Meet The Disruptors: Christine Willson of Khira Fashions On The Five Things You Need To Shake Up Your Industry

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readApr 3, 2023

--

Re-brand when necessary. Ex: I started off trying to get into the fast fashion side of business and found I was not as proud of my products because they didn’t represent my brand the way I envisioned so I invested in quality fabrics and rebranded into luxury resort wear

As a part of our series about business leaders who are shaking things up in their industry, I had the pleasure of interviewing Christine Willson.

Christine Willson is a Fashion Entreprenuer. She is the founder of Khira Fashions. British born, with an origin from Sierra Leone, West Africa, Ms. Willson blends a fusion of Western and African designs to create her designs.

Christine spent years creating clothes for herself, many of which were adored. She loved giving her outfits as gifts to friends who were excited to wear them. Her fashion company, Khira Fashions, was founded in September 2021, as a result of the numerous praises she received. What was once a hobby turned into a business!

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

Being of Sierra Leonean origin, it’s normal to get your outfit custom made. Friends of mine who love the outfits have had first dibs on them throughout the years. I gifted many special occasion dresses and tops. Friends repeatedly reminded me of my passion for design and encouraged me to start a fashion line. In September of 2021, I decided to turn my passion for design into a business. The Birth of Khira Fashions, LLC.

Can you tell our readers what it is about the work you’re doing that’s disruptive?

I say it’s disruptive because I focus on a demographic of women aged 30 and up. As women, our bodies change through motherhood or simply just as we mature. Some of us struggle to hold on to that slim body. I travel quite a bit, and see women struggling to cover up with sarongs or the cover up does not cover all the areas they would like covered.

Women would like to feel sexy with a little conservatism, hence the reason I design resort wear that are flowy. You can rock them over your swim wear or wear the sets as is and look and feel beautiful.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Funniest and most expensive mistake I made is buying from wholesalers, seeing the market flooded with the same items and fabrics that include plastic. It wasn’t long before I decided, I will have designs made exclusively for Khira Fashions.

We all need a little help along the journey. Who have been some of your mentors? Can you share a story about how they made an impact?

Mentor: I can’t say I have a mentor though my fashion design journey. I have my cousin Claudia who saw my vision and helped me choose fabrics abroad, and shipped me the samples that were made from my designs.

My mother’s hard work ethic has created an impact in my life and in my business. I watched her work very hard as a registered nurse to give us a better life. She was also a FASHAWNISTA.

In today’s parlance, being disruptive is usually a positive adjective. But is disrupting always good? When do we say the converse, that a system or structure has ‘withstood the test of time’? Can you articulate to our readers when disrupting an industry is positive, and when disrupting an industry is ‘not so positive’? Can you share some examples of what you mean?

Disrupting an industry is positive when you cater to a group that needs a product. Baby boomers and their children are all about the age where a comfortable chic outfit on vacation is a must. We set a new standard to allow women who are no longer comfortable in a sexy bathing suit to be comfortable while wearing our various cover up products (bright and bold kimonos, & kaftans). The pieces are flowy, and due to the fine silk/chiffon fabrics used; they fold very small into your luggage. I have clients that wear our products at home while entertaining guests, and to bridal showers. Some of the Kaftans and Kimonos give that royal look.

When an Industry disruption is ‘not so positive’, When people misunderstand your market. In our case, we are not replacing the sexy bathing suit. We created flexibility and a choice for women. We have women under 30 who love the 3-piece sets. When your product is misunderstood, negative comments/feedback can lead to a not so positive disruption.

Supply chain Risks. We purchase our fabrics abroad; therefore, any man-made or natural disaster can be disruptive.

Can you share five of the best words of advice you’ve gotten along your journey? Please give a story or example for each.

  • Stay competitive. Ex: always staying alert for new trends
  • Don’t be afraid to price your products, your fabrics are unique. Ex: lowering the price of products out of fear that they would not sell.
  • You need a team to help you grow. Ex: learning how to outsource to help my business grow
  • Get a professional photographer. Ex: the quality of the pictures translates well for Instagram and our website
  • Re-brand when necessary. Ex: I started off trying to get into the fast fashion side of business and found I was not as proud of my products because they didn’t represent my brand the way I envisioned so I invested in quality fabrics and rebranded into luxury resort wear

We are sure you aren’t done. How are you going to shake things up next?

My first love was deigning dresses for special occasions. I’m pretty sure that will be the next stage for Khira Fashions.

Do you have a book, podcast, or talk that’s had a deep impact on your thinking? Can you share a story with us? Can you explain why it was so resonant with you?

Book — Just As I am by Cicely Tyson, A story of black women in America, past and present. A favorite quote of hers “I am an observer of human nature and the dreamer of audacious dreams”. This book resonates with me because her story depicts the realities of many women in her generation, especially women in Hollywood. She waited till almost the end of her life to narrate her personal experiences. She paved the way for Black women. She has me feeling “Greater is coming”

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Some people come into your life for a lifetime, and some come for a season. Don’t be afraid when they fall off, they are not equipped to handle the altitude that you are going to” Tyler Perry. I have learned not to take people leaving me on this journey of life as personal as I used to. I move in forgiveness in order to be able to receive the wonderful things I will be Blessed with.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I will continue to inspire humanitarian movements. I am currently an executive member for a non-profit helping orphans and displaced children in Sierra Leone. Empowering young adults to get educated and utilize their skills, to provide for themselves and their families.

How can our readers follow you online?

Website: https://www.khirafashions.com

Instagram: @Khirafashions

Facebook: Khirafashions

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

--

--