Lillee Jean: Giving Feedback; How To Be Honest Without Being Hurtful

An Interview With Fotis Georgiadis

Fotis Georgiadis
Authority Magazine
6 min readNov 23, 2021

--

Describe what you think could have gone better, and what you’d like to see on future projects.

As a part of our series about “How To Give Honest Feedback without Being Hurtful”, I had the pleasure of interviewing Lillee Jean.

Content creator Lillee Jean is best known for her beauty, skincare, and lifestyle content published on her YouTube, website, and Instagram channels. She is also an accomplished writer, producer, director, actress, model, young entrepreneur, and blogger. The content Lillee Jean creates for her videos, are fun and entertaining for her fans. Her advocacy on online bullying, stems from her experiences with it on notable online platforms. She currently has a live web series, that is Season 2, called “Lillee Jean TALKS! Live” (IMDB accredited), and features well-known entertainers, as well as innovators in the arts. Her scheduled showtimes can be viewed on her media website.

Thank you so much for joining us! Our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your ‘backstory’ and how you got started?

Even when I was a child, I was fascinated by entertainment and the arts. I became involved in the beauty community fairly young, posting my looks on beauty communities like Beautylish. It was the overwhelming response I received from my tutorials that inspired me to continue in the industry, developing my skill set and artistry.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

When a business cares for its employees and nurtures their talents, it will succeed. In the last year of the pandemic, people have been looking for a better fit, in terms of their job skills, and to grow and have better flexibility in the work place. Our world is changing, and these things are a must, not a given, any more.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

I love to tell people how I never knew my girlfriend was the great granddaughter of one of Hollywood’s most beloved makeup artists!

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I was lucky enough to start doing people’s makeup for events when I was 15 years old. A client once called me, panicked, as her eyelash had fallen off on the way to a wedding, and she had never worn makeup before. In the parking lot of the venue, I ran over to her at the event she was at, to apply another eyelash. It was quite an experience.

What advice would you give to other CEOs and business leaders to help their employees to thrive and avoid burnout?

People need to be recognized for their accomplishments, and you should be patient, listen to what people have to say. I think we tend to dismiss the feelings and ideas of others all too frequently when it is always beneficial to listen to what they have to say.

How do you define “Leadership”? Can you explain what you mean or give an example?

To me, leadership means devising a plan that will benefit all parties involved. When a leader is concise and not decisive, they are able to lead their employees in a better direction.

In my work, I often talk about how to release and relieve stress. As a busy leader, what do you do to prepare your mind and body before a stressful or high stakes meeting, talk, or decision? Can you share a story or some examples?

Meditation is always part of my life. I strongly believe that you should take at least ten minutes out of your day to breathe and refocus your energy. Even if you think you don’t have the time to do something like that, trust me, you’ll be glad you did.

Ok, let’s jump to the core of our interview. Can you briefly tell our readers about your experience with managing a team and giving feedback?

Whenever possible, I choose people who can keep up with my energy, and who share the same ideologies as me. Since I am a perfectionist, I feel that my employees should also be able to do everything I do. Everything boils down to trust. I surround myself with people I trust and who I believe want to succeed at the tasks they are given. I believe that is the most important thing an employer can do. Employ people who fit your personality and share your values.

This might seem intuitive but it will be constructive to spell it out. Can you share with us a few reasons why giving honest and direct feedback is essential to being an effective leader?

The truth is that I don’t believe in telling someone a small roundabout lie to make them feel better, while delivering the news that I don’t like the project they are working on. Learning how to resolve the issue is counterproductive for the growth of the company, as well as their own personal growth. It is always my intention to be kind when I review something, whether it is good or bad, but I am also straightforward and honest in how I present something to someone working for me.

One of the trickiest parts of managing a team is giving honest feedback, in a way that doesn’t come across as too harsh. Can you please share with us five suggestions about how to best give constructive criticism to a remote employee? Kindly share a story or example for each.

  1. To make your point, you don’t have to be nasty. You will only make someone nervous, and they will probably do less work when you are cross with them;
  2. Highlight the good things that occurred within the scope of the project, as well as the things you are not so pleased with;
  3. Describe how to make things smoother next time;
  4. Discuss your expectations for the project;
  5. Describe what you think could have gone better, and what you’d like to see on future projects.

How do you prevent the email from sounding too critical or harsh?

It is best to communicate in person, or on the phone, if possible. Email, and even texting, can be so disingenuous and hard to gauge. I personally do not enjoy giving constructive criticism or conversing about something important over digital platforms, because it always turns out differently than what you intended to convey.

In your experience, is there a best time to give feedback or critique? Should it be immediately after an incident? Should it be at a different time? Should it be at set intervals? Can you explain what you mean?

Before criticizing anyone else’s work, it is best to take a day to absorb what you are looking at. For example, you might get overheated or something might not have been done as it should have been. The best time to have a conversation about what you are thinking about and what you expect in the future is a breathing space of a day, unless time is of the essence.

How would you define what it is to “be a great boss”? Can you share a story?

You should just be yourself, in my opinion. There is no right or wrong way to do things. Demeaning anyone is never okay, and you should never treat them like they don’t exist. People’s points are valid regardless of whether you agree with them or not, so take them for what they are. Treat them with respect, as you would want them to treat you with respect.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

We should respect each other’s space in the world. People we work with spend so much time with us, sometimes more than our own families. It is an extension of who we are, and it is important that we respect each other as much as possible.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

It was Maya Angelou who said, “Courage is the most important of all virtues because, without courage, you cannot practice any other virtue consistently.” Relevant to me, since without courage you are unlikely to achieve the things you want to achieve and reach your fullest potential.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lilleejean/

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGQF-GZ2oWfgb1NN3QtJJlA (Lillee Jean)

Websites: https://www.lilleejean.com and https://www.lilleejeanbeauty.com

Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/REALlilleejean/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RealLilleeJean

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/LilleeJean

Digital Art: https://www.deviantart.com/lilleejean

Giphy: https://giphy.com/lilleejean

Tenor: https://tenor.com/official/lilleejean

Thank you for these great insights! We really appreciate the time you spent with this.

--

--

Fotis Georgiadis
Authority Magazine

Passionate about bringing emerging technologies to the market