Tech Leader Marva Bailer: Five Things Business Leaders Can Do To Create A Fantastic Work Culture

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
15 min readSep 11, 2022

Remaining humble and knowing the definition of success is personal. Sharing the good, the bad, and the ugly, not just the pretty result. Encouraging personal success versus comparison to others. “Success comes from knowing that you did your best to become the best you are capable of becoming.” John Wooden

As a part of my series about how leaders can create a “fantastic work culture”, I had the pleasure of interviewing best-selling author and female tech leader Marva Bailer.

Marva Bailer is a purpose-driven executive with 20 years of leading billion-dollar teams for global businesses. She embodies servant leadership and a growth mindset through mentorship, experimentation, and the intersection of purpose and passion. As a breast cancer survivor, mom, and successful tech executive, Marva uses her personal and career experiences to inspire and educate others. In her debut book, Be Unexpected: Resetting Routines to Revolutionize the Future of Work, she encourages curiosity, courage, confidence, and a spirit for leaders to collaborate with others in a positive environment that creates mutual trust, higher engagement, innovation, and deeper relationships.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

As I reflect on the choices, risks, and connections of intersection, I refer to my first management role. I was an hourly employee fitness instructor at an 80’s fitness club chain in high school. The club managers had averaged retention of six months. I showed up on time (at that time, a big challenge), worked late, and took on additional responsibilities ranging from handling the front desk to cleaning the bathrooms. One week, half of the staff did not show up for work, so I stepped in as the manager, sales rep, and instructor. Because of my work ethic and tenacity, I was offered a role as a manager. I thrived and grew with minimal staff, deteriorating facilities, a roach problem, high sales quotas, and minimal support. The summer after graduation, I was earning a highly competitive wage for people 20 years my senior. With coaching from my mother, I realized as much as I enjoyed the health club lifestyle, a 60-hour, a seven-day-a-week job would not support a family lifestyle in the future. I attended a technology sales career fair and landed my first tech sales role.

My exposure to social impact at scale came from my experience at IBM, where we engaged with the local community via United Way, universities, and nonprofits. Corporate giving and citizenship expanded my personal view of how social impact work could scale through philanthropy, influencing policy, fundraising, and technology. As a result, I joined the TechBridge nonprofit board to get more involved with poverty alleviation and leveraging technology for good. My current role at Twilio allows me to combine revenue leadership which includes sales, marketing, partnerships, alliances, and employee engagement paired with social impact at scale.

I am an early adopter of the career plan “lattice versus ladder” framed by Deloitte Consulting. I have learned to pivot, take risks, and feel comfortable respecting the foundation and adding my own flair and perspective to make it my own.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

I have always been a lover of fashion to express my unique personality and to show affinity and respect for others. But, conversely, my humor as a self-aware leader with high EQ tends to lean towards self-deprecation–recent studies show it makes you more human and likable.

During my second year at a high-growth technology company focused on big data and security, my team doubled in size, and our revenue targets increased 300% Y2Y. A combined interest of the team was the upcoming Country Music Awards. I had a history of doing a “game” self-motivator every quarter where I made a point to buy an expensive pair of up-cycled shoes, and then I would hold them until our team made our goal. I picked unique, outlandish, fun, colorful, and funky items. Then, during calls and meetings, I would show them to encourage my team to set tangible goals, fun ones like this, and serious ones such as buying a home or funding a college.

Coming into the meeting, I knew I needed to change the hearts and minds of the team and leave with a commitment to extreme ownership and massive action. I leveraged this occasion to make a visual and memorable example. Taking a risk, I did my hair like an award-winning country music artist and donned knee-high, purple suede, red-bottom boots. I connected the story of the investment in the boots to our growth in a clever, humorous, and memorable way by illustrating the premise of unreachable goals that we could achieve through creativity, teamwork, and focus. I had them share their BIG BETS, and we agreed on a plan to execute. I had flip charts where everyone shared their commitment with their peers and team.

I captured their attention and trust and pivoted the discussion into a big-bet business discussion that resulted in new ideas, focused efforts, and team collaboration. To this day, the past team members all remember that speech. The connection of the personal story to achieving big goals stuck. We ended the year 200% above our goal and increased customer satisfaction scores, and market share.

