Meet Nashville’s Rising Stars: Marie Wise-Hawkins

An Interview With Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
6 min readApr 24, 2023

--

The best part about living in Nashville is the community of musicians. Everywhere you go, there is live music; you can’t beat that! For me, it’s meeting people from all around the world on a daily basis at Tootsie’s who share the same love of country music as I do.

As a part of our series about Nashville’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Marie Wise-Hawkins.

Marie Wise-Hawkins is a singer-songwriter from California who has been making her mark in country music. She has performed at the Ryman Auditorium and has found a niche in country music with her unique breezy coastal sound. Her latest release, “Somewhere In Mexico,” captures the essence of the beach lifestyle with catchy melodies and lyrics that evoke images of the beach and the ocean. Wise-Hawkins uses acoustic instruments like guitars, steel drums, and horns to create a relaxed tropical atmosphere that makes people feel like they’re on vacation. Her music is perfect for anyone looking to relax and unwind. Wise Hawkins has had the privilege to share the stage with some of Country Music’s top-named acts and currently plays six days a week at Nashville’s Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge.

Thank you so much for joining us in this series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up?

I was born in sunny California with a family who lived and breathed country music. My Grandma Mary lived in Red Mountain, a very small desert town in the Mojave desert. Some of my earliest memories are riding through the mojave desert listening to Dwight Yokam, Merle Haggard, Ricky Van Shelton and Buck Owens with her.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I’ve been singing for as long as I can remember — since I was two years old — and have always had a love for country music. I grew up singing at church, at community and school events and started my own band at the age of 11. When I was young, I listened to LeAnn Rimes on repeat and learned how to yodel while listening to her. From there I continued to grow, I had band practice every friday with a group of guys that my mom wrangled up. Started a band in junior high school. Then, while in college at Cal Arts, I was in a bluegrass band while I got my bachelor’s degree in classical voice, but my heart and soul belonged in Country.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

While pursuing my love of country, I got to perform at the Ryman Auditorium and was one of the finalists in the Country Showdown. I even got to Yodel with LeAnn Rimes and performed with the houseband including Legendary Charlie McCoy. That was hands down the greatest experience of my life and such a full circle moment!

Can you share with us an interesting story about living in Nashville?

Everyday performing downtown at Tootsie’s is always a different surprise! I’ve seen some pretty wild things down there and you never know who’s going to walk through the door. Just last year, Jimmy Fallon popped up on stage and sang a few songs with us.

Can you share with us a few of the best parts of living in Nashville? We’d love to hear some specific examples or stories about that.

The best part about living in Nashville is the community of musicians. Everywhere you go, there is live music; you can’t beat that! For me, it’s meeting people from all around the world on a daily basis at Tootsie’s who share the same love of country music as I do.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I learned at a young age you have to take your voice health seriously. I didn’t rest before my 8th-grade graduation, and my voice cracked so bad that day singing the high notes on “I Will Always Love You.” I’m still traumatized hearing that song!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Yes, my mom has always pushed me in my career and was always driving me around to shows as a young girl. She always made sure I had shows to play and rehearsals with my band on a weekly basis. If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t be the performer I am today.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

A trilogy of songs with the first song from the trilogy of songs ‘’Somewhere in Mexico’’ just released on April 21st. The next songs, “Find Me On A Beach” releases May 19th, and “Island Time” will follow on June 16th. I’m so excited for these releases and for the world to finally hear them!

What are “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Share a story or example for each.

You can’t just be good at singing! Having people in your band and team who completely have the same mindset and are on the same page as you, be authentic and true to you, be disciplined, it’s a climb not a race and keep the faith! It’s important who you associate with and it’s so important that you and your band have the same core values. I’m very blessed and grateful for my band and team that I have.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

It’s important to be persistent and continue to work hard towards your dreams, but with that being said it’s important to take time to recharge your batteries and to rest mentally, physically and vocally. I can’t emphasize that enough.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

This brings to mind the Elvis quote, ‘’Without a song, the day would never end; without a song, a man ain’t got a friend; without a song, the road would never bend- without a song.” So I keep singing a song.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me,” Phillippians 4:13

God is my life source and who helps me through the hardest of times. I wouldn’t be where I am today without him and the strength he gives to me. I’m a very spiritual person and believe in the power of prayer.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why?

Jimmy Buffett, as he is the biggest influence on my sound and new music! I’d love to get life and career advice from him. He has built an incredible platform for himself.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music