Marieke Lexmond On The 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readApr 10, 2022

--

Carving out a set time to write. I’m the most productive when I can write consistently every day for several hours.

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing Marieke Lexmond Marieke Lexmond reads tarot cards, loves food, photography, and travel. Storytelling is in her blood, from saving her allowance from a very young age to buy books to her master’s degree from the Dutch Film Academy. Her attraction to nature and places with a magical history brought her to New Orleans and the West Coast of Ireland; it feeds her imagination and has become the inspiration for the Madigan Chronicles. https://www.underthewitcheshat.com/

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

More than 16 years ago, we moved from the Netherlands to the US. I went from a full-time job in the film industry and teaching horse riding in the evenings to not being allowed to work. That forced me to re-evaluate my life. A story had formed in my mind, and I started writing. At the same time, I began to study the Tarot Cards more seriously. These two things came together in “The…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.