Are you working on any exciting projects now? How do you think that will help people?

I have just released my debut book, BE Unexpected, Resetting Routines to Revolutionize the Future of Work. What if every meeting, conversation, and video call started with the same energy as a sporting event or concert? The crowd is alive with energy, interest, and desire to discover what is next. What if you applied the same principles and tools to your work life? In the book, I provide real-life examples to give you courage, confidence, and a spirit to engage with others in a positive environment that creates mutual trust and shared experience.

Ok, let’s jump to the main part of our interview. According to this study cited in Forbes, more than half of the US workforce is unhappy. Why do you think that number is so high?

Happiness is a personal feeling and relates to life experience. Employees who experience stress, monotony, and escapism have less space for bliss.

You are told money and success bring you happiness, but people are learning that there is always another goal to reach. Social media has created FOMO. There are unique dynamics in all personal relationships, work and personal. The idea that working hard and sacrificing will bring success and success equals happiness can be very accurate for many or the complete opposite for others. This is a human element and what makes us all individuals. Happiness is personal. In the first part of my career, I was never asked if the workplace made me happy as an individual. In the second part of my career and currently, there is a high level of attention and focus on the individual mental state beyond skills to do a task or role. Feelings are considered part of the culture and employee development.

Based on your experience or research, how do you think an unhappy workforce will impact a) company productivity b) company profitability c) and employee health and wellbeing?

We can experience an authentic 360 experience in our life as members of this workforce. When I started my career, I spent my leadership time learning about working moms. The premise was how to be a good mom, partner, and homemaker while having a solid career. The focus of the narrative is grounded in what we know as “imposter syndrome.” The idea of having it all success, family life, health, organization, and flow in work and life has evolved to “work-life balance.”

My dear friend, colleague, mentor, and mentee Rob Swymer candidly shares in his bestselling book Surrender to your Adversity his mental health and alcohol addiction challenges, in addition to the sudden death of his wife, Bonnie. I met him shortly after this tragedy, and he had returned to work from leave but was a shell. How many others are in the workplace with life challenges– big and small, known, and unknown–who are expected to show up “happy” and “engaged.” What is different and emerging is the whole worker is showing up for work. The private moments and struggles are exposed and openly shared in many cases with colleagues and management.

One of my teams has a monthly call where the call opens with a question such as “What are you grateful for?” or “What gives you joy?” Would this call have happened at a high-growth public company in 1975 or even in 2008? Most likely not.

I am encouraged by the proactive nature of companies. We have mental health benefits, including a comprehensive array of engagement, health benefits, time off, employee giving and volunteering, community engagement, and wellness benefits — an investment of the whole person. I embrace Vision Pursue methodology and practices, and leverage Better Up coaches to give me tools and techniques to anticipate challenges. Passion and purpose fuel profits.

“When you realize nothing is lacking, the whole world belongs to you” Lao Tzu

“Pleasure in the job puts perfection in work.” Aristotle.

Can you share 5 things that managers and executives should be doing to improve their company work culture? Can you give a personal story or example for each?

There is a direct connection between culture and trust. Managers and executives must capture every interaction and connect to the company’s values, norms, principles, and culture. They will participate when employees see others make culture part of their ethos.

T: Transparency

R: Recognition

U: Unique Experiences

S: Storytelling

T. Think Beyond Today

1. Transparency–Unless there is a legitimate reason, join the “general population” whenever possible. Break the routine of the “VIP” tables or “C Suite” floor. Involve the team in important decisions by providing data, early insight, and opportunities for iteration.

2. Recognition–Find the culture amplifiers or culture keepers–These are employees, customers, and partners who amplify the company culture. Celebrate them in highly visible forums, including company all-hands sessions, customer conferences, and social media. I experienced the “Trust,” a group of peer-to-peer selected individuals who contributed the most to the user community. They were rewarded with access to executives, developers, and front-row seats at conferences.

3. Unique Experiences–Examples include community service traditions to company outings with employees, families, and customers. Incorporating memorable connections and symbols such as mascots. I would trade a crystal vase any day for a stuffed animal or cool swag. My current company has an OWL mascot and swag, even for pets and children! I cannot part my 25 lb. stuffed pony, the mascot of a former employer. She is in my basement and is a big hit repurposed for Halloween.

