style. Sometimes that can get me in trouble because it can come across as blunt, but I have managed to soften my bluntness over the years by using voice memos instead of email. Written communication can often come across as very direct but when I send a voice memo, I can use the tools of tone, tempo, and intonation with my communication. This is very effective in working with different personalities, different career levels, positions etc. It also helps in communicating sensitive topics. I try to make people understand that I care about them while getting across what I want with a tone of voice that is still direct but sensitive.

Can you please give us your favorite life lesson quote? Can you share how this was relevant to you and your life lesson quote?

My favorite life lesson quote is from the book “How to Win Friends and Influence People.” It is that people love to hear their own name. I have become an expert at memorizing names and the way that I do this is by immediately using a person’s name in the conversation. So, let’s say I have just been introduced to someone, I would use their name by weaving it straightaway into our conversation with a question I might ask. I find this to be a wonderful and kind way to not only engage but also remember people’s names.

Let’s now shift to the main part of our discussion about the farming industry. The idea of farming has a very romantic and idyllic character to it, especially to some people living in a busy cosmopolitan context. Do you think now would be a good time for younger people with no farming history to get involved in the farming industry? Can you explain what you mean?

Yes, farming has a romantic and idyllic image to it, but I think anyone who has grown up in a rural setting knows how much work farming really is. Working outdoors in all kinds of weather year-round, long hours make farming a difficult and strenuous industry. I think that farming is very exciting! There’s a new world opening up at the intersection of farming and technology using the new tools of reading, writing and editing of DNA. If you look at the number of students getting degrees in molecular biology, cellular biology, biochemistry, and genetic engineering it is growing every year. In addition, our ability to engineer biology is growing every year with dozens of new startups being launched by these new young entrepreneurs. Many of these in the field of synthetic biology, precision fermentation, alternative proteins, and alternative and cultured meats. A majority of these products are produced, with the input being either glucose, corn, soy or agricultural waste and the output is high value food, chemical or material. Farming is no longer limited to commodity products with low margins. The future of farming has the potential to create a whole new ecosystem of high value products that are built with the tools of biotechnology. This represents a very exciting opportunity for young people to get into the industry of agriculture.

Where should a young person start if they would like to “get into” farming?

There are a couple of places I would recommend young people start if they would like to get into farming using biotechnology as a tool. The first is a program called Bio Builder. This innovative science and engineering program for students and educators run by Natalie Kuldell at MIT. The second is IGEM which stands for Internationally Genetically Engineered Machine. They too started at MIT and are now a global nonprofit network of biotech entrepreneurs, scientists and engineers dedicated to the advancement of synthetic biology, education, and friendly competition. They run programs for high school up to grad school competitions.

With greater attention being placed on the importance of the farming and ag industries, what do you predict will be different about the farming and ag sectors over the next 10 years?

I believe that there will be a switch away from commodity food and materials grown in farming towards higher value products that will use synthetic biology and fermentation processes to create specialty products allowing farmers to earn a lot more money from their farmland.

I’m very passionate about trying to help minorities to become more engaged in gardening and urban farming. What do you think could be done to engage more minorities and people of color in the farming and ag industries?

I agree we need to encourage more minorities to become engaged in gardening and urban farming. I feel we can do this through introducing folks to using synthetic biology and bioengineering as a tool. I suggest people seek out local community labs to become more educated and involved. For example, the first community labs in the country were BioCurious in Silicon Valley, and Genspace located in Brooklyn, New York. These local community labs are focused on supporting citizen science, public access to biotechnology and provide hands-on STEAM education programs for youth and adults. There are many of these community labs springing up all around the world where people can go and meet other bioengineers, do experiments, and take courses in synthetic biology and genetic engineering. These are great on ramps for anybody and everybody to get involved in the farming and ag industries.

We all know that inflation is affecting so many parts of our lives. How does inflation affect farms? What steps have you taken to keep costs down?

Inflation is a big problem in the economy right now and this is why I am so passionate about the use of technology to help farmers, companies and entrepreneurs keep costs down and get ahead.

Can you please share your five things you need to create a successful career in the farming and agriculture industry?

The number one thing needed to create a successful career in the farming and agricultural industry is to gain an understanding of molecular biology. There’s a lot of jargon in the field and I struggled to learn it when I first began. There’s a lot of great YouTube videos online where you can learn about molecular biology and the wonders of what’s going on inside of a cell. Engaging in programs and courses like the resources we spoke of earlier are a great tool as well. Number two is to get outside and explore nature. Not only is it good for your physical health it is amazing for your mental health. It will also give you an appreciation of the wonder and diversity we have in nature all around us. It can give you ideas for things that one day we may be able to create with biotechnology. The third is to learn how to sell. No one really enjoys selling, but it’s a critical skill that is transferable and necessary in each and every industry. Remember the youth theater ticket sales job I mentioned earlier? I went door to door to local restaurants and stores selling theater program advertising. It was painful and I was rejected many times… BUT… when I closed a deal, it was the most rewarding thing in the world and made up for all the rejections. Number four “you are what you eat” and if you are not taking good care of yourself, you are setting yourself up for failure. The fifth and most important thing you need to create a successful career in farming, agriculture or any industry is to make sure to have a broad base of knowledge. Study, read, connect with other people…. Constantly learn and expand your knowledge — this is how you stay ahead of the game in any industry that you choose. Never stop wondering and develop a habit of lifelong learning. This is truly what leads to happiness and success.

You are a person of significant influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people what would this be?

If I could inspire a movement to bring about the best in the world, it would be to give everybody the gift of meditation. I encourage people to focus on their mental health through daily meditation. I started the practice of daily meditation about five years ago and it has changed my life. Just the ability to sit quietly, breathe and reset my mind makes me happy and I think it will work for others as well.

How can we further follow your work online?

I encourage people to follow me on Twitter @johncumbers and @synbiobeta or sign up to attend The SynBioBetaGlobal Synthetic Biology Conference it is going to be May 23–25th at the Oakland Marriott. You’ll meet lots of entrepreneurs, technologists and thought leaders who are all building a better world with biology. We have sessions on food, agriculture, tools technology, financing, and entrepreneurship. If you are thinking of starting a company, it’s a great place to connect with other entrepreneurs and investors. We have discount passes available for students and startups. I also write a weekly newsletter of exciting developments in the synthetic biology industry, and you can sign up at www.synbiobeta.com

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

Thanks so much for the opportunity to chat with you!

--

--