Meet Nashville’s Rising Stars: Omer Netzer

An Interview With Edward Sylvan

--

Never give up. Have courage. Be brave. Love one another. Have sympathy for others.

As a part of our series about Nashville’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Omer Netzer.

Omer Netzer is Israel’s biggest country music entertainer and the hottest ticket among mass audiences in his home country His smokin’ hot guitar talents, combined with gritty vocals, soulful sound and humble boyish charm set him apart as a country music heartthrob to watch.

Omer is characterized by his outspoken pride in God and a country way of life as a common thread in his core beliefs. His recordings combine a mix of blues and southern rock; his gripping vocals and impeccable electric guitar skills are attention-getters from the get-go.

Proficient on guitar and drums, the instrumentalist and captivating vocalist has been likened to some of the most renowned entertainers across the globe, and some of his personal heroes, including John Mayer, Chris Stapleton, Eric Clapton and B.B. King.

The army veteran (serving three years) launched his music career in 2015 with the debut album GOODBYE SONG. An instant success, the record highlighted hit singles “Angel,” “Couldn’t Love You More” and the title track “Goodbye Song.” Continuing his momentum, Netzer embarked on a sold-out tour in Israel and welcomed invitations to perform at various festivals throughout Germany, Lithuania, Switzerland, Russia and the United States.

His sophomore album, titled SWEET MISTAKE and released in 2017, solidified his stature as a country music star in all of Israel. An extraordinary and talented guitarist, powerful vocalist, with a commanding stage presence and enchanting charisma, Omer Netzer is a trendsetter — to take the first step in carrying the torch to open the door for hopeful country artists to follow.

Omer performed at the esteemed international festival “SZIGET” alongside some of the world’s top entertainers. His song, “Trouble Maker,” was selected as the soundtrack for the festival’s corresponding international digital campaign.

His endeavor led him to take part in the historical Cerbul De Aur Festival in Brașov Romania where he shared the spotlight with Bon Jovi, Albert Lee, Riley Walker and the folk-pop group, Milky Chance. Omer has played at the prestigious B.B. King and City Winery stages in New York City, and was selected as a candidate to participate in the International Blues Challenge in Memphis (January 2020).

His music video, “I Can Stand It,” was recognized as “Video Of The Year” at the Catharsis International Film Festival in Belgium.

Thank you so much for joining us in this series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up?

Thank you for having me!

My parents have a music store in Nahariya, Israel; I grew up surrounded by all kinds of variations and styles of music, musicians and instruments. As a young teen, I was always playing and searching for different types of music; that’s how I discovered country music.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I became a soldier at the age of 18 and found myself in a battle fight for my country and friends. When I concluded my tenure with the army, I worked with horses which became a passion, but music is my true passion — although they seem to be very closely related. I trusted my faith and went full power with the gift that God gave me to concentrate on my music.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I think the most interesting and best story is from when I returned from a tour around Europe. I received the invitation to open for Bon Jovi. It was a surreal career moment for me that I will never forget.

Can you share with us an interesting story about living in Nashville?

The first time that I played in Nashville, I fell in love with the people; they accepted me with open arms and big hugs. The fans and community are extremely welcoming and don’t judge because I’m not from here. Whenever I’d come to visit Nashville, I felt like I was born here; it feels like home.

Can you share with us a few of the best parts of living in Nashville? We’d love to hear some specific examples or stories about that.

I get to wear my boots all the time (except when I do Crossfit!) There is always music playing, where I can sit, grab a beer and enjoy at any time.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I threw my mic into the crowd at a show by accident one time. It was funny, but I learned my lesson to be more careful, especially on stage.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I’d like to share a story with you about my grandmother. My grandmother bought me my first acoustic guitar and it’s the very one that I wrote my first album with. She also bought my Gibson Les Paul guitar and that’s the guitar I started playing live shows with. She told me before she passed away that no matter what happens, never stop doing what you love. I take her word to heart.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m writing a lot; preparing to release my first country album in the U.S.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

1. Never give up.

2. Have courage.

3. Be brave.

4. Love one another.

5. Have sympathy for others.

The story behind these 5 things is that sometimes people can bring you down, so the more important thing is to hold onto your beliefs, who you are and your family and friends.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

My biggest tip is: don’t ever stop writing.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Participating in sports has helped me a lot; even when it’s hard, you learn not to give up!

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

The only easy day was yesterday. If you have a bad day, always remember tomorrow is a new day.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-).

I’d enjoy having lunch with John Mayer; he is an extraordinary musician and a successful recording artist who I’ve always looked up to.

How can our readers follow you online?

Follow me on all of my platforms! I have attached my link tree below. Thanks so much!

https://linktr.ee/omernetzer

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

About The Interviewer: Growing up in Canada, Edward Sylvan was an unlikely candidate to make a mark on the high-powered film industry based in Hollywood. But as CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc, (SEGI) Sylvan is among a select group of less than ten Black executives who have founded, own and control a publicly traded company. Now, deeply involved in the movie business, he is providing opportunities for people of color.

In 2020, he was appointed president of the Monaco International Film Festival, and was encouraged to take the festival in a new digital direction.

Raised in Toronto, he attended York University where he studied Economics and Political Science, then went to work in finance on Bay Street, (the city’s equivalent of Wall Street). After years of handling equities trading, film tax credits, options trading and mergers and acquisitions for the film, mining and technology industries, in 2008 he decided to reorient his career fully towards the entertainment business.

With the aim of helping Los Angeles filmmakers of color who were struggling to understand how to raise capital, Sylvan wanted to provide them with ways to finance their creative endeavors.

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.