Meet The Disruptors: Tristan Schukraft of MISTR On The Five Things You Need To Shake Up Your Industry

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readApr 11, 2023

My older brother told me when I was young, “you need to stay focused.” I had all these ideas for businesses, and he told me to focus on one otherwise I’d never be successful…I listened, and he was right.

As a part of our series about business leaders who are shaking things up in their industry, I had the pleasure of interviewing Tristan Schukraft, CEO & Founder of MISTR.

Tristan Schukraft is the founder and CEO of MISTR, a telemedicine company focused on HIV prevention, serving over 150,000 patients in all 50 states, D.C. and Puerto Rico. In addition to MISTR, Tristan Schukraft has founded a portfolio of tech-focused companies within the healthcare and hospitality industries, and most recently acquired The Tryst hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

I’m a serial entrepreneur. I love to solve problems and am willing to take risks, which is important in this field. At the age of 21, I founded ID90.COM, a travel website giving hoteliers a unique opportunity to sell their last-minute distressed inventory to airline employees. From there, I was responsible for developing and managing a turn-around strategy for Frontiers Media, and in 2013 took on two long-term incumbents for West Hollywood’s City Council. I created MISTR as a member of the LGBTQ+ community that experienced the overcomplicated process of prescribing and delivering lifesaving medications. I saw an opportunity to simplify and reduce the inconveniences that existed in the process and thus came the platform that MISTR is today.

Can you tell our readers what it is about the work you’re doing that’s disruptive?

We’re breaking down barriers to HIV prevention and care. For the first time in a generation, we have the opportunity to eliminate HIV by getting those who are negative on PrEP, and those who are positive virally suppressed (also known as U = U or Undetectable + untransmissible). There are numerous hurdles to accessing and adhering to PrEP, but the repeated doctor visits and cost of the required lab testing are by far the biggest. We eliminated both. Our service is completely free and can be done online at-home.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Funny or gut check? I’ve learned a lot over the years. However, three experiences stick out in my mind. The first, I was 19 years and imported a bunch of Razor scooters six weeks before Christmas in multiple colors, and I quickly sold out of the reds, blues, and blacks. However, it was six weeks later, (on Christmas Eve) I sold the final six yellow ones for half price. The lesson, keep your inventory simple (i.e., the black model T).

The second, only hire people that share your vision. Years ago, I had one employee who I was always trying to “get onboard,” and now I realize that it was a waste of time. The people around need to believe in your vision.

The final (or third…there are more) is the old age, “Don’t put all your eggs in one basket.” I had an investor who was great, and so I turned down money from another prospective investor, which was fine until we no longer saw eye to eye. Always best to diversify.

We all need a little help along the journey. Who have been some of your mentors? Can you share a story about how they made an impact?

I never had a mentor but have definitely always been inspired by Sir Richard Branson. When you come across a visionary like Sir Richard Branson, you can’t help but appreciate all the ways he’s revolutionized industries that have typically been run the same way for decades. He inspires me to look within at the ways I can evolve the industries I occupy.

In today’s parlance, being disruptive is usually a positive adjective. But is disrupting always good? When do we say the converse, that a system or structure has ‘withstood the test of time’? Can you articulate to our readers when disrupting an industry is positive, and when disrupting an industry is ‘not so positive’? Can you share some examples of what you mean?

I choose to view the world through the lens of the people I admire, so to me it’s a positive adjective. Solutions evolve as advancements are made over time and if a better solution is possible as time goes on, we should adapt accordingly. There will always be pushback and opposition to new ideas or processes, but people will always eventually come around to a truly positive “disruption”.

Can you share five of the best words of advice you’ve gotten along your journey? Please give a story or example for each.

My older brother told me when I was young, “you need to stay focused.” I had all these ideas for businesses, and he told me to focus on one otherwise I’d never be successful…I listened, and he was right.

We are sure you aren’t done. How are you going to shake things up next?

I’ve promised my partner no more businesses, but I’m always observing things and thinking I could do this better. I really have my hands full, but I’ve always wanted to start an airline…then I would say I’m done.

Do you have a book, podcast, or talk that’s had a deep impact on your thinking? Can you share a story with us? Can you explain why it was so resonant with you?

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff and It’s All Small Stuff by Richard Carlson. I think the title says it all. An easy read, and really helps you put things into perspective.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Never ventured, nothing gained. So many people are afraid to fail that they never take the risk. I think that’s why there are so many entrepreneurial success stories that take place after one has been laid off, for they are forced into taking the risk.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-).

I hope I can inspire a new generation of problem solvers like myself. If everyone sought to solve a problem in the world, we’d have a lot less of them and life would be a lot more convenient. At present, I hope to continue to inspire people to take their sexual health into their own hands with services like MISTR.

How can our readers follow you online?

LinkedIn

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

--

--