Media Pioneer Barry Layne: “I have committed to doing something FOR every person I hire; I ask if they know what they want to do next and I promise to prepare them for THAT role”

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readJul 19, 2019

--

I have committed to doing something FOR every person I hire. During the recruitment/interview process I always ask if they know what they want to do next…either where we sat or elsewhere in the world. I promise to prepare them for THAT role (again inside or outside our organization) because that means I gave them the tools and freedom to grow and advance — which, from a selfish perspective, helps us succeed as well.

As part of my series about the leadership lessons of accomplished business leaders, I had the pleasure of interviewing Barry Layne. Barry is the Chief Operating Officer & Chief Marketing Officer of Alternatives to College. Barry is a pioneering digital management and marketing executive. He was founder and global head of Ketchum Communication’s worldwide digital media businesses; COO of ArtistDirect; Executive Vice President of National Lampoon; Senior Vice

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator