Meet Nashville’s Rising Stars: Becca Bowen

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
9 min readNov 1, 2022

--

I wish someone would have told me to be patient and not focus on what isn’t happening at that moment. It’s hard to be patient in the music industry when you sacrifice so much to make it happen. What I’ve learned is everything happens at the right time and you can’t force timing.

As a part of our series about Nashville’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Becca Bowen.

In 2020, Bowen released her debut single, “Love It, Leave It,” and soon after participated in the Outdoor Channel’s popular reality show, For Love or Likes. She was named the Season 5 winner 2021, garnering a rapidly growing following and fanbase online, eager for more music from the emerging artist. With previous singles released this year including “Glitter,” “How It All Went Down,” and the title track of her debut, Like You’ve Never Been Loved, Bowen credits country music greats before her for her musical inspiration, including Dolly Parton, George Strait, Alan Jackson, Shania Twain, and Reba McEntire. Bowen’s glamorous, Southern Belle exterior mixed with her bold and tomboyish personality and a love for the outdoor lifestyle prove the South Carolina native proudly lives up to her endearing nickname, “Country Barbie’’ which was first given to her by her passionate fanbase. Bowen exudes confidence in who she is — welcoming the juxtaposition of her look and personality, as showcased in the authenticity of her music. Bowen’s debut full-length album, Like You’ve Never Been Loved, features tracks co-written by country music heavy hitters, including ACM Award Winner and GRAMMY-nominated singer-songwriter, Lee Brice, along with award-winning songwriter and TV personality, Rachel Bradshaw.

Thank you so much for joining us in this series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up?

I grew up in a small town in South Carolina. I spent most of my time outdoors. When I was not fishing or playing at our family’s pond, I was participating in talent shows and pageants. I had your typical southern home life. Dinner on the table at 5:00pm everyday, and church on Wednesdays and Sundays. I have some of the best childhood memories with my Grandfather; he lived in the country. He was always planting peanuts, watermelons or collards that he would sell at the Farmers Market. I spent a lot of time with him and he influenced my love for country music.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I started singing in the church choir when I was 5 years old. One day a gospel group that attended our church asked for me to sing and tour with them. I would sing a few songs before their concerts. This really set the path for my life. Singing with the “ Crusaders “ really opened doors for me. I went from singing in church to pursuing a career in theatre at a young age. I found myself in New York cast in an off Broadway musical called “ Ruthless” . Once I started pursuing singing professionally it turned into a dream of mine that I couldn’t shake. I’ve never looked back and continue to reach for my Dreams!

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I’ve been in the music industry a long time. I have many stories that I would

love to share with you. If I had to choose one that stands out would be when I met James Brown. I was asked to open up for his show at out local military base in SC, Fort Jackson. It was Christmas Day and we were singing for the soldiers that could not go home to their families. James Brown asked to see me before I went on. His kindness towards me I will never forget. He told me that he believed in me and thought that one day I would be a star. He said to me “trust in God and it will happen.” Having someone believe in my dreams has stuck with me until today. That was one of the moments that changed my life. To watch him perform was an experience to say the least. I saw first hand the kind of performer that I wanted to be. He truly made an impact on me.

Can you share with us an interesting story about being in Nashville?

I absolutely love Nashville. When I first came to Nashville I didn’t know what to expect. I wasn’t sure if I would be accepted easily. My first few weeks in Nashville I started cowriting with a friend Michael Rix. I then found myself soon after performing with him at the Puckets Grocery store. In that one performance I met the people who would make way for my career as a country artist today. I look back on that day and all of the connections I made that night set the pace for my career. Nashville is a town of dreamers like myself. Just being surrounded by fellow artists and musicians is an amazing feeling.

Can you share with us a few of the best parts of spending time in Nashville? We’d love to hear some specific examples or stories about that.

After a long day in the studio recording or writing, I will usually go to The Gulch. It’s such a nice spot in Nashville to walk around and decompress. My favorite things about Nashville are the restaurants, the music and the people. It’s an experience that I think everyone should have once! The first time driving down Music Row I was just taken back thinking about the people who have made their dreams come true there.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I will never forget what happened on stage when I was little. I was singing and I forgot the words! I was mortified. I didn’t know what to do or say and I ended up saying “I’m sorry I messed up.” It’s funny thinking about it today, but I learned a lot from that moment.

We all make mistakes as an artist and yes I still forget the words sometimes but instead of being embarrassed I just put a smile on my face and keep singing. I realized we are all human and it’s ok to show that we aren’t perfect.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My turning point in my career was when a good friend of mine, Jimmie Allen, asked me to sing with him at one of his concerts. I was going through a very tough time in my life and I felt as if I had lost my voice. I didn’t want to sing anymore. Life had hit me hard and I just wanted to give up. I had forgotten my dreams and the talent within me. Once I started singing the Duet with Jimmie, I was reminded of what my purpose was. I wanted to reach people through my music. As I looked at the crowd my dreams came back to me. That night I made a choice to start singing again. A few months later I made my way to Nashville. I am very grateful for Jimmie and his encouragement. I am at a place now that I am doing what I love to do.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I am so excited that new single, “Who I’m Not“ is out in the world, it’s such a sassy and upbeat song! I have wanted to put a song out like this for a while now. It shows my strong personality and is so much fun to sing to a crowd! What I am most anticipating though is my debut album release! I have worked very hard on this album and I am looking forward to sharing it with the world!

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. I wish someone would have told me to be patient and not focus on what isn’t happening at that moment. It’s hard to be patient in the music industry when you sacrifice so much to make it happen. What I’ve learned is everything happens at the right time and you can’t force timing.
  2. Take time to enjoy your success. Sometimes I am so busy trying to accomplish the next thing that I wasn’t taking the time to appreciate the victories.
  3. Write down your goals. I have a journal that I now write down everything I would like to accomplish in. Every time one of those dreams come true, mark through it. This will help you to not get discouraged and also stay focused.
  4. Take time for yourself. Always take time for your mental health. Whether that be going on a vacation, being outdoors or surrounding yourself with family. Always put aside time to recharge. In this business it can absolutely be exhausting so I learned to take time to rest.
  5. Believe in yourself. I’ve had to remind myself of this many times. If you don’t believe in yourself as an Artist then no one else will. Stop comparing yourself to others. We all have something special to give through our music. Just stay focused on what you have to bring to the table.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Rest when you can! When my career started to take off I was getting burned out terribly. I was exhausted. I wasn’t sleeping and music was the only thing I was thinking about. I have learned that if you don’t take time for yourself you will burn out quickly. Learn to say no and prioritize your time.

If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

That movement would be one of love, kindness and non judgment. We live in a world full of criticism and anger. I would love to encourage people to accept and uplift each other. We never know the burdens that others carry. It only takes one person to change your life. One word of encouragement to bring you from sadness to joy. I would spread a movement of kindness and generosity.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

This quote from Eleanor Roosevelt has been my favorite quote since I was a child. “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”

This quote I have always kept dear to me because if you believe in something so much it will motivate you. It will keep you on the right path. When I lost sight of my dreams I lost my purpose as well. To hold onto a dream is where the beauty comes from. The dream is your purpose!

If you could share a meal with anyone in the world, who would it be and why?

I would love to share a meal with Dolly Parton. I have always wanted to meet her. She has done so much good for others through her successes. I would love to be able to tell her the great impact she has made in my own life through her music. The example she has set for others to stay true to who they are is powerful.

How can our readers follow you online?

I am on all social media platforms

My website is beccabowenmusic.com

IG : @becca_bowen_

Facebook : beccabowenmusic

I also have a Becca Bowen YouTube where I post my performances.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.