Matt Doud of Planit: Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became A CEO

An Interview With Doug Noll

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine

--

Build trust. Like it or not, the staff all look up to the C-Suite in good times and in bad. Be the kind of leader who they believe in and trust. Your teams will only follow you into battle if they trust that you are capable of leading them through it to a better outcome on the other side.

As a part of our series called ‘Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became A CEO’ we had the pleasure of interviewing Matthew Doud.

Matthew Doud is the president and co-founder of Planit Advertising. Matt leads the agency in sustaining a strong corporate culture, building long-lasting client partnerships and following a philosophy based on smart marketing strategy, breakthrough creative, great execution and responsive relationship management. As a 30+-year veteran of the Baltimore advertising marketplace, Matt shapes the agency’s growth and development from an operational, managerial and communications perspective.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

When it came time to choose a major in college, it was my dad who suggested I study writing and communications. He felt that no matter my career, as long as I could write, speak and communicate effectively, it would be a solid foundation.

I grew up in the ’80s when advertising was a cultural phenomenon as much as a career option — think Michael Jordan & Nike, Apple’s Super Bowl ad, and Absolut Vodka’a iconic print ads. So once I started to study marketing, I was hooked on the innovation, creativity and personality of the business of advertising. My first job was at a very small shop in Washington D.C., which took a chance on me as a writer. I soon realized that, although I was creative, I wasn’t cut out to be an ad copywriter. So I moved to the client management side of the business and ultimately started my own firm, Planit, with a childhood friend. We’re still business partners and friends today, 29 years later. My days as a creative have been replaced with a new focus — maintaining our agency’s growth and development from an operational, managerial and communications perspective.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

It was back in late 2009 when our country was going through a pretty harsh recession. As a creative guy running a creative agency, my business acumen wasn’t necessarily my strength. We had grown year-over-year, every year, for nearly 15 years straight. That recession was a real eye-opener. I quickly realized that what got me “here” wouldn’t take me “there,” as Marshall Goldsmith’s book details. Re-calibrating just about every aspect of our business was hard. It was scary and humbling. We didn’t know what we didn’t know. Yet it was also exhilarating to learn the new skills to take Planit to that next step as a business. Being a good writer didn’t make me a good businessman. I had to commit to changing hats. And I haven’t looked back since making that change.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Without throwing anyone under the bus by name dropping, let me just say it had to do with trash talking a potential client as we rode the elevator down after a pitch. Lesson learned: save the commentary — good, bad or indifferent — for back at the office and shut your mouth unless you know everyone in the elevator with you.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My late dad was my biggest cheerleader and supporter for as long as I can remember. Even when he thought I was not making the best decisions, he found a way to be encouraging as he coached me through it. At the end of the day, even if we still disagreed, he always had my back.

I recall when I told him I was going to quit my job at a very successful, national ad agency to start Planit with my childhood friend. Dad thought I was making a mistake. My career was just taking off with a great company, a substantial salary, benefits, national clients and security — all to take a chance with the guy my dad remembered as the kid I used to get into trouble with in high school? However, he saw our passion and vision, and ultimately, Dad became one of Planit’s biggest supporters. Today, Planit has been in business for over 29 years. And my dad’s influence remains.

Leadership often entails making difficult decisions or hard choices between two apparently good paths. Can you share a story with us about a hard decision or choice you had to make as a leader?

Choosing to do the right thing vs. the easy thing is one of the daily challenges that often get overlooked by folks who are not in positions of leadership. Sure, it’s seemingly easy to simply fire a difficult client or cut loose that troublesome employee. But the complete facts are rarely so black and white. What is the rest of the story there? Who are they, really? Why are they acting the way they are? What is their “why”?

When that one client no one particularly liked happens to be the one that also funds several employment positions, or that troubled employee happens to have a family to feed at home, the decisions get more complicated. The repercussions run deeper. For me, it comes down to values — mine and my company’s. I rest easy knowing I try to do the right thing for all involved. I find that knowing the right decision and the best outcomes typically come when I focus more on how I make and communicate the hard choice rather than if I should make it or not.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. Most of our readers — in fact, most people — think they have a pretty good idea of what a CEO or executive does. But in just a few words can you explain what an executive does that is different from the responsibilities of the other leaders?

We find examples of leaders in all walks of life. Maybe you were a leader on your sports team. Or in your scout troop. Or you lead the annual fundraising drive for your church. That type of leadership is about accomplishing tasks. Executive leadership is about empowering and inspiring your employees to be the best that they can be at their duties and tasks with an eye towards a greater goal — financial success of the business. Being a good do-er isn’t the same as being a good leader. Livelihoods depend on it. Careers are built on it.

What are the “myths” that you would like to dispel about being a CEO or executive? Can you explain what you mean?

One myth I would dispel is the notion that as C-Suite executives, we simply sit up in our proverbial ivory towers and make decisions based on financial statements or personal needs and opinions. The truth is, the ripple effect of the decisions we make requires considerable discernment and considerable input from trusted resources around me. Even the little decisions are in fact big decisions. As a result, the stress can sometimes be quite real and rather substantive, because even seemingly simple choices impact many people, their families and their livelihoods.

What is the most striking difference between your actual job and how you thought the job would be?

In the simplest of terms, I strive to work ON my business, not IN my business. I have many experiences with folks who have found tremendous success at a particular craft but can’t make the leap to building a business around that skill. Leadership is not about the duties, tasks or the to-dos. It’s a mindset.

Do you think everyone is cut out to be an executive? In your opinion, which specific traits increase the likelihood that a person will be a successful executive, and what type of person should avoid aspiring to be an executive? Can you explain what you mean?

No. In my humble opinion, most people are not cut out to be great executive leaders. I don’t say that with any arrogance or judgment; rather, I say that with humility because no two executive roles are the same since the job description is so nebulous.

In my role as Planit’s leader, I find myself faced with new and unexpected challenges almost daily — none of which are typically planned or expected. Navigating them effectively means I must be decisive, I must leave my ego at the door, have a short memory and remember to find the fun in the unknown.

What advice would you give to other business leaders to help create a fantastic work culture? Can you share a story or an example?

Companies are like people — they have personalities and likes and dislikes. So I look at Planit as if it were a person. Do I like this person? Do I want to hang out with this person? Why? Why not? I then find people with like-minded values and ideals to grow (just like we do with our circle of friends). Only then can your company’s personality be authentic. Only then will your true culture shine through. You can’t fake it with foosball and casual Fridays. Now, if your authentic people happen to like foosball and a beer fridge, that’s great because it will reinforce the authenticity. But if they don’t, no foosball table can manufacture authentic culture.

How have you used your success to make the world a better place?

The concept of making the world a better place feels pretty monumental. I try to approach that with an eye on the little things. I’ll continue to build a company that inspires and excites our staff, enabling them to build the lives they dream of. I work hard to raise a family that is compassionate and open to others’ views and ideas. I love my hometown of Baltimore, Md., so I proudly support it whenever I can by championing organizations like the Downtown Partnership of Baltimore, Visit Baltimore and the Maryland Marketing Partnership. I also sit on the Board of Trustees for the Baltimore Museum of Industry and the Entrepreneurs Organization (EO) of Baltimore. Change starts at home.

Fantastic. Here is the primary question of our interview. What are your “Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became A CEO” and why? (Please share a story or example for each.)

1 . Build trust. Like it or not, the staff all look up to the C-Suite in good times and in bad. Be the kind of leader who they believe in and trust. Your teams will only follow you into battle if they trust that you are capable of leading them through it to a better outcome on the other side.

2 . Listen. How many people on your organization’s chart ladder up to the C-Suite? You hired them for a reason, right? So listen to them. They are some of the smartest folks in the room. And let’s be honest, you don’t know everything.

3 . Let go. Put ego aside and do the right thing, even if it’s hard or makes you look bad (because it’s not about you). Early on, we built our agency on relationships and connections, many of whom were friends, too. It’s hard to move past friendships when your company outgrows what they have to offer, but I need to let go if it is the right thing to do rather than holding on because it is the easier decision.

4 . Think big and avoid the naysayers. There’s always a reason to NOT do something. Find the reason “why” rather than the reason “why not.” Then beg for forgiveness rather than ask for permission if necessary.

5 . Have fun. Life is too short to stay sad, angry or unhappy. Move on from mistakes or failures, relish the wins and successes and try to focus on the joy along the way. Success and fun do not have to be mutually exclusive.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good for the greatest number of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

Start with “YES.”

Yes, I believe you. Yes, that might work. Yes, I see your point of view. Yes, I’m open to that idea. Yes, different is OK. Yes, and…

I believe far too much energy is wasted when folks set metaphorical speed bumps and barriers when a simple yes is so much more powerful to making change.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Talk less. Listen more.

It is hard for me sometimes because I have no shortage of ideas or opinions. But I try. It helps in the Board room, at the negotiating table, in a brainstorming session and even when parenting my kids.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them

Cocktails with Anthony Mason at CBS News (@anthonymasoncbs) would be a real treat. I’ve never met the man, but I suspect his intelligence and sense of humor, not to mention his love of music and culture, would make for a fun evening.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

About the Interviewer: Douglas E. Noll, JD, MA was born nearly blind, crippled with club feet, partially deaf, and left-handed. He overcame all of these obstacles to become a successful civil trial lawyer. In 2000, he abandoned his law practice to become a peacemaker. His calling is to serve humanity, and he executes his calling at many levels. He is an award-winning author, teacher, and trainer. He is a highly experienced mediator. Doug’s work carries him from international work to helping people resolve deep interpersonal and ideological conflicts. Doug teaches his innovative de-escalation skill that calms any angry person in 90 seconds or less. With Laurel Kaufer, Doug founded Prison of Peace in 2009. The Prison of Peace project trains life and long terms incarcerated people to be powerful peacemakers and mediators. He has been deeply moved by inmates who have learned and applied deep, empathic listening skills, leadership skills, and problem-solving skills to reduce violence in their prison communities. Their dedication to learning, improving, and serving their communities motivates him to expand the principles of Prison of Peace so that every human wanting to learn the skills of peace may do so. Doug’s awards include California Lawyer Magazine Lawyer of the Year, Best Lawyers in America Lawyer of the Year, Purpose Prize Fellow, International Academy of Mediators Syd Leezak Award of Excellence, National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals Neutral of the Year. His four books have won a number of awards and commendations. Doug’s podcast, Listen With Leaders, is now accepting guests. Click on this link to learn more and apply.

--

--

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine

Award-winning author, teacher, trainer, and now podcaster.