Grammy Nominated Musician Jose Hernandez, on why we need a movement to make music education a requirement in school

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readFeb 7, 2019

--

I would start a movement to make music education a requirement in school. Learning music stimulates a young person’s mind, teaching them not just music and notes but math, discipline, personal responsibility as well achieving excellence as a musician and as a human being.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Grammy Nominee Jose Hernandez, Director and Founder of Mariachi Sol De Mexico and the First All Female Group in the U.S., Mariachi Reyna De Los Angeles.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I am a fifth generation musician. Since the 1800s my family has been musicians and specifically mariachi musicians. I grew up with the music in my house and it runs through my veins now. I don’t think I could do anything else.

--

--

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine

I am an entrepreneur, publicist, journalist and event producer based in Sunny Florida. My passion is writing & giving back to others.