Mental Health Champions: How Dr. La Keita Carter of Institute for HEALing Is Helping To Promote Mental Health Awareness

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
12 min readJun 1, 2021

--

…I promote my own emotional wellness through self-care. I workout every day. I vary my workouts so that I don’t get bored with them, and I typically include a rotation of lifting weights and cycling. I enjoy date nights with my spouse, and we particularly like fine dining restaurants. I also love cooking and baking myself.

As a part of our series about Mental Health Champions helping to promote mental wellness, I had the pleasure to interview Dr. La Keita Carter.

Dr. La Keita Carter is a mental health expert with specializations in rape trauma, women’s issues and relationships, addictions, telehealth treatment, and cultural competence in mental health providers. Based in Maryland, Dr. Carter holds three licenses as a psychologist, professional-counselor supervisor (LCPC-S), and alcohol and drug counselor (LCADC) with certifications in rape trauma, telehealth, and clinical supervision. She is the owner and CEO of the Institute for HEALing, LLC, an mental health wellness agency, psychology professor (at the

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator