Tyson Foods’ Marcus Mann: Second Chapters; How I Reinvented Myself In The Second Chapter Of My Life

An Interview With Jake Frankel

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
10 min readDec 2, 2023

--

Be kind to yourself: Self-compassion is essential for mental well-being. I wish someone had told me that it’s okay to be kind to myself, to forgive my mistakes, and to prioritize self-care for a happier and healthier life.

Many successful people reinvented themselves in a later period in their lives. Jeff Bezos worked on Wall Street before he reinvented himself and started Amazon. Sara Blakely sold office supplies before she started Spanx. Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson was a WWE wrestler before he became a successful actor and filmmaker. Arnold Schwarzenegger went from a bodybuilder to an actor to a Governor. McDonald’s founder Ray Kroc was a milkshake-device salesman before starting the McDonalds franchise in his 50s.

How does one reinvent themselves? What hurdles have to be overcome to take life in a new direction? How do you overcome those challenges? How do you ignore the naysayers? How do you push through the paralyzing fear?

In this series called “Second Chapters; How I Reinvented Myself In The Second Chapter Of My Life “ we are interviewing successful people who reinvented themselves in a second chapter in life, to share their story and help empower others.

As a part of this interview series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Marcus Mann.

Marcus Mann, a native of Carthage, Mississippi, is a chaplain at Tyson Foods. Formerly a player for the NBA’s Golden State Warriors, Marcus had a pivotal career moment when he left his dream as an NBA pro and became one of the company’s in-house chaplains in Mississippi. Marcus is part of a network of more than 100 chaplains across 22 states who provide emotional care, counseling and support to team members at many Tyson Foods plants and office locations. He is also the author of a new book, “He Chose Me: From Player to Pulpit.”

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we start, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood backstory?

Initially, my mom and I lived in my grandparents’ house, which is surrounded by the homes of the rest of my family — those of my mother, uncles and aunts.

And not far away in a rural area of Carthage, my homestead, was the family church, Jones Chapel Baptist Church, where I still return to preach.

I graduated as salutatorian from South Leake High School in 1992. I graduated with honors from East Central Community College in 1994 and graduated magna cum laude from Mississippi Valley State University in 1996. During this time, I was named the Southwestern Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, the first in the university’s history. Weeks later, I was drafted by the Golden State Warriors in the second round as the 40th pick in the NBA Draft.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Diamonds Aren’t the Only Things Created From Pressure, Peculiar People Are, Too”

While my childhood was somewhat sheltered, I felt as if I always carried something or someone “bigger” than me. If it wasn’t the stigma of playing ball well, it was representing our church choir when no one else showed up — because it was always said that “Marcus got it.” I believe, with all humility, that pressure has allowed me to be rare, unique, and unexceptional.

You have been blessed with much success. In your opinion, what are the top three qualities that you possess that have helped you accomplish so much? If you can, please share a story or example for each.

Resilience: I went through a divorce after 16 years of marriage to a person to whom I not only loved but was in love with. I realized that it wasn’t the end of my story, just the end of that chapter. It was setup for a comeback.

Adaptability: Because of “the resilience” I learned to become a girl’s dad as if that girl had a mom.

Passion — I love what I do, and I do what I love.

Let’s now shift to the main part of our discussion about ‘Second Chapters’. Can you tell our readers about your career experience before?

In the summer of 1996, Golden State Warriors general manager Dave Twardzik and Rick Adelman, the head coach, chose me the 40th pick in the 1996 NBA draft. That made me part of one of the one greatest draft classes of all time, which included Allen Iverson, Kobe Bryant, Steve Nash and Ray Allen just to name a few.

It all came together following the Warriors’ 1996 summer training camp and preseason games . They approached me and told me they were going to realize my dream of becoming an NBA player. That meant the guaranteed rookie minimum salary, then $220,000, would start dripping into my bank account when the Warriors tipped off their 51st season on Nov. 1, 1996, at San Jose Arena against the Los Angeles Clippers.

And how did you “reinvent yourself” in your Second Chapter?

Initially, I taught at the South Leake High School, from which I graduated. Soon after, I found myself working in the chaplain’s ministry at The Walnut Grove Youth Correctional Facility, a maximum security facility for juvenile offenders convicted of adult crimes, which had been called one of the 10 worst prisons in the country.

That was one of the best times I’ve had, because I was dealing with young men ages 13 to 21 (of whom I baptized over five hundred). The majority of them looked like me, and they had never had a positive male figure in their lives. To this day, I’ve seen so many of them, whether it’s in the mall or wherever, come hug me and say, “I never forgot what you told me.” That’s something that basketball couldn’t do for me.

It was in these moments that it was impressed on my heart to apply to the Caduceus Outpatient Addiction Center (COPAC) ultimately creating a ministry at an alcohol and drug addiction center so that spirituality was a part of their recovery program.

For the past 13 years, I’ve been a chaplain for Tyson Foods, first in Carthage and now in Forest, Mississippi.

God has made HIS choice of me full circle — entrusting me to serve as a senior pastor of a total of three churches in Mississippi. Currently, I am serving at The First Baptist Church in Carthage.

