Mental Health Champions: Why & How Dr Uri Kenig of The Holistic Psychotherapy Center Is Helping To Champion Mental Wellness

An Interview With Michelle Tennant Nicholson

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine
9 min readMar 24, 2024

--

Allowing for Self-Expression: I view emotions as powerful energy capsules that need to flow freely rather than stagnate. Sharing my thoughts and feelings, primarily with family and friends, helps me maintain this energy flow. Like everything in nature that is always moving, my inner world of thoughts, feelings, opinions, and beliefs are also a part of this natural cycle.

As a part of our series about Mental Health Champions helping to promote mental wellness, I had the pleasure to interview Dr. Uri Kenig.

Dr. Uri Kenig is a psychotherapist with 25 years of experience. He’s the creator of the revolutionary therapeutic method: Integrated Physical Emotional Clearing (IPEC), and has published four guidance books on the topic, to teach professionals working with IPEC Therapy methodology. He’s the co-founder of the Holistic Psychotherapy Center in Encino, California.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

I was born and raised in Israel in a normative family. In my childhood and teen years I was very curious about everything. I excelled in things I was interested in and didn’t do well with general subjects that didn’t capture me. So, I didn’t do well in school, with it’s curriculum of required academic subjects. I loved folk dancing from a very early age and I dedicated myself to that for many years after. I was recruited by the army at age 18 (a requirement for Israeli men and women at age 18). That experience opened my eyes to the tremendous toll it takes to live, for long periods of time, under the impact of stress. After I was released from the army, I attended Tel Aviv University where I graduated with my B.A. and M.A. in psychology. Thereafter, my curiosity took me over the ocean to Los Angeles to study a new therapeutic method, and I’ve made California my new home.

You are currently leading an initiative that is helping to promote mental wellness. Can you tell us a bit more specifically about what you are trying to address?

I’m a psychotherapist that helps patients with a wide variety of issues. Some patients are dealing with mental issues, and others are suffering from physical chronic symptoms. No matter how many professional healers they meet, they can’t resolve their difficulties.

The patients with mental issues needs to go through “talk therapy” while the other group needs to work with a body-mind therapist in order to clear the underlying emotional subjects of their symptoms. The first group finds the right therapist because they are aware of their issues — anxiety, depression, etc. The second group is not aware of the psychological source of their pain, hence, constantly looking for the “right” doctor. For these patients I developed IPEC Therapy (Integrated Physical Emotional Clearing).

As long as underlying psychological/emotional issues are unresolved, physical issues persist. I found that physical symptoms develop due to a lack of expression of psychological issues they are not aware of. When these issues get resolved, patients feel better and experience an improved quality of life.

IPEC Therapy effectively treats these patients by applying a combination of “talk therapy” and working with the muscular system of the body in a technique called “Muscle Testing”. This technique helps accertain accurate feedback about any condition in the body from the body itself, and helps in creating the right intervention to help the patients. I developed PEC Therapy 25 years ago, and I have taught hundreds of professionals how to use it.

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

I was 2 weeks old when my parents found out that I suffer from a life threatening allergy to all kinds of fish. I could not eat, touch or enjoy fish; when I accidentally consumed a tiny part of a fish, I suffered a severe anaphylactic reaction. Years later, I heard about a professional who specializes in naturally eliminating all kinds of allergies. I was treated by this professional for over two years. Ever since, I can eat all kinds of fish with no adverse reactions.

The concept of energy therapy fascinated me, particularly its potential to alleviate allergies. This interest led me to explore the field of alternative medicine, attending numerous seminars and extensively reading about its various facets. Over time, I became increasingly drawn to the body-mind connection. This inspired me to integrate my psychotherapy background with alternative medicine, ultimately leading to the development of IPEC Therapy.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest them. They don’t get up and just do it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and do it? What was that final trigger?

As these ideas began to resonate with me over 25 years ago, I sought psychotherapists with similar interests but found none. It became clear that I was pioneering this path on my own, which was both a challenge and a blessing. It allowed me to develop my approach from the ground up. When I introduced this new method to some of my psychotherapy patients, the immediate positive feedback confirmed its significance. This breakthrough inspired me to share my insights not only with professionals but also with the general public, all while maintaining my regular practice.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

My IPEC therapy website features many fascinating case studies. Among these, one remarkable case involved a man in his mid-thirties who suffered from a severe Tic disorder. This condition caused him to experience involuntary movements in his neck, arms, and shoulders every few minutes to an hour, a challenge he faced since early elementary school. To cope with the embarrassment and social scrutiny, he developed a passion for computers, which he believed would allow him to work from home and avoid social interactions after high school.

After approximately six months of therapy, we were able to address the root causes of his condition, which were twofold. Physically, he had a digestive issue that prevented the proper absorption of certain minerals and vitamins due to a deficiency in specific digestive enzymes. Addressing this problem led to significant improvements. Emotionally, he had deep-seated issues stemming from harsh emotional treatment by his parents during childhood, of which he was previously unaware and had perceived his childhood as normal. By resolving these emotional scars, the Tic disorder was completely alleviated.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

My first mentor was Dr. Devi Nambudripad, the creator of a revolutionary alternative medicine method for treating allergies, including my own fish allergy. Her approach, which posits that the root of many allergies is emotional and that such energies can be inherited across generations, opened my eyes to this field. Dr. Nambudripad’s encouragement to enhance my psychotherapy skills for addressing body symptoms untreatable by conventional medicine was pivotal. It fueled my curiosity to connect with more experts in alternative medicine, learning from them through personal interactions and seminars. Without their guidance, I could not have developed my therapeutic system.

According to Mental Health America’s report, over 44 million Americans have a mental health condition. Yet there’s still a stigma about mental illness. Can you share a few reasons you think this is so?

Western culture, despite its openness and encouragement for sharing personal experiences, both positive and negative, still harbors stigmas and judgments. These societal pressures insist on portraying strength and competence in every aspect of life, including work, relationships, parenting, and other areas. This expectation acts like a pressure cooker, discouraging the expression of negative emotions, the acknowledgment of crises, facing obstacles, or simply seeking help.

It requires bravery to admit to certain vulnerabilities and to ask for assistance, especially when one is competent in other areas. The fear of being perceived as weak or flawed compels many to conceal their moments of vulnerability, succumbing to the relentless pressure to maintain an unwavering facade.

In your experience, what should a) individuals b) society, and c) the government do to better support people suffering from mental illness?

It is vital for people in positions of power, including governmental power, to acknowledge the truth that perfection is unattainable. Every individual possesses unique strengths. Whether it’s in job interviews, social interactions, business endeavors, or creative pursuits, there should be a greater focus on recognizing these strengths rather than dwelling on weaknesses.

In an ideal world, individuals should strive to excel while also accepting that challenges and low points are part of life. Embracing both successes and setbacks as natural aspects of existence is crucial for personal growth. This acceptance encourages a balance between the ups and downs, facilitating a healthy adjustment to life’s inherent fluctuations.

Society has shown considerable progress in recognizing and addressing these realities through culture, movies, media, and more, albeit with varying degrees of acceptance influenced by race and class differences, especially regarding mental health issues. In today’s era, leaders across various fields openly share their experiences, influencing their audiences and offering guidance. It is their ethical responsibility to address crucial life aspects, such as the importance of mental health care, to foster a more understanding and supportive society.

What are your 5 strategies you use to promote your own well-being and mental wellness? Can you please give a story or example for each?

  1. Allowing for Self-Expression: I view emotions as powerful energy capsules that need to flow freely rather than stagnate. Sharing my thoughts and feelings, primarily with family and friends, helps me maintain this energy flow. Like everything in nature that is always moving, my inner world of thoughts, feelings, opinions, and beliefs are also a part of this natural cycle.
  2. Prioritizing Health & Nutrition: The food I consume acts as the fuel for my body and mind. I prioritize eating basic, natural foods that are minimally processed and close to their original form. While I’m not overly strict and occasionally indulge, I generally ensure that my diet is clean and nourishing, recognizing that the foods we eat significantly shape our physical and mental health.
  3. Daily Movement: Recognizing that movement is a constant in both our physical and emotional lives, I make it a point to physically exercise daily until I break a sweat. This practice ensures that my body reflects the continuous motion inherent in life.
  4. Avoid Expressing Negative Emotions: I strive to control the expression of negative emotions towards others and myself. Our emotional state is intricately linked to our hormonal balance. Excessive stress hormones, triggered by negative emotions, can ultimately harm our well-being.
  5. Living in the Here and Now: Dwelling on the past or anxiously anticipating the future is counterproductive, and intellectually is recognized by many as an obstacle to get healthy and it’s truly practiced by a few. Being fully present ensures that all my systems — physical, psychological, and otherwise — are operating optimally. A person living in the moment faces no insurmountable problems, as they are fully engaged with the present.

What are your favorite books, podcasts, or resources that inspire you to be a mental health champion?

Erich Fromm — The Art of Love

Eric Bern — Games People Play

Thomas Harris — I’m OK, You’re OK

Arthur Janov — The Primal Scream

Fyodor Ouspensky — In Search of the Miraculous

Yuval Noah Harari — Sapiens

If you could tell other people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

When you positively impact your environment, you become a complete part of the wisdom of nature.

How can our readers follow you online?

Please learn about my psychotherapy practice on The Center for Holistic Therapy website and you can read my articles and case studies at my IPEC Therapy site.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

About the Interviewer: Inspired by the father of PR, Edward Bernays (who was also Sigmund Freud’s nephew), Michelle Tennant Nicholson researches marketing, mental injury, and what it takes for optimal human development. An award-winning writer and publicist, she’s seen PR transition from typewriters to Twitter. Michelle co-founded WasabiPublicity.com.

--

--

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine

A “Givefluencer,” Chief Creative Officer of Wasabi Publicity, Inc., Creator of WriteTheTrauma.org