Mental Health Champions: Why & How Eddwina Bright and Ashlee Wisdom Of ‘Health In Her HUE’ Are Helping To Champion Mental Wellness

An Interview With Michelle Tennant Nicholson

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine
13 min readFeb 27, 2023

--

… On an individual level, I would tell other people to think about the problem in society that provokes them the most and lean in to try to address that particular issue. Whatever issue — whether it’s related to our environment, racism, health inequities — that you’re provoked by or really bothered by can indicate that you may be a good person to do something to drive the change to that specific issue. However, we have to go bigger than individual solutions. Large companies and organizations also need to step up. For example, our partnership with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota helps brings mental health solutions to people in communities at scale. We could go directly to communities and get individual women to sign up, but a health plan partner has an engaged membership base and employee base that need and want access to mental health solutions. So, they can help us bring those solutions to those people in a faster, more efficient and impactful way.

As a part of our series about Mental Health Champions helping to promote mental wellness, I had the pleasure to interview Eddwina Bright and Ashlee Wisdom.

Eddwina Bright is a strategic executor with a background in operations, process improvement, product development & management and finance. She is passionate about leveraging her experience to build companies from the ground-up. Eddwina received her AS from Baltimore City Community College where she graduated as Valedictorian of her class, her BS from Morgan State University, and her MBA from Columbia Business School.

Ashlee Wisdom is a public health innovator committed to achieving a more equitable healthcare ecosystem where all people can access the quality care they need and deserve. Wisdom received her BS from Howard University, and her Master of Public Health from New York University. She was named a 2021 Top 50 in digital health by Rock Health for her health equity advocacy.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

Eddwina: I grew up in Baltimore, Maryland with my parents, younger brother and large extended family. Growing up, I was really interested in math and science. I have always been a creator and entrepreneur at heart. As a kid, I would make bags and skirts and sell them to my friends and family. I recently found an essay I wrote in 5th grade that laid out my plan to move to New York City and become an investment banker one day. However, I decided to use my business and entrepreneurial skills towards something I’m passionate about; increasing access to culturally sensitive mental healthcare for Black women and women of color.

Ashlee: I was born in the Bahamas and migrated to the U.S. when I was 8 months old. I grew up in the Bronx, NY where I first recognized social inequity even before I had the language to speak critically about it. My experiences and my growing consciousness activated me to challenge the status quo. I’m the oldest of four children so I’ve had to be independent and self-sufficient in figuring out a path for myself. I was always a creative child, I would write poetry, journal and had a really wild imagination so when I reflect back, I shouldn’t be too surprised that I ended up on an entrepreneurial journey.

You are currently leading an initiative that is helping to promote mental wellness. Can you tell us a bit more specifically about what you are trying to address?

Eddwina: Ashlee and I conducted research into what health needs Black women were most interested in and concerned about. After doing research, it was clear mental health was the central concern. Recent events such as the social reckoning, the murder of George Floyd, and the COVID-19 pandemic all exacerbated the need for culturally sensitive mental healthcare. We aim to reach communities who are in need of the services our platform offers. That’s why this year we partnered with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota, a nonprofit organization that provides healthcare coverage across the state, to provide Black women and women of color in Brooklyn Center (a suburb of Minneapolis) access to the Health In Her HUE services at no cost. Brooklyn Center is the second most racially diverse city in Minnesota. The city has been disproportionally impacted by the pandemic and racial injustice, which has taken a serious toll on the mental health of the community. We hope that by offering culturally sensitive mental healthcare we can be a part of the solution in reducing racial health disparities and inequitable access to mental health coverage in Minnesota.

Ashlee: We aimed to fill the gap of mental healthcare that specifically centers around the lived experiences of Black women and women of color. We try to address how stress, anxiety, depression and microaggressions uniquely manifest in Black women and women of color and equip them with tools to allow them to navigate their own mental health journey.

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

Eddwina: I originally felt passionate about this because of my own mental health journey. I realized I needed tools to process what I was going through, and heal and grow as a person. Everybody can benefit from support and tools for managing their mental health. Mental health is the foundation for overall health and should be esteemed as such.

Ashlee: I’ve worked in the healthcare industry in a few different roles, and what I learned from that experience was just how many aspects of the healthcare system are not designed for Black women and women of color. At times, it can even be harmful and unsafe. The idea for Health In Her HUE came from working in a system and seeing how it’s not working for some communities. We wanted to connect Black women and women of color with healthcare professionals who can relate to them, and who they can trust, and with whom they are more likely to engage. We also wanted to provide health information that reflects them and their experiences.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest them. They don’t get up and just do it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and do it? What was that final trigger?

Ashlee: I was experiencing racism and microaggressions at work while simultaneously in grad school pursuing a master’s in public health. One night, I was reading a paper that highlighted racial health disparities, specifically disparities for Black women, and I broke down. For the two years of my master’s program, I had read about these racial health gaps. There is so much research and data on how racism continues to negatively and significantly impact health outcomes for Black and Brown communities. So, I asked myself why hasn’t more been done to address it? I decided I wanted to channel my anger and sadness into addressing the problem that so deeply burdened me. I decided to emulate one of my favorite Toni Morrison quotes, “I get angry about things, then go on and work.”

Eddwina: I told my husband this morning, “A goal without a plan is just a wish.” I’m a planner and typically take a lot of time thinking about my goals and how I want to execute against them. When I think about how I came to join Ashlee on this journey, I had more of a realization than an “Aha moment.” The discovery that I have the skills that are valuable in advocating for culturally sensitive mental healthcare — a cause I feel passionately about — was liberating and provided me with the confidence to move forward with the work that we are doing.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

Eddwina: The most interesting and inspiring thing for me is to watch the communities of support we’ve worked so hard to build, grow and continue to get stronger. We developed a strong connection with the women in the first Mental Health and Wellness Care Squad cohort and hearing their feedback made me feel so validated and gave me the reassurance that what we were striving to do was going to work. Also, being featured on Good Morning America! Obtaining that type of coverage made it feel even more possible to reach women across the nation.

Ashlee: My favorite thing is when I tell someone what I do, and they are excited to tell me that they use the Health In Her HUE platform and what a difference it has made in their life. It feels good to know our work is out there and helping real people.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

Ashlee: I was influenced by an advisor I met at a conference, Dr. Ivor Horn. She helped coach me through the transition while I was starting Health In Her HUE. I had a full time job and was beginning to struggle with balancing my 9–5 as I was bootstrapping Health in Her HUE. She provided guidance when I was trying to make the tough decision of transitioning to full-time entrepreneurship. She was the one who gave me the advice that this company was something I needed to build. Also, Dr. Toyin Ajayi the CEO of City Block Health was extremely influential as a Black female entrepreneur in the healthcare space.

Eddwina: We recently had an advisory call with a Black woman healthcare executive who has 15+ years of experience. It was nice having someone understand what we’re trying to accomplish, our life and business experiences, and offer structured and actionable feedback about how we can move forward. For me, that discussion definitely underscored the importance of aligning with a mentor that understands your vision and goals.

According to Mental Health America’s report, over 44 million Americans have a mental health condition. Yet there’s still a stigma about mental illness. Can you share a few reasons you think this is so?

Ashlee: A common trope in society is the stereotype of the ‘strong Black woman.’ Being strong is something that we, as Black women, take pride in, but at the same time we are human, and no one is meant to be strong all the time. We are not always given the space to be vulnerable. Stigma also exists because people want to appear buttoned up in front of their employer, neighbors and friends, and feel like reaching out for help might jeopardize their reputation. For a long time, mental healthcare was just not normalized. It used to be thought that only wealthy people had the time and money to go to therapy, when in reality, it’s something that is so important for everyone to do.

Eddwina: One reason stigma exists is because our society often champions outcomes over the journey. People have a tendency to compare themselves to others who may not face the same barriers they do. Oftentimes success is celebrated, and challenges are forgotten, which makes those who struggle feel even more isolated.

In your experience, what should a) individuals b) society, and c) the government do to better support people suffering from mental illness?

Ashlee: As individuals, we can all do a better job of checking in on each other and encouraging those around us to find a therapist. Society’s role is normalizing that life is hard and we are all humans. Letting celebrities and influencers openly talk about mental health challenges can help destigmatize. The government can help make mental healthcare more accessible.

Eddwina: On an individual level I think we can all be more empathetic towards each other. In society, it’s important we change the stigma about mental health by normalizing it as a topic of conversation. Another societal change that could be made is to implement more public spaces dedicated to mental health, for example, having meditation rooms available in common places. The government could help provide free mental healthcare and more resources.

What are your 5 strategies you use to promote your own well-being and mental wellness? Can you please give a story or example for each?

Eddwina:

1. A change of scenery. Traveling and exploring other places helps me to reset and recharge.

2. Using a spreadsheet to track my physical wellness. I find peace of mind by recording what I eat, if I take my vitamins, my weight, sleep patterns, to help keep track of what my body needs.

