Mental Health Champions: Why & How Basiliso Moreno of BasCity Entertainment Is Helping To Champion Mental Wellness

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readSep 29, 2022

Practice self care- Whatever that looks like for you. From watching your favorite TV shows, listening to podcasts, going to a sporting event, concert. Whatever it is do something fun that you want to do for yourself.

As a part of our series about Mental Health Champions helping to promote mental wellness, I had the pleasure to interview Basiliso Moreno, LMSW.

Basiliso is a Licensed Masters Level Social Worker in the State of Delaware. He is the founder of BasCity Entertainment LLC, home for online holistic self-care for social workers and mental health professionals using poetry and Zumba. Earlier this summer, Basiliso self-published his poetry book, “Triumph Through Pain: How to Maximize Your Full Potential During Hard Times”, available on Amazon.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

I grew up an only child with both my parents in the Highbridge section of the Bronx, NY. My dad was the breadwinner however my mom was on welfare. I had my 2 cousins who came over quite a bit and had fun horseplaying. My mom would go to college and received her Associates Degree in Early Childhood Education. I would go to Yankee games on occasion especially since it was walking distance from my house.

You are currently leading a social impact organization that is helping to promote mental wellness. Can you tell us a bit about what you or your organization are trying to address?

I started BasCity Entertainment LLC in October 2020 during the Covid pandemic to help my fellow social workers deal with the stress of helping clients during Covid. During this time period, I started writing poetry to cope with the losses of my clients and my mom from Covid.

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

During 2020, I started learning about business formation just to learn something and distract myself from all the work and personal trauma I was going through. I was focused on getting some of my finances in order and learning more about finances. It really wasn’t until September 2020 after moving to Delaware from NYC, I began to even think about starting my business. I always wanted to give back somehow to the profession. I already host a social work podcast called The Social Work Rants Podcast. I am also a licensed Zumba instructor since December 2018. I decided to mix my two worlds of social work and Zumba to create my version of a holistic world of self care.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest them. They don’t get up and just do it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and do it? What was that final trigger?

I didn’t have an Aha Moment per say, I was learning about finances and business formation, I decided in October 2020, to pull the trigger and opened my LLC. I call it “shooting my shot”.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

I started writing what would eventually be my poetry book. Poetry can out of nowhere. One day I was sitting on the couch and these words popped in my head. I just started writing in a notebook. Soon enough I had a couple of poems. As time progressed, I had these poems and decided to publish a book.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

The biggest cheerleader is my wife Jenisse. She has supported me throughout my journey. One of the poems in my book “My MVP of Quarantine” is about her. She always participates in my Zumba classes.

According to Mental Health America’s report, over 44 million Americans have a mental health condition. Yet there’s still a stigma about mental illness. Can you share a few reasons you think this is so?

The older generation did not believe in therapy. Culture plays a big part in the stigma. Historically in the Black and Latino/Latinx communities there is a huge stigma with getting mental health treatment. “Therapy is for crazy people”. The younger generation of folks understand the importance of talking to someone.

In your experience, what should a) individuals b) society, and c) the government do to better support people suffering from mental illness?

The government needs to be spending more money in mental health treatment. Non-profit social service agencies rely on Medicaid dollars to keep clinics open. The government in the state and federal level should not be cutting Medicaid and Medicare.

We need to continue to have conversations regarding ending the stigma of mental illness. Covid and its aftermath, has exacerbated the need for mental health treatment. Many are suffering from depression, anxiety, PTSD from losing loved ones from Covid. We need more therapists, social workers, school psychologists, school counselors more than ever. Funding is needed for hiring.

From an individual perspective, if a person is experiencing any psychiatric symptoms, seek help immediately.

What are your 5 strategies you use to promote your own wellbeing and mental wellness? Can you please give a story or example for each?

Writing has always helped me to express what I feel. Writing my poetry book, helped with my grief after losing my mom.

Dancing has also helped with my mood. Zumba has not only helped me mentally but physically hb vbas well. I encourage anyone if able, to bust out a couple of moves to relieve some stress.

Talk to someone- express to someone how are you feeling.

Listening to music. Music especially 90s hip hop and R&B for me makes me feel better and puts me in a better mood.

Practice self care- Whatever that looks like for you. From watching your favorite TV shows, listening to podcasts, going to a sporting event, concert. Whatever it is do something fun that you want to do for yourself.

What are your favorite books, podcasts, or resources that inspire you to be a mental health champion?

The Earn Your Leisure Podcast has educated me on starting my business and improve on my podcast. I like listening to some of my favorite social work podcasts like The Melanated Social Work Podcast; The Joi of Social Work Podcast, Social Workers Rise. As far as a book, Money Master the Game by Tony Robbins and Latinx in Social Work Volume 1.

If you could tell other people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

Our country is divided politically, social-economically. We are still in a pandemic. More people are on edge, from trauma. We need to try and be calmer, learn to agree to disagree on opinions. Saying thank you and showing gratitude means a lot nowadays.

How can our readers follow you online?

I am on Instagram and Tik Tok at @Bascityentertainmentllc. My website is Basmoreno.com. My book “Triumph Through Pain: How to Maximize Your Full Potential During Hard Times is on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. My podcast is on Youtube (The Social Work Rants Podcast).

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator