Marc Yaffee: Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Professional Comedian

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readMar 3, 2023

--

‘So much of success is about relationships.’ Comedy like a lot if industries is about relationships. Whether out of fear or laziness I didn’t invest enough energy into cultivating my comedy network or I would be farther along. However, some of my relationships have led to referrals and recommendations that have helped elevate my career.

As a part of our series called “Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Professional Comedian”, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Marc Yaffee.

Marc Yaffee is a co-star of the Showtime special Goin’ Native, The first all-Native comedy special. Marc can also be seen on Amazon Prime and his Dry Bar comedy special, Mid-Laugh Crisis (6 million views). Marc is a past winner of the Ventura Comedy Festival’s Funniest Person contest and was recently honored as part of Best of the Fest at the 2022 Burbank Comedy Festival. As a member of Pow Wow Comedy Jam, Marc shared National Indian Gaming Association Entertainer of the Year honors and he was named one of the 25 Indigenous Comedians to watch by

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator