Mental Health Champions: Why & How Dr. Jessica Leon Of Therapist To Go Is Helping To Champion Mental Wellness

An Interview With Michelle Tennant Nicholson

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine

--

Morning Routine-My morning routine consists of breathing strategies, affirmations and outside patio journaling. I love being surrounded by nature, taking in the fresh air, the sounds of birds and being outdoors. Journaling by my pool is amazing because I hear the water dropping as well.

As a part of our series about Mental Health Champions helping to promote mental wellness, I had the pleasure to interview Dr. Jessica Leon.

Dr. Jessica Leon founded Therapist to Go over 15 years ago, and now has seen a significant increase in demand since COVID, particularly among the Gen Z. age group. Dr. Leon believes that this particular group is in desperate need of help. Her recent appearance on a client’s podcast introduced her to the world of social influencers, and she now sees how she can reach and assist even more young people than she previously imagined possible.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

I was born and raised in Miami, Florida and lived there until heading off to college at age 18. I grew up in an upper-middle class household with my parents and younger sister. My family and most of our friends were on a path to success from a relatively young age. We had the ability to attend good schools and had access to extracurricular activities as well. Everyone around me seemed to be thriving, except for me. I didn’t know it at the time, but I had ADHD and was suffering (in academics) which led to feelings of inadequacy. Then, in third grade, everything changed. I joined the softball team and quickly rose in popularity. Being a member of the team and making connections changed my life.

You are currently leading an initiative that is helping to promote mental wellness. Can you tell us a bit more specifically about what you are trying to address?

Therapist To Go was created with one goal in mind. To make mental health support accessible to all by meeting at a comfortable and convenient place. I also connect well with teens and young people because of my past and my inability to have that support when I needed it most. Not everyone connects well with every age population. For me, I connect with the Gen Z age group (aged 11–26). I believe that there needs to be an initiative for mental health that comes from the mindset of prevention, awareness, and the understanding of brain health. The way our mind works is key. We see the differences in coping and problem solving once someone has been given the tools. What is important here is the curriculum. Once you understand the connection between one thing and another, you are more likely to make better choices.

The areas that I address are:

1. Sleep

2. Nutrition

3. Movement

4. Self-Talk

5. Connections

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

During my early days of babysitting, through my masters and PhD degrees, internships, and now my South Florida-based private practice, Therapist To Go, I have always had a passion for working with kids, teenagers, and young adults. When I was younger, I had unmet needs and no one to turn to for assistance (other than a teacher or parent). I wanted to be the person I needed back then. I began doing volunteer work and babysitting for foster children because I loved working with them and wanted to help. I stayed in my pursuit of the goal of one day starting my own business after realizing the effect I had on kids and the comments I received from others about my interactions.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest them. They don’t get up and just do it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and do it? What was that final trigger?

What was my final trigger, adversity! I had some setbacks in college but the naysayers, instead of squashing my hopes, actually accelerated them. Facing my own struggles head on fueled me to prove them wrong. I became desperate and determined to make something of myself. I wanted bragging rights. So, I took a step back, regrouped and made my own bucket list. One by one, they all started getting checked off. My sheer will power, and determination pushed me to succeed.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

Since starting Therapist To Go, I’ve had a lot of memorable experiences! Of the many, here is one that stands out. It was 2014 and Oprah Winfrey was coming to South Florida. I was not a big event or concert goer at the time. I decided that not only would I go, but I would also get VIP front row seats and go alone to the event. For me this was a turning point in my life. The people who I looked up to and modeled myself after were right there, in front of me. I was able to meet and greet everyone thanks to my VIP backstage experience. Because I was in the front row and having just met them, the speakers all made mention of me during the lectures. It was thrilling. As I left the event, I was overcome with appreciation, gratitude, and it was the first time in my life that I knew I was on the right path. It was a special moment that I will always cherish and remember.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

My Grandma my Mommom, was in fact my hero. She gave me the courage to chase my dreams since she believed in me and encouraged me. She was always there for me. I learned a great deal from her. She was the most resilient person I’ve ever met. Being her granddaughter made me incredibly proud. She was the only member of her Romanian-born family to have survived the Holocaust. Being a Holocaust survivor has everything to do with what I learned from her. She was kind and giving. She talked about her courage and what she endured to survive. I called her every single morning and evening. I lost my grandma in April 2020, but will always be grateful for her love and support. I still miss her.

According to Mental Health America’s report, over 44 million Americans have a mental health condition. Yet there’s still a stigma about mental illness. Can you share a few reasons you think this is so?

