Leigh Isaacson of Dig: “I think it’s extraordinarily important that we re-empower our local news reporters; I would love to inspire a movement where people were re engaged with their local news”

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine
Published in
12 min readNov 7, 2019

--

I think it’s extraordinarily important that we re-empower our local news reporters. In New Orleans, where Dig is based, a longstanding local newspaper was recently bought out by a rival, and the reporters are being let go. This is unfortunately a common story among newspapers and traditional media nationwide. I would love to inspire a movement where people were re engaged with their local news. Reporters and local news teams are underpaid, overworked, and unbelievably rushed. However, they are the champions of their communities. We should be able to trust that the local news reporters are covering our stories to the best of their abilities, and offer them help when possible. There’s a lack of trust…

--

--

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine

I am an entrepreneur, publicist, journalist and event producer based in Sunny Florida. My passion is writing & giving back to others.