Can you tell us about the specific trigger that made you decide that you were going to “take the plunge” and make your huge transition?

Just before I was to suit up for the Warriors’ opener, it dawned on me that my grandmother had planted a seed in me. She was a die-hard Christian, and I would go to prayer service with her. When she would go from house to house praying, she would take me with her. At the time, I didn’t understand why she would do that. After my own strengthened prayer life with God, days prior to the opening game, it was as if God HIMSELF appeared to me and said that if I took a step in “that direction” I would be out of HIS will.

In that moment, I didn’t feel as much a desire to play basketball as I did to minister to those who needed it. In all reality, while others would have focused on losing the money of it all — I was focused on losing me in it all.

What did you do to discover that you had a new skillset inside of you that you haven’t been maximizing? How did you find that and how did you ultimately overcome the barriers to help manifest those powers?

In short, I didn’t “do” anything — It was all God. While I will never turn back on making this decision, sometimes I do think about the “what-if” factor. But I’m quickly reminded if it had not been for God, there would be no me.

How are things going with this new initiative? We would love to hear some specific examples or stories.

It has been over two decades since I made the decision of a lifetime — to leave behind my dream to pursue my life’s calling. I can say with great assurance, I have no regrets. In other words, I gave up my dream to pursue my purpose.

Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

While there are so many people to whom I forever grateful for helping shape my life, my inner circle includes my mother (Annie) and my maternal Grandparents, who have been there through thick, thin, good, bad, ugly and indifference. Their prayers, chastisements, warm embrace, and unending love have sustained in every twist and turn of my life.

In the words of coach Layfette Stribling: “If you ever see a turtle on top of a pole, know that it didn’t get there by itself.” I’m humbled.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started in this new direction?

There was this precious little sweetheart named Kinsley “Bink” Simmons and her grandmother Hazel “Pat” Wilder. I shared my story with her and she was fascinated that I once played in the NBA. We saw each other at church and she ran and hugged me. We took a picture and she was just blown away. I recently sent her one of my rookie basketball cards, and she went crazy. I am told that she has it put up and no one can touch it.

Also, when I held my first book signing, a lady named Glenda Upton walked in and said, “Where is the preacher?” I was signing a book and I raised by head and said, “Here I am.” She said, “I need you to lay hands on me and pray.” I looked and she said, “I’m gonna buy a book, but I need you to lay hands on me and pray. I believe in your prayers. My book sighing became a prayer room. As I finished the prayer, God’s voice whispered to me and said, “This is why I chose you.”

Did you ever struggle with believing in yourself? If so, how did you overcome that limiting belief about yourself? Can you share a story or example?

There has never been a moment in my where I didn’t struggle with “me” — human nature. It’s in these moments that I must chill in Christ. He believed in me and that’s always enough.

In my own work I usually encourage my clients to ask for support before they embark on something new. How did you create your support system before you moved to your new chapter?

My grandmother was always one of my biggest supporters. She understood. She told me, ‘I always knew that there was a calling on your life.”

Starting a new chapter usually means getting out of your comfort zone, how did you do that? Can you share a story or example of that?

My decision stunned fans and, financially, it didn’t make sense to many. I came home and faced a lot of ridicule, because a lot of people were living their dreams through me. Nonetheless, I was convinced that my life had different purpose. A quarter-century later, that conviction has not wavered.

Connecting with Tyson Foods team members is a privilege. I really believe it’s a divine appointment. I’m still here, and I’m loving it.

What are your “7 things I wish someone told me before I started” and why?

1. Embrace change: Change is inevitable, and I wish someone had emphasized the importance of adapting to it, as it fosters personal growth and resilience.

2. Practice patience: Patience is a virtue, and I wish I had known that impatience can lead to unnecessary stress and missed opportunities. It’s essential for personal and professional success.

3. Ask for help: It’s okay to seek assistance when needed. I wish someone had encouraged me to ask for help, as it can lead to quicker problem-solving and personal development.

4. Set boundaries: I wish I had been advised to set clear boundaries to protect my time, energy, and well-being, as it helps maintain a healthy work-life balance.

5. Learn from criticism: Constructive criticism can be a valuable source of growth. I wish I had understood the importance of embracing feedback and using it to improve.

6. Save for the future: Saving money and planning for the future is crucial. I wish I had been taught the significance of financial responsibility and preparedness.

7. Be kind to yourself: Self-compassion is essential for mental well-being. I wish someone had told me that it’s okay to be kind to myself, to forgive my mistakes, and to prioritize self-care for a happier and healthier life.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

Mentorship is a valuable relationship where an experienced individual, the mentor, guides and supports a less experienced person, the mentee, in their personal or professional development. It involves sharing knowledge, insights and advice to help the mentee learn and grow. Effective mentorship can be a rewarding experience for both parties and is a powerful way to pass on expertise and foster personal and career development. If you have any specific questions or need advice on mentorship, feel free to ask.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them. :-)

Steph Curry, because with all that notoriety, fame, and stardom he, like me, loves the game of basketball and we openly express our faith in Jesus Christ.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

www.marcusmannministries.org

Thank you so much for sharing these important insights. We wish you continued success and good health!

--

--