I believe that one of the biggest reasons that there is such a stigma surrounding mental illness starts off with labeling it as a mental illness. Let’s change the narrative and refer to it as mental wellness rather than a mental illness. Instead of a negative approach, let’s adopt a more positive one. In addition, there have been many reports and tons of shares by healthcare and mental health providers stating that “1 in 5 Americans will experience a mental illness each year. 1 in 5 children, either currently or at some point during their life, have had a seriously debilitating mental illness. “This statement is from the CDC.

And this claim is what keeps the stigma alive! It is not one in five. The true statistic is that 5 out of 5 people will deal with a mental health issue at least one time in their life. Period. We all experience some form of pain. We will eliminate the stigma once we normalize it and accept that it is you also, not just them.

In your experience, what should a) individuals b) society, and c) the government do to better support people suffering from mental illness?

A. Individuals- We need to take a better look at ourselves and work on our own self-talk. We all have self-limiting ideas and by recognizing them, you will be better able to use them in positive ways. Once you realize that your mind and body are connected, you will understand how important sleep, nutrition, self-talk, and connections are to your mental wellness.

B. Society- As mental health providers, we understand the science behind mental wellness, but the average American doesn’t have a clue. Just as you go to the dentist with a toothache or a doctor for a cold, society needs to start embracing mental wellness checkups the same. The more we focus on preventative measures, the better the outcome for individuals, families, and society.

C. Government- I believe there needs to be a national movement; A social movement where the local government works with the national government to make the changes that were mentioned above. We need a shift in our mindset to put mental wellness next to physical wellness, as a priority. This should include a mental wellness curriculum starting in elementary schools.

What are your 5 strategies you use to promote your own well-being and mental wellness? Can you please give a story or example for each?

1. Morning Routine-My morning routine consists of breathing strategies, affirmations and outside patio journaling. I love being surrounded by nature, taking in the fresh air, the sounds of birds and being outdoors. Journaling by my pool is amazing because I hear the water dropping as well.

2. Midday-Each day, I take brain breaks. One way to clear your mind is using aromatherapy. Sensory integration with fidgets and soothing music such as reggae or brown noise is my go-to. Additionally, l cleanse my hands in between sessions, metaphorically, to release energy from one person to the next. I may look at inspirational photos, but I always take time to pause.

3. Nighttime Routine- My nighttime routine consists of self-care, more affirmations, and journaling. I typically spend between 30–45 minutes before bed on my nighttime routine. This allows time for winding down, feeling gratitude for the day, and grounding myself.

4. Random Acts of Kindness (RAK)-I love RAK. I think RAK not only helps the receiver; it also can improve your own mental wellness. Some examples that I like to do are paying for someone’s coffee, going out of my way to hold the door for someone, smiling at a stranger, giving a compliment, or giving an extra big tip. I aim for 5 a day!

5. Humor-I tend to use humor to handle a challenging or embarrassing moment. In addition, I will use humor when going out of my comfort zone. By doing this, it creates a shared experience and can deepen empathy. And after all, who doesn’t like a lighthearted conversation?

What are your favorite books, podcasts, or resources that inspire you to be a mental health champion?

Choosing a favorite book, podcast and resource is difficult as I have many but if I had to choose, I would say:

Brené Brown empowers women and teaches them to embrace their flaws, to put up boundaries and to be more assertive.

Dr. Amen is another favorite. He is one of my mentors and teaches the how and why of brain health.

Huberman Lab is also all about the brain and its performance.

Oh, Shift is a book about learning different perspectives and how to shift your way to make meaning and respond to things.

The Daily Smile was something I started listening to during the pandemic. It was created to offset the horrible news we were all receiving constantly.

If you could tell other people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

It’s important to remember that our words and actions have the power to shape someone’s day, or even their entire outlook on life. Taking a moment to express gratitude or acknowledge someone’s efforts can not only make them feel appreciated, but also inspire them to continue making positive contributions. So, let’s make a conscious effort to spread kindness and encouragement whenever possible, and see the ripple effect it can have.

How can our readers follow you online?

My website is www.therapisttogo.net

Also feel free to connect with me on my social media channels,

Instagram, Facebook and LinkedIn.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

About the Interviewer: Inspired by the father of PR, Edward Bernays (who was also Sigmund Freud’s nephew), Michelle Tennant Nicholson researches marketing, mental injury, and what it takes for optimal human development. An award-winning writer and publicist, she’s seen PR transition from typewriters to Twitter. Michelle co-founded WasabiPublicity.com.

--

--

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine

A “Givefluencer,” Chief Creative Officer of Wasabi Publicity, Inc., Creator of WriteTheTrauma.org