Meet Nashville’s Rising Stars: Chris Clark of Tribe 615

An Interview with Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
8 min readMar 28, 2023

--

It’s important to learn about the business of doing business in the music industry BEFORE you’re in the thick of it!

As a part of our series about Nashville’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Chris Clark.

Chris Clark is characterized by his endearing smile, genuine heart and captivating enthusiasm for life and music.

He grew up on the outskirts of the Northern California farmlands where his musical style was cultivated by the likes of John Denver, Toby Keith, Jason Aldean and Luke Bryan.

With a natural knack to chisel out the sensory details of a song, whether within the clever double entendres, the ebb and flow of melodies or abstract productions, every song Chris writes and records has a different texture to offer a unique listening experience. The singer/songwriter reveals a masterful, forward-thinking creative conception weighted in must-hear lyrics and musical textures. His music showcases a talent recognizably set apart by an instinctive artistic individuality that early listeners will applaud.

Chris moved to Nashville in Spring of 2021. In May 2022, he released his debut single, “The Girls Of Tennessee” (produced by Tommy Collier who was instrumental in the launch of Katy Perry’s career). He continues his momentum with the release of his sophomore single, and the original tune, “Glass Half Empty” (March 2023).

ARTIST MATERIALS:

Approved artist materials including tracks, single art and media images may be found here:

Thank you so much for joining us in this series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up?

I grew up in the country on the outskirts of the Northern California farmlands. People don’t think of California and think “country,” but our neighborhood was surrounded by working farms and ranches — from every road to anywhere. I remember listening to John Denver, Toby Keith, Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan and Randy Houser growing up. My dad plays guitar, and we messed around playing and singing just for fun when I was a kid. It really wasn’t until my early twenties that I felt the “tug” toward music as the right direction and a passionate pursuit.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Honestly, I never thought I would be a recording artist. I attended Chico State in CA to become a civil engineer. I worked as a project engineer for a couple years after college and it didn’t take long before I realized I was made for something less corporate and more creative.

I began moonlighting — singing out, recording and writing — while I saved money to move to Nashville. Since moving to Music City, I’ve had the opportunity to work with talented songwriters and veteran producers. I’ve written and recorded a number of tracks, and released my debut single, “Girls Of Tennessee” in 2022. I just celebrated the release of my second single, “Glass Half Empty” which is on country radio now. I co-wrote both songs; recording and releasing these tracks feels like a big accomplishment. Things have been moving so quickly; I feel like I made the right decision to change my direction. Music, and the “creative,” is so incredibly fulfilling.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I went to California to spend some time with my dad a few weeks ago — a guy’s trip. We went to a country show in Roseville, near Sacramento, and I was recognized by some fans who ran up to me during the show. One guy was waving his phone around — my Spotify artist profile was on the screen — and he asked me, “are you Chris Clark?”

It was the first time being “spotted.” It was the most amazing experience being noticed by someone I’d never even met. He and his friends told me they loved my single “The Girls of Tennessee” and that made my week. Best “story” since I launched my music career!

Can you share with us an interesting story about living in Nashville?

(If you do not reside in Nashville or recorded elsewhere, share your point of view of the recording process and where you did record.)

There are a lot of “Nashville” stories I could share, but my most recent experience at Hilltop Recording Studio in Nashville was probably the best to date. I recorded at Hilltop with my producer, Kolt Barber; we recorded four songs. Kolt and the session players were total pros. It was a real eye-opener as a learning experience. I was so surprised at how quickly these amazing tracks were turned from paper to musical magic. It strengthens the reasons to network in Nashville, and to surround yourself by a talented and entrusted team to be able to turn records into GOLD at such a professional level. Nashville has a lot of GOLD; you just have to look for it!

Can you share with us an interesting story about living in Nashville?

I love the people of Nashville; I love the camaraderie of the community, and I love the vibe! Nashville is a special place for those reasons and many more. It’s a tight-knit community of artists, songwriters, producers, sound engineers, session players, band performers and dreamers. I’ve enjoyed the opportunity to meet, collaborate and befriend quite a few of these talented individuals. It’s been a blessing.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Beware of Sharks! They’re not just in the sea; there’s a sea of them in Nashville, Tennessee! The biggest mistake I made in the beginning of my career was not doing my research and being educated. When it comes to songwriting and production splits, particularly the ownership of masters, there are formalities and paperwork that need to be put into place. I learned the hard way about copyrights, work-for-hire and production agreements.

It’s important to learn about the business of doing business in the music industry BEFORE you’re in the thick of it!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person, or persons, who helped you to get where you are? Can you share a story about their support or advice?

There are so many that have helped me “along the way;” through life experiences and in the music business.

Too many to name. First, I thank God for his direction and the gift. I’m thankful to my parents who have faith and belief in me. My parents have been my support system as my biggest fans. I’m grateful for my team to lend their talents and expertise to point me in the right direction to make sound decisions and understand the meaning of what it takes to be a music industry professional. Thanks to ALL of them, I feel like I am on the right path to chase my dream to become a career recording artist.

Tell us about the new projects you are working on now or planning for the future.

I’m rolling out a waterfall series of singles over the next several months. I’ve co-written all of them and I’m proud of the recordings. We’ve filmed the music video for “Glass Half Empty” and have other video projects in cue. Filming the music video was a great experience and I love the energy of filming. We’re gonna bring that energy to you!

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

I wish someone would have told me how small this town is, everyone runs in the same circles and people “talk.”

I wish someone would have told me about copyright, production and songwriting agreements to ward off any misunderstandings and enable me an understanding of what is and what isn’t, as it relates to music ownership and royalties.

The best thing that folks have told me is…stay Independent as long as you can!

I wish someone would have told me that Nashville “hot chicken” can be REALLY hot!

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I would say…

If you have all of the qualities required of the industry on paper, the biggest thing that matters here in Nashville is to “PRESS ON!”

Everything else can be taught to you…

I heard this from my consultant and dear friend Preshias Harris some time ago and I agree.

Persistence and determination are either with you, or against you. I cannot stress this enough.

Passion leads to persistence which clears the way for opportunity, which will always beat “practice.”

Like they say, “preparation mixed with opportunity is luck, only if anyone can try and fail. But some don’t see failure as a loss, but rather a reason to get back up and try again.”

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

That’s a tough question. I think if I could inspire a movement, it would be to “respect one another.” There is so much hatred and evil in the world. Our society has kind of become self-absorbed and inward. …Folks with short fuses when it comes to “freedom of speech,” personal, political or financially-driven agendas… To accept, respect one another as “we are,” and as God intended, is a “movement” that could change the world, and that’s the person I hope “to be” for others.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Press On!”

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I’d really like to visit with my Papa, James Clark, over lunch or a beer. My grandfather passed away in November 2018; he was one of my greatest influences. He built our family business with my grandmother to create one of the largest precast concrete companies in the world. He taught me the quote “PRESS ON” and I live by it. I think he’s still with me every day pressing me on to pursue my dream of becoming a successful and meaningful recording artist.

Where can readers follow you online?

You can follow me and my music on the following (but not limited to):

  • Website: www.OfficialChrisClark.com
  • Instagram: @ChrisClarkOfficialMusic
  • Facebook: Chris Clark Music
  • YouTube: @ChrisClarkOfficialMusic
  • ALL STREAMING PLATFORMS (iTunes/Spotify/Pandora/YouTube)

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music