3. Reserving time for self-care, no matter what that might look like for you, is helpful in preserving well-being. It’s easy to forget to spend time with yourself.

4. Therapy. It’s always good to have a professional to lean on for resources and tools for coping and managing stress and other mental health challenges.

5. Exercise. Working out is a great way to reset physically and relieve stress.

Ashlee:

1. Therapy. Therapy is a way to dedicate time to taking care of yourself.

2. Exercise. Focusing on a physical challenge is a great outlet to relieve stress.

3. Spend time with friends. When stressed, it can be easy to isolate yourself. I try instead to call my parents or go out to brunch with friends and let them know if I’m having a hard time.

4. Podcasts. I love to learn, and listening to a podcast that has nothing to do with my work can be soothing and stress-relieving for me.

5. Cooking. I love to cook, and cooking helps me focus on a task while taking my mind away from other things happening in my life.

What are your favorite books, podcasts, or resources that inspire you to be a mental health champion?

Eddwina: I talk about “How to Talk So Kids Will Listen” all the time. It’s a parenting book, not a mental health book, but the reason why it’s relevant is because when I think about myself in different aspects of my intersectionality, I’m a woman, I’m a Black woman, I’m a parent, and I’m a businessperson. When I think about the parent bucket, I have just such a strong goal and desire to ensure that my kids are not traumatized by the way that I raised them. So, for me, it’s connected to my mental health because I want to make sure I’m not perpetuating generational trauma. Also, no one really sits you down and teaches you or explains in detail, “this is what it’s like to be a parent,” so I feel like I have to be very intentional about it and approach parenting with the same intentionality as I approach everything else in life — including mental health.

Ashlee: My favorite book is “All About Love” by bell hooks. I just reread it. I love how it centers the importance of love and what love should look like. Not just in the way of romantic relationships but how to love other human beings and how that may show up in your life and society and how it ultimately serves you. As far as podcasts go, I’ve been listening to “Balance Black Girl.” It’s all about mental wellness from the perspective of a Black woman, so it talks about different issues that we may be navigating and offers solutions on how to live a balanced life. I also have to plug “Therapy for Black Girls.” It’s another great resource for women. People talk candidly about therapy and other mental health issues — and other things Black women face. “Girl Trek’s Black History Bootcamp” also provides lots of encouragement as it focuses on telling the stories of Black women in history. It’s a great way for me to draw courage and inspiration from women who are my ancestors as I’m actively trying to live out my dreams and passion.

If you could tell other people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

Ashlee: On an individual level, I would tell other people to think about the problem in society that provokes them the most and lean in to try to address that particular issue. Whatever issue — whether it’s related to our environment, racism, health inequities — that you’re provoked by or really bothered by can indicate that you may be a good person to do something to drive the change to that specific issue. However, we have to go bigger than individual solutions. Large companies and organizations also need to step up. For example, our partnership with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota helps brings mental health solutions to people in communities at scale. We could go directly to communities and get individual women to sign up, but a health plan partner has an engaged membership base and employee base that need and want access to mental health solutions. So, they can help us bring those solutions to those people in a faster, more efficient and impactful way.

Eddwina: You have to be the change you want to see in the world. My philosophy in life is you get 60 to 90 good years, if you’re lucky, and that’s not a long time. I remember being terrified of death and the end, but as I’ve gotten older it’s become something that’s inevitable and inspires me to take advantage of the time I do have. I started shifting my mindset and started to think about what I wanted my purpose to be with the time I’ve been given. It’s helped so much in terms of shifting my priorities and perspectives. I encourage others to ask themselves the same thing. ‘What do you want to do with the time you’ve been given?’ because really it isn’t that long, so however you define purpose for yourself is how you should contribute to the world, and hopefully that helps to make a difference in our environment and society.

How can our readers follow you online?

Ashlee: Readers can follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn. I highly encourage readers to read more about our organization and visit healthinherhue.com. Together, we can reduce racial health disparities for Black women and women of color across the U.S.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

About the Interviewer: Inspired by the father of PR, Edward Bernays (who was also Sigmund Freud’s nephew), Michelle Tennant Nicholson researches marketing, mental injury, and what it takes for optimal human development. An award-winning writer and publicist, she’s seen PR transition from typewriters to Twitter. Michelle co-founded WasabiPublicity.com.

--

--

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine

A “Givefluencer,” Chief Creative Officer of Wasabi Publicity, Inc., Creator of WriteTheTrauma.org