4. Storytelling: Build longevity via storytelling–Value and encourage storytelling, highlighting the details and feelings that draw out the cultural aspects.

5. Think Beyond Today–Envision the future workplace and company. Henry Ford’s famous quote is a good example: “If you asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses.” And speaking of animals, who would have designed a broad benefit program to include pet provisions ten years ago? About 71% of employees said their employer changed its workplace pet policies within the last year. Those changes can help employee retention and satisfaction, with about 86% of employees surveyed saying they would look forward to the office more if they could bring their pets.

It’s very nice to suggest ideas, but it seems like we have to “change the culture regarding work culture.” What can we do as a society to make a broader change in the US workforce’s work culture?

My book, BE Unexpected, explores the idea of making space for love in the workplace. “Joy” and “compassion” are front and center in workplace conversations and media interviews. Hence, the combination of mental and emotional balance provides sustainable workplaces. Leaders need to fine-tune the mental aspects of culture, such as teamwork, results, and innovation.

In conversations with leaders over the past month, sharing ideas sparked conversation and interest in experimentation

  • Value interns or newly tenured workers. They can provide new energy and fresh perspectives.
  • Invest in sharing meals, coffee, and snacks as a productive experience, not a cost center
  • Refrain from “E- Speak” — (corporate jargon)
  • Get outside your organization, team, or circle of influence to gain new perspectives. For example, the US workforce can learn from other countries business models to harness the broader global economy.
  • Embrace Artificial Intelligence and technology for monotony and repetitive work.
  • Focus on continued learning, re-skilling, re-training, and being ready for new roles, known or unknown.
  • Embrace multi-generational knowledge and re-think the hierarchies in most corporations where tenure equals authority.

How would you describe your leadership or management style? Can you give us a few examples?

I invest and prioritize this mantra: “Great learners are great leaders.” A favorite article from the Center for Creative Leadership on “Tips for Improving Your Learning Agility” highlights the areas of focus:

  • Be a Seeker — Seek out new and diverse experiences. I do this by expanding my social and professional circles.
  • Hone Your “Sense-Making” Skills — In today’s high-stakes, complex, ambiguous, and fast-moving situations, you don’t have the luxury of time. You need to dive in and start making things happen. This means you must take an active approach to make sense of your new challenges. Be curious and willing to experiment. Ask, “Why?” “How? and “Why not?” I am known for asking lots and lots of questions. I ask to learn not just the true answer to the question but to observe the decision process, attitudes, cultural norms, background, and conviction. I keep dynamics and look three to four steps ahead.
  • Internalize Experiences and Lessons Learned — don’t defend but reflect on others’ opinions.
  • Adapt and Apply — Leverage intuition and lead with your heart (or gut). Feeling confident with decisions, not overthinking or second guessing.

I embrace the leadership concepts of Servant Leadership and Growth Mindset. I regularly refer to the modern teachings of Liz Wiseman, Multipliers and Impact Players, and Leading with Noble Purpose, Lisa McLeod. I have always been a fan of Ken Blanchard, appreciating his organic videos at the age of 83.

I constantly search for new data and ideas; I subscribe to numerous analysts, educational institutions, LinkedIn, TEDTALKS, Podcasts, and even traditional newspapers (I love the real thing).

I am open to sharing my results on some of the recent leadership assessments, which you can see below. In the last three years, I have seen an open sharing of this data with the public, teams, and colleagues to create psychological safety and empathy.

In the HBDI (Herman Brain Dominance Instrument) assessment, I am a ‘high yellow,” an idea person, and a big thinker. In contrast, 75% of the other leaders at my level are “high blue,” logical decision-makers with a focus on data. Myers- Briggs & Enneagram, I am an ENFP- A or Campaigner. Strengthsfinder: Lead with Influencing: Activator, Individualization, Connectedness, Input, Command. Better Up Whole Person: Strength: Resilience, Growth Mindset, Rest (Self-Care), Problem Solving (Being Bold), and prioritizing Physical Activity.

I lean into embracing the uncomfortable as a tenet of a growth mindset and actively seek opportunities for new learnings and ideas — integrity, accountability, and trust, and non-negotiable. I would not ask anyone to do anything that I would not do myself. I get the most joy and satisfaction from bringing out the best in others, especially when I can find or develop something they did not see in themselves or their path. I thrive at connecting people and ideas for creation and scale.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

After completing my executive retainer as an acquired company at IBM, I was on the executive tenure track. One of the requirements was to identify and work with an executive mentor. As you can imagine, they were in high demand, in a highly competitive process, and unable to take on new people. One of my employees shared that he was working with a new executive who had just relocated and thought we would hit it off because she was confident, intelligent, and had a high fashion sense of style. I remember the day I met Pam Woehrle. We complimented each other’s shoes in the conference room and became fast friends.

I was not interested in the typical 25-year exec track. I was more interested in new business areas, including acquisitions, where I had come from organic growth, new market creation, and cross-functional global work is my focus. Pam worked with me to establish broader relationships within the organization. She gave me a platform to highlight my leadership with key clients focusing on C-level relationships and joint project innovation with a lens of operational excellence. I did appreciate the value of the skill back then.

At the time, IBM was investing in acquiring a portfolio of software companies. One of the challenges and opportunities was to benefit from the new cultures of the acquired companies while maintaining and standing true to the 100-year-old company’s core values. I had my sights on an executive role in a new division created from the portfolio of acquisitions. Pam evolved from a mentor to a sponsor and lined me up with the key people to have conversions. She advocated for a new person versus the traditional succession plan that traditionally followed.

I succeeded in getting the role and leaning into the high visibility, and a billion dollars in revenue responsibility. Pam coached me through situations giving me the tools to thrive, have confidence, develop people, and leverage the broad resources.

An element of our relationship that I did not appreciate at the time was the whole person, mind, and body. Pam is enlightened and matured in mindfulness, meditation, and holistic personal practice. She shares many aspects of this practice, including health, beauty, family relationships, and fitness. They are central in my life. Today we are friends and support each other by exchanging ideas and experiences; yes, they still include shoes.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I respect the dignity of purposeful work. I leverage my experience, network, and resources to support the early career of tenured executives, traditionally educated to reskill program talent to build confidence, connection, and employment. I work with established workforce programs as a mentor in universities and in community service. Many people are unsure which resources apply to them, how to leverage them, whom to trust, and how to evaluate their value. I am passionate about helping them tap into their unique talents and connecting to communities. I share research, resources, industry practices, and etiquette. I incorporate this information on verbal and non-verbal communication strategies to maximize communication, authority, and collaboration in my professional and volunteer speaking engagements.

I am often asked this question, and I ask it to others: “How will you use your time, talent, and treasure to give back to others?”

  1. Remaining humble and knowing the definition of success is personal. Sharing the good, the bad, and the ugly, not just the pretty result. Encouraging personal success versus comparison to others. “Success comes from knowing that you did your best to become the best you are capable of becoming.” John Wooden
  2. Actively seeking out and bringing visibility and celebration of others’ success by leveraging my social platforms and circles of influence.
  3. Leveraging corporate resources funding, talent/ volunteerism, and including access to technology to scale and accelerate impact for nonprofit organizations.
  4. Writing it down, sharing ideas and resources so others can incorporate positivity into their workplace. I wrote BE Unexpected to share my learnings from my 20+ year leadership career.
  5. Actively seeking and collaborating with others in social and professional circles who have different views, experiences, professions, and education than me. Appreciating and sharing the knowledge gained to appreciate and value diverse perspectives.
  6. Use words of affirmation and love in professional settings. Embrace and support the challenges of others. Compete not to take something from another but to make us both stronger. “Never let success get to your head and never let failure get to your heart.” ― Ziad K. Abdelnour

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” — Maya Angelo. This quote embodies my leadership, faith, and values all in one.

“The whole future lies in uncertainty: live immediately.” — Roman philosopher Seneca. I am going to live immediately–being vulnerable and authentic. The time is now.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Embrace JOMO instead of FOMO. Embrace the present moment, the “Joy of Missing Out.” Radiate your positive energy to the world. Joy facilitates kindness.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We wish you continued success!

--

--